Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Internationl WorldView Dish with Slimline HOW?

s238

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   MrShowtime

MrShowtime

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 244 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 28 February 2012 - 07:23 PM

If the order is wrong and he activates it than it's accepted as correct.


the irds and programming choices are considered correct if he activates it, but I cant imagine those irds would even pass iv if you do indeed have the mandarin package on your account? Let him try to install it, he'll fail iv, realize he needs a legacy lnb and swm 8. If he leaves and its not working call in and it will create a FSR on him (hate to encourage this but it might be necessary). 1 bad installer shouldnt keep you waiting til summer to watch your programming

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:26 PM

Hey did you order MRV also ? because if you did not , you dont need a SWM8 it can all be done with a 6x8. I still dont know what he was doing with a SWM LNB theres no way to combine all that properly with a SWM LNB. Best Buy jacked it up is my bet, however being an installer myself its not too much to ask me to explain what Im going to do. If he refused to tell you thats not a good sign , I think you did best thing sending him off and hopefully you get better one next time. Next time I would doublecheck your online order and just get it all straight with installer before he even gets tools out of truck. Im not saying that like you did anything wrong because you didnt. But If you want MRV , the only way thats happenning is a KAKU LNB and a SWM8. If he dont have that you are wasting each others time. You did the right thing, in your circumstance its definitely best you know what you need because your install is a little more complicated than just an HD Dish. Good luck and let us know what goes on !!!

#28 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,636 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 29 February 2012 - 03:16 AM

Hey did you order MRV also ? because if you did not , you dont need a SWM8 it can all be done with a 6x8. I still dont know what he was doing with a SWM LNB theres no way to combine all that properly with a SWM LNB. Best Buy jacked it up is my bet, however being an installer myself its not too much to ask me to explain what Im going to do. If he refused to tell you thats not a good sign , I think you did best thing sending him off and hopefully you get better one next time. Next time I would doublecheck your online order and just get it all straight with installer before he even gets tools out of truck. Im not saying that like you did anything wrong because you didnt. But If you want MRV , the only way thats happenning is a KAKU LNB and a SWM8. If he dont have that you are wasting each others time. You did the right thing, in your circumstance its definitely best you know what you need because your install is a little more complicated than just an HD Dish. Good luck and let us know what goes on !!!


While a WB68 can certainly do the job, less MRV over DECA capability of course. Are there any HD installs done by DIRECTV nowadays with legacy multiswitches?

That is to say, any non-SWiM HD installations done currently?

#29 OFFLINE   MrShowtime

MrShowtime

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 244 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 29 February 2012 - 04:27 AM

While a WB68 can certainly do the job, less MRV over DECA capability of course. Are there any HD installs done by DIRECTV nowadays with legacy multiswitches?

That is to say, any non-SWiM HD installations done currently?


only ones would be upgrades where customers have legacy equipment like d11s, r15s, and the like. Any new hd install is swim

#30 OFFLINE   Tribbs

Tribbs

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2012

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:14 AM

Good luck and let us know what goes on !!!


Thanks to everyone for their input and suggestions but I have decided to move on.

U-verse = 6 Mandarin channels
DirecTV = 8 Mandarin channels

23 Mandarin channels + Hopper&Joey = DISH




Protected By... spam firewall...And...