Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

c-band


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 01 March 2012 - 12:05 PM

Can I receive anything with a 6 foot c-band dish?

I am getting a ku-system for fta.

I am wondering if I can get anything on c-band is it worth investing in a 6 foot c band dish?

Any help is appreciated

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,162 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 March 2012 - 12:50 PM

Can I receive anything with a 6 foot c-band dish?

I am getting a ku-system for fta.

I am wondering if I can get anything on c-band is it worth investing in a 6 foot c band dish?

Any help is appreciated


I thought they were being phased out.

Rich

#3 OFFLINE   kenglish

kenglish

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 972 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah, USA
Joined: Oct 02, 2004

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:53 AM

A 6-foot dish might get some of the stronger digital signals. It all depends on what you want to do....DX'ing would take a bit larger dish.

#4 OFFLINE   sattvmax

sattvmax

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2012

Posted 12 March 2012 - 06:48 AM

Still quite a few C-band channels out there, c-band is also good for international channels but needs to be a high powered satellite signal for a 6ft dish.

#5 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:23 AM

I get ESPN feeds, Comcast sports feeds, all the Puerto Rican us network stations, weather, rtn, this, metv...Lots of stuff. Most in HD so you will need an HD receiver like AZ box etc.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#6 OFFLINE   RussC42

RussC42

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:21 PM

Hi have not been at this site in a very long time but I still have a C/Ku band 9 foot BUG that works. Have not done any searching of late but can you tell me where and how would I receive the ESPN, Comcast sports channels you mentioned. My receiver is the 922. Thanks.

Russ

#7 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:28 PM

You cannot receive those channels with a DISH receiver. You would need to purchase an HD FTA receiver, or FTA computer tuner card. While Dish and FTA use the same format (DVB), all the ESPN and Comcast sports channels use different symbol rates, polarity, and in many cases, video codec than the Dish receiver is designed to receive.

In addition, if your BUD has an old style polorotor type feedhorn, you will need to replace that with a voltage switching LNB/Feedhorn combo.

The HD receivers are $100-$400, the LNB/Feedhorns are < $50.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#8 OFFLINE   RussC42

RussC42

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:42 PM

So where would one find to buy what your saying is needed? Yes have not changed anything on the BUD though I have found some FTA channels on the Coolsat 5000 I bought 3 years ago or so. Have not tried using that set up for quite a while either. Can I revieve any FTA stuff with my curretn set up.

Appreciate the info.

#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,986 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 April 2012 - 10:55 PM

Hi have not been at this site in a very long time but I still have a C/Ku band 9 foot BUG that works. Have not done any searching of late but can you tell me where and how would I receive the ESPN, Comcast sports channels you mentioned. My receiver is the 922. Thanks.

Russ


I think you have DSR-922 not ViP922 ...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...