Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dishnetwork DVR 512


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   azharateza

azharateza

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2012

Posted 03 March 2012 - 06:29 PM

I just replaced my old dish receiver with DVR 512 so I can record two different channels at once or record one and watch the other one.

I can't get this to work. When I record one program, it won't let me change the channel without canceling the recording.

Does Dish DVR 512 support this feature?

Please advise!

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,166 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 03 March 2012 - 08:33 PM

Single or dual user mode? Tv2 engaged from tv1? Are both inputs connected?

#3 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 484 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:43 PM

Single or dual user mode? Tv2 engaged from tv1? Are both inputs connected?


The 512 is a Solo DVR. It only supports output on the TV1 port. The front panel mode button is disabled.

#4 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 484 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:46 PM

I just replaced my old dish receiver with DVR 512 so I can record two different channels at once or record one and watch the other one.

I can't get this to work. When I record one program, it won't let me change the channel without canceling the recording.

Does Dish DVR 512 support this feature?

Please advise!

Thanks


The 512 does allow the user to record on 1 tuner while watching live TV on the other. Does the PIP work? Try hitting the swap button on the remote. If this doesn't help, the receiver may have a problem. You may need to call Tech support to sort it out.

#5 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 360 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 03 March 2012 - 10:25 PM

I just replaced my old dish receiver with DVR 512 so I can record two different channels at once or record one and watch the other one.

I can't get this to work. When I record one program, it won't let me change the channel without canceling the recording.

Does Dish DVR 512 support this feature?

Please advise!

Thanks


I would definitely check the connections on the back of the receiver. Are there 2 coax lines going into the receiver? If there is only one going in then you will limited and the 2nd input will not be available for your use.

Mary Catherine Brady
Team Lead- Dish Internet Response Team

Sunday-Wednesday 2:30pm-11:00pm, Thursday 1:30pm-10:00pm (MST)

 


#6 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:36 PM

In order to support 2 recordings you need either 2 lines run to the receiver in a Legacy or DP setup, or a separator installed on the end of the coax line to feed both tuners at the receiver in a DPP setup. When you go the the checkswitch screen what device does it show as installed for both tuners?

#7 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,612 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 12 March 2012 - 01:23 PM

Two questions (for now);

Looks like the 512 will take an EHD, correct?

What happens to recordings if you drop service at some point in the future? I've seen some reports that they are no longer accessible and others that say they are.
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 March 2012 - 04:26 PM

512 is castrated 525 which never support EHD due USB 1.1 implmentation

#9 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 360 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 13 March 2012 - 11:06 PM

Two questions (for now);

Looks like the 512 will take an EHD, correct?

What happens to recordings if you drop service at some point in the future? I've seen some reports that they are no longer accessible and others that say they are.


The 512 does not have EHD capabilities. Only ViP receivers can support EHD's except the Vip222.

The recording will not be available if you cancel the service. EHD is encrypted to your specific account and can only be transferred between active receivers on your account and they must be like receivers. DVR or Non-DVR are not interchangeable.

Mary Catherine Brady
Team Lead- Dish Internet Response Team

Sunday-Wednesday 2:30pm-11:00pm, Thursday 1:30pm-10:00pm (MST)

 


#10 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,612 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 14 March 2012 - 04:30 AM

EHD is encrypted to your specific account and can only be transferred between active receivers on your account and they must be like receivers.

Yeah, I'm aware of that, but the second question referred to recordings on the internal hard drive. Some people have mentioned that they can't get to them if they can't get a satellite signal.
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#11 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 March 2012 - 10:08 AM

Did they try to push Menu and/or DVR button ?
After all it's not a standalone DVR like TiVo or Replay - it's IRD with DVR functions.

#12 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 671 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 10 April 2012 - 07:00 PM

"they must be like receivers."

"like" receivers? Does this mean that you cannot move an EHD from say a 211 to a 722? Even if on the same account.


Nevermind, went over to the 922 forum an answered my own question.

Edited by shadough, 10 April 2012 - 07:34 PM.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#13 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 11 April 2012 - 02:04 PM

Yes, the 211 and 722 are not of a like family receiver. 211/211k or 411 are of the same family. 622, 722/722k, 922, and Hopper are another receiver family. Thanks.

"they must be like receivers."

"like" receivers? Does this mean that you cannot move an EHD from say a 211 to a 722? Even if on the same account.


Nevermind, went over to the 922 forum an answered my own question.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...