Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

SWM connection questions


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Choir

Choir

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2008

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:18 PM

Have some questions about my recent install.

I have 1 HMC, 2 DVRs, and 2 Receivers. I also got WholeHome and a CCK.
With 11 tuners, a SWM 16 was installed.
When the installer came to the house to do the install, I told the installer to put the HMC on one leg of the SWM and the 2 DVRs and 2 Receivers on the other leg of the SWM. I checked after the installer had the SWM wired up, and the installer had connected an 8-way to each leg of the SWM. One 8-way (connected to the channel 9-16 leg) just had the HMC connected , and the other 8-way (connected to the PWR/channel 1-8 leg) had the 4 receivers, the CCK, and the SWM PI.
I didn’t see the need for the unnecessary split for the HMC, so I asked the installer to remove the 8-way and just connect the coax to the HMC to the channel 9-16 leg.

Is this a workable install?


I had a LOT of problems (documented in another thread) and I couldn’t figure out why the SWM PI was connected to the 8-way, so I disconnected the SWM PI from the 8-way and connected it to the PWR port of the SWM (located between the two output legs). This seemed to fix things for about 12 hours, and then problems started up again, although not as bad as the first time.

Is this a better/worse install than the original?


Tonight I reversed the connections to the SWM outputs. I connected the coax to the HMC to the PWR/channel 1-8 leg, and the 8-way to the 9-16 leg. This seems to have fixed things for now, going to let it run for a couple hours and see how things go.

Have I made anything better, or just moved stuff around?


Also wondering if I could remove the CCK altogether and just plug an Ethernet cable into the back of the HMC .


Are there any benefits to any of these changes?



Thanks,


Choir

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:54 PM

I tend to think the PI to the pwr connector is my preferred way.

You don't need a splitter if you're only connecting the HR34 to the SWiM output.
Are all the unused ports on the splitters terminated?
Do you have any "unused" coax also connected?

You can flip a coin as to whether it's better to use the CCK or the ethernet port of the HR34 for bridging to your internet.

[BTW] the SWiM-16 is made up of two SWiM sections, so the tuners always [and only] use 2-9 on both sides. Channel 1 is guide data.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Choir

Choir

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2008

Posted 01 March 2012 - 06:42 AM

Everything seems to be working great since I switched the connections to the SWM outputs. I am wondering if a loose connection was the problem.

All ports on the splitter are terminated.

The only advantage I can see to using the ethernet port HR34 rather than the CCK is that it would allow me to go use a 4-way splitter instead of the 8-way.

So when it shows 9 signal strengths for the SWM, 1 is guide data and 2-9 are the SWM channels?


Thanks,


Choir

#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:17 AM

Everything seems to be working great since I switched the connections to the SWM outputs. I am wondering if a loose connection was the problem.

All ports on the splitter are terminated.

The only advantage I can see to using the ethernet port HR34 rather than the CCK is that it would allow me to go use a 4-way splitter instead of the 8-way.

So when it shows 9 signal strengths for the SWM, 1 is guide data and 2-9 are the SWM channels?


Thanks,


Choir


Do you have the wireless CCK? That's the one with two coax ports on it. It can still be hardwired to your router if you want though. If you have the wireless CCK, it can be installed in-line to a receiver so that it does not need its own coax run. That way, you could still use it and you could then be down to your 4-way splitter.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   Choir

Choir

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2008

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:25 AM

The CCK I have has three connections on the back. One power, one coax, and an ethernet port. I think that is the standard wired CCK.


Choir

#6 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:31 AM

So when it shows 9 signal strengths for the SWM, 1 is guide data and 2-9 are the SWM channels?
The CCK I have has three connections on the back. One power, one coax, and an ethernet port. I think that is the standard wired CCK.

Choir

Yes that's how the channels work, and yes you have a non wireless CCK.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   ejjames

ejjames

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 08 March 2012 - 09:27 AM

Yes that's how the channels work, and yes you have a non wireless CCK.


I have one of the newer wireless CCK units as opposed to an older wired CCK unit.

Currently I have a wifi antenna (wireless g) on my pc for internet access. DTV2PC is choppy.

If I connect a cat5 cable directly to my pc and get rid of the wifi antenna, will this allow DTV2PC to play smoothly, or will the wireless CCK become a bottleneck, resulting in choppy video?

ps In my previous home with the same pc, I didn't have MRV, just cat5 connected to my pc and everything was smooth.
Former USSB uplink operator.

USSB from '95 to '99

DirecTv since '95

#8 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 March 2012 - 09:33 AM

I have one of the newer wireless CCK units as opposed to an older wired CCK unit.

Currently I have a wifi antenna (wireless g) on my pc for internet access. DTV2PC is choppy.

If I connect a cat5 cable directly to my pc and get rid of the wifi antenna, will this allow DTV2PC to play smoothly, or will the wireless CCK become a bottleneck, resulting in choppy video?

ps In my previous home with the same pc, I didn't have MRV, just cat5 connected to my pc and everything was smooth.

Last week I had a router change, and some more wireless devices added, so I looked into my WiFi setup and found an app that helped me see more about what everyone around here was using and how/where to tweak mine for better performance.
You might want to look at this: http://www.dbstalk.c...399#post2975399
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall