Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR21-200 Issues


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,939 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 27 March 2012 - 08:14 AM

i'm Glad your getting a "new" Box sent to you- With all due respect- when an account has had "4 boxes in a short amount of time" D*'s Policy is to require a Tech visit to make sure your total system is up to par and not a factor in your receiver issue.

That may be why they suggested a tech visit early on.

"Let's Have Some Fun!"

SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 March 2012 - 09:20 AM

Took your advise Rich,explained that i have had four boxes in a short period of time, retention gave me a new hddvr for free and free shipping. Cost me a new 24 month comm. Helps i've been w/ DTV for 12 yrs. Thank you for your help.


Shouldn't have to get a new commitment because you have had bad HRs. I'd wait and see if you do get a 24. Then you should decide if you want to fight the commitment. They are supposed to replace defective receivers at no cost or no add on to a commitment. But wait and see what you get before you tackle the commitment issue.

Rich

#28 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 March 2012 - 09:22 AM

i'm Glad your getting a "new" Box sent to you- With all due respect- when an account has had "4 boxes in a short amount of time" D*'s Policy is to require a Tech visit to make sure your total system is up to par and not a factor in your receiver issue.

That may be why they suggested a tech visit early on.


Could his issue be caused by his "system"? When that's happened to me, it was always the receiver.

Rich

#29 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,939 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 27 March 2012 - 10:00 AM

Could his issue be caused by his "system"? When that's happened to me, it was always the receiver.

Rich

Just saying-If you have not had a service visit (like ever) since your orginal install (That info is noted on your account service dates) -They D* preferto schedule a service visit to be sure and to keep you (the customer) from having to call back again and again. That may or may not be a Receiver fault and the warehouse doesn't end up with a pile of possible good receivers :)

He noted that he has had 4 receivers in a short time- That is why the service visit was suggested early on.

They don't like to keep sending boxes to the same address every month or so without looking for other issue's that might be the root cause.

"Let's Have Some Fun!"

SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK


#30 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 March 2012 - 10:49 AM

Just saying-If you have not had a service visit (like ever) since your orginal install (That info is noted on your account service dates) -They D* preferto schedule a service visit to be sure and to keep you (the customer) from having to call back again and again. That may or may not be a Receiver fault and the warehouse doesn't end up with a pile of possible good receivers :)

He noted that he has had 4 receivers in a short time- That is why the service visit was suggested early on.

They don't like to keep sending boxes to the same address every month or so without looking for other issue's that might be the root cause.


I understand what you've written and have no problem with that. I just can't understand how his problem could be caused by anything but a bad HR. In my area we have one person that I'd call a technician, the rest (that I've met) are installers and seem to know little about HRs.

But then, I've had some terrible problems with installers. They just can't live on what they're paid in my area, so there is a constant churn problem.

Rich

#31 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,939 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 27 March 2012 - 11:43 AM

I understand what you've written and have no problem with that. I just can't understand how his problem could be caused by anything but a bad HR. In my area we have one person that I'd call a technician, the rest (that I've met) are installers and seem to know little about HRs.

But then, I've had some terrible problems with installers. They just can't live on what they're paid in my area, so there is a constant churn problem.

Rich


The installer / Service Tech issue is true in many area's - However - When On a service call- The "tech" Will check Signals & re-align from the dish-All outside connections-Cut & Replace- And then SWAP THE BOX- Those things are done because once the tech touches your system-HE OWNS IT FOR 90 DAYS- meaning anyone else that visits in that time frame he gets deducted 50% of the service call. ( that is the main cause of churn) -After all that is done and the customer calls in with a defective remote or the refurb replacement receiver craps out--DING! DING! DING!. Deduct

That policy is to ensure that the customers Total System has been "Looked at" and the result would be at least 50% no recall result.

I'm just explaining why they wanted to dispatch for a service call - the TECH will replace the box ( most likely) with any receiver model the customer my ask for if it's on the truck- Rather than getting a Pot Luck unit mailed to them.

The $49 Charge can waived -If the customer
1.Has not ever had a service call (long Time)
2.CRYS -really good tears
3. Continue's to cry and ask for retention :)

I'm still very happy he got one mailed to him!

"Let's Have Some Fun!"

SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK


#32 OFFLINE   jtb50

jtb50

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 27 March 2012 - 01:06 PM

Shouldn't have to get a new commitment because you have had bad HRs. I'd wait and see if you do get a 24. Then you should decide if you want to fight the commitment. They are supposed to replace defective receivers at no cost or no add on to a commitment. But wait and see what you get before you tackle the commitment issue.

Rich


I asked why my comm. was extended and they said it was because i was receiving a new unit. I had mvr installed a few months ago,no problems with my HR20-100 in the living room, just the HR21 in the bedroom. It's been three 21's i've been through. Who would i call to fight the extension, retention or first line csr?

#33 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 March 2012 - 02:46 PM

I asked why my comm. was extended and they said it was because i was receiving a new unit. I had mvr installed a few months ago,no problems with my HR20-100 in the living room, just the HR21 in the bedroom. It's been three 21's i've been through. Who would i call to fight the extension, retention or first line csr?


Oh, so they just extended your commitment? Even then, I'd fight it. Call the D* number and when the voice asks you what you want, say "Cancel my service." You'll be asked again. Reply "yes" and you'll be connected to Retention. Don't torture yourself with the first line CSRs. Make sure you get the "new" HR before you do anything.

Rich

#34 OFFLINE   jtb50

jtb50

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 29 March 2012 - 05:58 AM

Oh, so they just extended your commitment? Even then, I'd fight it. Call the D* number and when the voice asks you what you want, say "Cancel my service." You'll be asked again. Reply "yes" and you'll be connected to Retention. Don't torture yourself with the first line CSRs. Make sure you get the "new" HR before you do anything.

Rich

Well, my "new box" turned out to be a HR-21-700. I spent 30 minutes on the phone with a retention supervisor an finally got the 24 mo. extention removed
. I hope this one works.

#35 OFFLINE   Stewpidity

Stewpidity

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 29 March 2012 - 07:04 AM

Bit the bullet....Tech coming out Saturday to trouble shoot the issue, of course they would have been more than happy to send me new box and get me into a 2 year commitment

#36 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 March 2012 - 07:10 AM

Well, my "new box" turned out to be a HR-21-700. I spent 30 minutes on the phone with a retention supervisor an finally got the 24 mo. extention removed
. I hope this one works.


If it works, you'll find it very dependable. I think it's the best of the 21-23 HRs, still slower than the 20-700s and 24s.

Rich

#37 OFFLINE   r028806

r028806

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Mar 12, 2010

Posted 29 March 2012 - 07:29 AM

Turn off the Ambient Lite sensor on your HDTV or get an RF remote. Some HDTV 's known to cause IR interference and "blind" the remote. This is why it works when you put the remote right up to the HR21. Easy to prove. Turn off the TV. Press guide button on remote from your normal viewing spot in the room. When you turn the TV back on the guide will be there.

Slimline 5 / SWM 16
Whole Home Enabled
Cinema Connection Kit (Coax)
HR44-500 :hurah:
HR23-700 :grin:
HR23-700 :lol:

HR24-500 :sure:
C41-500 :rolling:


#38 OFFLINE   jtb50

jtb50

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 29 March 2012 - 08:42 AM

Turn off the Ambient Lite sensor on your HDTV or get an RF remote. Some HDTV 's known to cause IR interference and "blind" the remote. This is why it works when you put the remote right up to the HR21. Easy to prove. Turn off the TV. Press guide button on remote from your normal viewing spot in the room. When you turn the TV back on the guide will be there.

Thanks for the info. If i have a problem with this box i will try it.

#39 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 March 2012 - 09:19 AM

Thanks for the info. If i have a problem with this box i will try it.


What kind of TV do you have?

Rich

#40 OFFLINE   jtb50

jtb50

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 29 March 2012 - 01:02 PM

What kind of TV do you have?

Rich

JVC LCD

#41 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 March 2012 - 02:48 PM

JVC LCD


Have you tried RF mode on the remote? LCDs apparently have this problem. Read so many posts about this I figure it's gotta be true. Try RF on your remote.

Rich

#42 OFFLINE   jtb50

jtb50

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 29 March 2012 - 07:26 PM

Have you tried RF mode on the remote? LCDs apparently have this problem. Read so many posts about this I figure it's gotta be true. Try RF on your remote.

Rich

Do i need an antenna for the back of the unit to go to RF?
T

#43 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 March 2012 - 12:14 PM

Do i need an antenna for the back of the unit to go to RF?
T


The only HR that requires an antenna is the HR20-100. Try the RF mode, you'll like it. I don't have one HR (out of twelve) with a remote in IR mode.

Rich

#44 OFFLINE   greenmachine

greenmachine

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2012

Posted 31 March 2012 - 07:42 AM

I have a problem with the HR21/200 Directv HD DVR having wavey lines with the Apricorn DVR Expander connected to the esata port when I am connected via component or composite to my TV or to a Panasonic DVD recorder set at 480p. When the DVR is connected directly to the TV via HDMI everything is fine.

Keep in mind that to record to a DVD recorder you have to set the Directv HD DVR to 480p.

I tried new cables on everything and called directv several times. I feel it has something to do with the 0x69e software update from Wednesday February 8th.

If you disconnect the esata cable from the receiver I have no interference in the picture. I am waiting for a Directv package with a replacement receiver today.

Yesterday I called Apricorn and I was told they stopped making the Expanders for Directv because they were having too many issues with Directv's firmware updates. Directv only gives out refurbished DVR's. So to get a bigger drive I probably need to buy a new DVR from somebody else.

#45 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,809 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 31 March 2012 - 08:46 AM

I have a problem with the HR21/200 Directv HD DVR having wavey lines with the Apricorn DVR Expander connected to the esata port when I am connected via component or composite to my TV or to a Panasonic DVD recorder set at 480p. When the DVR is connected directly to the TV via HDMI everything is fine.

Keep in mind that to record to a DVD recorder you have to set the Directv HD DVR to 480p.

I tried new cables on everything and called directv several times. I feel it has something to do with the 0x69e software update from Wednesday February 8th.

If you disconnect the esata cable from the receiver I have no interference in the picture. I am waiting for a Directv package with a replacement receiver today.

Yesterday I called Apricorn and I was told they stopped making the Expanders for Directv because they were having too many issues with Directv's firmware updates. Directv only gives out refurbished DVR's. So to get a bigger drive I probably need to buy a new DVR from somebody else.


Or go with a better external HDD setup. Good info on Apricorn. Thanx.

Rich

#46 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 31 March 2012 - 10:36 AM

I have a problem with the HR21/200 Directv HD DVR having wavey lines with the Apricorn DVR Expander connected to the esata port when I am connected via component or composite to my TV or to a Panasonic DVD recorder set at 480p. When the DVR is connected directly to the TV via HDMI everything is fine.

Keep in mind that to record to a DVD recorder you have to set the Directv HD DVR to 480p.

I tried new cables on everything and called directv several times. I feel it has something to do with the 0x69e software update from Wednesday February 8th.

If you disconnect the esata cable from the receiver I have no interference in the picture. I am waiting for a Directv package with a replacement receiver today.

Yesterday I called Apricorn and I was told they stopped making the Expanders for Directv because they were having too many issues with Directv's firmware updates. Directv only gives out refurbished DVR's. So to get a bigger drive I probably need to buy a new DVR from somebody else.


Your problem is a ground loop...it has nothing to do with firmware updates...check to make sure the Apricorn is plugged into the same power source as the DVR....this is electrical interference, plain and simple.

#47 OFFLINE   greenmachine

greenmachine

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2012

Posted 31 March 2012 - 11:24 AM

Anyway to resolve my problem with the wavey lines when connecting from my Directv HD DVR to a Panasonic DVD recorder you now have to use a Sewell Component to composite downscaler. I am going from Component to S Video to the DVD recorder or you get wavey lines on the screen. This was after they did the software update in February. I tried S-Video from the DVR to the DVD recorder and I got the wavey lines. So this was the only resolution. The tech support at Directv does not tell you much. I figured this out myself. :)

#48 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 412 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 31 March 2012 - 12:36 PM

Turn off the Ambient Lite sensor on your HDTV or get an RF remote. Some HDTV 's known to cause IR interference and "blind" the remote. This is why it works when you put the remote right up to the HR21. Easy to prove. Turn off the TV. Press guide button on remote from your normal viewing spot in the room. When you turn the TV back on the guide will be there.


Last time I heard it was things like Samsung AnyNet+ not an ambient light sensor. I could be wrong but I didn't know ambient light sensors emited any signal.

#49 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,291 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 31 March 2012 - 12:55 PM

I understand what you've written and have no problem with that. I just can't understand how his problem could be caused by anything but a bad HR. In my area we have one person that I'd call a technician, the rest (that I've met) are installers and seem to know little about HRs.

But then, I've had some terrible problems with installers. They just can't live on what they're paid in my area, so there is a constant churn problem.

Rich


BTW I had problems with a fluorescent light interfering with some remotes and not others in the same room.

OT:
I'm not sure how anybody, not just installers, can afford to live here in New Jersey.

I've doubled my Gasoline consumption due to the Construction on Green Brook Road closing the one stretch of GB Road.

I've dealt with Dishnetwork installers/techs
I called up from work after they replaced Moms roof, My brother oversaw the visit. I remember calling around 1:30Pm and being told they had a opening between Noon and 3Pm today, did I want it. I took it, the Tech was there before 3PM and Mom was watching Jeopardy and Wheel That night after missing one day due to rotted wood needing to be replaced on the roof extending the job to two days.
I've dealt with them myself on changes to equipment when they changed Mom to a Eastern Arc setup from a split arc. and a couple of other things in the past. We seem to get mostly DNSP techs. They have whatever they need on the truck. They've never failed to repair or upgrade properly. That poor little dish went from a 300 to a 500 to 500 + 61.5 to a Split arc to eastern arc. Guess who gets to deal with it? Yup me.

I guess I'm surprised that Dishnetwork techs are good and DirecTV tech are bad in the same heavily populated area. If this isn't a prime area for D* since they have Yes and E* doesn't how does E* manage to out perform them for installs and service?
Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#50 OFFLINE   leesburgbob

leesburgbob

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2010

Posted 31 March 2012 - 01:33 PM

STOP!
Don't pay for a tech visit! (Unless you think there is something wrong with the wiring in your house or your dish set up).
Don't let them put you in a contract!

Tell them you wish to cancel. That used to equate to whatever you want and a free Sunday Ticket. Now it just will get you what you want (times are rough for DirecTV)

I was a DirecTV customer for years - in fact, I know some of the people who write their "scripts" and do the training for the customer reps. They were very specific about what to do when the customer says "x." If you threaten to quit, however, then that used to automatically bump you to the next tier where they had more leeway.

Of course this all goes in your file, so you can't keep threatening to get something free (although I never paid for a service call, shipping for a replacement box, or extend my original contract). But, I don't get offered the NFL SUnday Ticket for free just to make me happy anymore.

Stop letting DirecTV charge you for their horrible software, service, equipment, etc. There's too much competition here - and even the possibility to walk away completely and go to Netflix/Roku/youtube.


Bit the bullet....Tech coming out Saturday to trouble shoot the issue, of course they would have been more than happy to send me new box and get me into a 2 year commitment






Protected By... spam firewall...And...