Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 IR Input


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   CurtP

CurtP

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 13 September 2012 - 07:36 PM

If you're going to dig up an old thread, you could have at least read it before posting.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#22 OFFLINE   kash

kash

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2012

Posted 18 September 2012 - 08:23 PM

i did, but then you said it stop'd working, so i'm at a loss if it still works or if it no longer does.

#23 OFFLINE   crashoverride

crashoverride

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2010

Posted 24 September 2012 - 10:09 PM

I'm at a loss I have read almost every post here on remote central and directv.com and I still cannot see where anyone has actually gotten this to work. Please any successful people post real quickly what you did to make it work. Thanks

#24 OFFLINE   1CoolEXT

1CoolEXT

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2013

Posted 18 March 2013 - 10:05 AM

Has anyone actually been able to get the IR extander to work yet???

#25 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    There for Jeter's flip play

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,194 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 18 March 2013 - 10:21 AM

Has anyone actually been able to get the IR extander to work yet???


No one that I know of.

#26 OFFLINE   DavidHeart

DavidHeart

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2014

Posted 18 December 2014 - 04:49 PM

YES!  My setup ...

 

IR extender connected to HR34-700 IR port:

http://www.amazon.co...e?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

Choice of DTV remotes and procedure to activate:

http://www.aboutfact...k-IR-vs-RF-mode

 

Done!



#27 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,366 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 December 2014 - 05:27 PM

YES!  My setup ...

 

IR extender connected to HR34-700 IR port:

http://www.amazon.co...e?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

 

Under the description it says it does not work for DIRECTV®,   strange....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#28 OFFLINE   DavidHeart

DavidHeart

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2014

Posted 23 December 2014 - 12:00 PM

Under the description it says it does not work for DIRECTV®,   strange....

I can assure you it works if you follow the requirements. Particularly, setting the receiver to remote/RF mode and using an RF remote like the RC66RX.



#29 OFFLINE   crashoverride

crashoverride

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2010

Posted 23 December 2014 - 02:37 PM

I can assure you it works if you follow the requirements. Particularly, setting the receiver to remote/RF mode and using an RF remote like the RC66RX.


I'm now really confused this thread is about the ir or infrared port... Yet your above quoted post is about enabling the rf or radio frequency settings????

Please further explain how to enable the ir to work??

#30 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,366 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 December 2014 - 04:15 PM

I'm now really confused this thread is about the ir or infrared port... Yet your above quoted post is about enabling the rf or radio frequency settings????

Please further explain how to enable the ir to work??

And specially when the HR34 does not do both IR and RF at the same time like the HR44 does, more strange....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#31 OFFLINE   Gary16

Gary16

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 97 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 23 December 2014 - 04:26 PM

I'm now really confused this thread is about the ir or infrared port... Yet your above quoted post is about enabling the rf or radio frequency settings????

Please further explain how to enable the ir to work??

As far as I know, no one has been successful in getting the ir input port to work (including me).



#32 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,366 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 December 2014 - 05:22 PM

As far as I know, no one has been successful in getting the ir input port to work (including me).

And this has been my experience as well.  This is why I am "confused"


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#33 OFFLINE   DavidHeart

DavidHeart

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2014

Posted 24 December 2014 - 02:33 PM

And this has been my experience as well.  This is why I am "confused"

 

Good sir or madam, click my links and become enlightened.



#34 OFFLINE   DavidHeart

DavidHeart

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2014

Posted 24 December 2014 - 02:47 PM

YES!  My setup ...

 

IR extender connected to HR34-700 IR port:

http://www.amazon.co...e?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

Choice of DTV remotes and procedure to activate:

http://www.aboutfact...k-IR-vs-RF-mode

 

Done!

 

In the name of audio/video science, another member could repeat my success and post back results.



#35 OFFLINE   crashoverride

crashoverride

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2010

Posted 24 December 2014 - 03:53 PM

I can assure you it works if you follow the requirements. Particularly, setting the receiver to remote/RF mode and using an RF remote like the RC66RX.




But this post is what is causing the confusion were you state "then use an rf remote"

Basically the way i read that is it doesnt matter if an ir extender is plugged in or not as you are using the rf and not ir


Not trying to beat you up just still confused???

#36 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,366 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 December 2014 - 03:59 PM

Good sir or madam, click my links and become enlightened.

which links?  The Amazon link that CLEARLY states is NOT compatible with DIRECTV®?  And the link that shows you how to out a DIRECTV® receiver on RF mode? Which CLEARLY demonstrates that it does not work as the HR34 (the only current receiver with an IR port) does not do both IR and RF at the same time?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#37 OFFLINE   DavidHeart

DavidHeart

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2014

Posted 24 December 2014 - 05:01 PM

I believe I understand the source of the confusion. How can an IR port extender make use of an RF signal? Good question. I dunno. Maybe the HR34-700 IR port circuitry includes IR/RF capability. But for sure the IR only remote (RC66X) will NOT work with the IR port, but the IR/RF remote (RC66RX) DOES work with the IR port. Here's the history: 

 

2 weeks ago I got my DirecTV installed. (The dish is 250' away on a run of RG11 cable). I plugged in the IR port extender (which I previously used with my Charter Cable box), but was disappointed to find that the RC66X remote that came with the HR34-700 ignored it, and only worked in direct line of sight. That meant keeping my AV closet door open which is not a viable option for me. I had to make the IR port work. So I researched and discovered that DTV link I posted. Following that info, I purchased an RC66RX (which is IR/RF capable) from Amazon, reprogrammed the receiver from IR to RF functionality, fired up the new remote, and yay!

 

Note that the sensor end of the IR extender is hidden behind my HDTV, and that the HR34-700 is hidden behind an AV equipment door. Nothing but RF can make that work. While the receiver now happily works with RF, the TV continues to work with IR. Both devices are controlled by the one remote.  :righton:

 

Better minds than mine can research why the combination of the HR34-700 IR port and this particular IR extender plus an RF capable remote and the change of remote settings on this model of receiver actually works. But the simple fact is that is does.

 

Hope my efforts help other AV enthusiasts.


Edited by DavidHeart, 24 December 2014 - 05:25 PM.


#38 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,275 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 December 2014 - 05:38 PM

I don't think you understand how this all works. That cable is doing nothing. Unplug it and put it in a drawer. The rf works with the box as it is its rf antenna is internal and is not using that ir extender cable at all. It's useless in your setup. It's not working at all. It's kind of like saying your tv and HR34 work because you have a bluray player.

#39 OFFLINE   DavidHeart

DavidHeart

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2014

Posted 24 December 2014 - 05:48 PM

I don't think you understand how this all works. That cable is doing nothing. Unplug it and put it in a drawer. The rf works with the box as it is its rf antenna is internal and is not using that ir extender cable at all. It's useless in your setup. It's not working at all. It's kind of like saying your tv and HR34 work because you have a bluray player.

 

You're absolutely right. I unplugged the IR extender and everything still works exactly the same. The extender did nothing in this case. It's the receiver which is taking the RF signal from the IR/RF remote. I apologize for any confusion. May the moderators expunge my comments!



#40 OFFLINE   crashoverride

crashoverride

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2010

Posted 24 December 2014 - 05:50 PM

Oh... Wowsers... Just as i had thought.

Yea stick the ir cable in a drawer even better put it on ebay.

The rf is radio frequency and doesnt need line of site like ir. The rf remote can be used from outside in your car the roof of the house wherever... Unlike an ir signal which emits a light that only can be seen by an ir reciever that can see the light emitted from the remote.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...