Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 0x04CD: Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 10:48 AM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for the Spring 2012 release for HR34. This release does not have the HD GUI.

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=202927

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.


Thanks!

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:31 PM

Thanks Stuart, the old thread was getting pretty long in the tooth.

Issues with 0x04cd

Audio with native turned on. Switch from HD to SD or sometimes in SD only the audio drops out.

Kudo for new software. Finally the beginning of shows are recorded. You have to rewind to get it but at least it is there. Old software missed beginning of most shows.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#3 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 12 March 2012 - 06:40 PM

Not sure if this is a known issue as I just noticed it tonight and don't recall reading it before:

I've noticed that shows which are downloaded by my Nomad show up as not being new in the HR34's list. (i.e. they look like shows which have already been viewed--they show up in gray and are not counted as being new in the "x New/x Total" count.)

#4 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:06 PM

Had a tuner freeze up on me just now. I was watching a hockey game and missed a goal. I rewound to the goal then fast forwarded to the "live" tv and it froze when it reached the end. No sound the the picture was frozen, like I had hit the pause button, but I didn't(it also showed the play arrow onscreen, not the pause icon). Hitting pause or play did nothing.

I could swap to the other tuner without issue, but when I swapped back, it was still frozen. The only way to get it going again was to change the channel and then come back to that channel.

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#5 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,852 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:27 PM

I was using double play today on my HR34 and when I switched to the tuner that was buffering, the screen was gray. The status bar showed 30+ minutes of green buffer, but it wouldn't move from the first minute. When I tried to fast forward or rewind, it wouldn't move. Had to enter the channel # in again and it started playing from that point forward.
HR34-700, HR22-100

#6 OFFLINE   mitchinpa

mitchinpa

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2007

Posted 13 March 2012 - 06:29 AM

While watching a PPV VOD, the movie would skip ahead a few minutes. Did this multiple times during playback, usually around the "tick" mark in the status bar. Even after rewinding, those skipped parts would not play.
Also, when watching a recorded show, if you pause the show, it will un-pause and continue playing by itself.
And I experienced the loss of audio for 3 or 4 seconds after you un-pause a recorded show.

#7 OFFLINE   TScottTX

TScottTX

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 13 March 2012 - 07:43 AM

While watching and catching up with a show that is recording, the playback will stop when the end of recording occurs. There is no way to "resume" and I have to re-start and fast forward to the point where I was watching.

#8 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 13 March 2012 - 09:45 AM

While watching and catching up with a show that is recording, the playback will stop when the end of recording occurs. There is no way to "resume" and I have to re-start and fast forward to the point where I was watching.


This sounds exactly like the issue I mentioned a couple posts up, except I wasn't actually recording the show(although the buffer was recording).

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#9 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 13 March 2012 - 11:26 AM

Not sure if it will work for all of you with the weird pauses, gray screen, lack of audio etc. Someone on the original thread said turn off native. I turned off native and those problems went away.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#10 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 13 March 2012 - 04:02 PM

So, went to bed last night and my HR34 was seeing my other 3 receivers fine. Came home from work today and it was only seeing 2 of my 3 receivers. It lost connection to one of my 2 HR24-500's. However, while the HR34 was not seeing the one HR24-500, that HR24-500 COULD see the HR34.

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#11 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 579 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 13 March 2012 - 08:33 PM

Chuck - did the 24 that lost the 34 have the power saver turned on by any chance??
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#12 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 14 March 2012 - 05:49 AM

grey screen issue coming off pause, I have had my HR34 for almost a month now and have had no issues, last night I was watching american Chopper and put it in pause, switched to live TV then when I can back to the recorded program I got the grey screen and an unresponsive remote, tried a menu reset but it would not work, had to do an rbr, I am using HDMI and native is off

#13 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 14 March 2012 - 06:12 AM

Chuck - did the 24 that lost the 34 have the power saver turned on by any chance??


No it didn't. That HR24 had power save turned off. What's funny is my second HR24, DID have power save turned ON(forgot to turn it off when I got it on Monday) and that one did NOT lose connectivity with the HR34.

I rebooted the HR34 yesterday and it began seeing all 3 receivers again. I'll check tonight when I get home and see if it still sees all 3(it did continue to see all 3 till I went to bed at about midnight last night).

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#14 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 14 March 2012 - 01:23 PM

Thanks Stuart, the old thread was getting pretty long in the tooth.

Issues with 0x04cd

Audio with native turned on. Switch from HD to SD or sometimes in SD only the audio drops out.

Kudo for new software. Finally the beginning of shows are recorded. You have to rewind to get it but at least it is there. Old software missed beginning of most shows.


I guess I posted too soon. Once again the beginning of programs are being cut off. Too much of following program on recordings and many missing openings on recordings.

I hate to have to manually record 89 series links.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#15 OFFLINE   Rob Dawn

Rob Dawn

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
  • LocationColorado
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 14 March 2012 - 02:08 PM

I guess I posted too soon. Once again the beginning of programs are being cut off.


And this does NOT happen on your HR24 Jerry?
(Just trying to be thorough and make sure it is solely an HR34 issue.)

(I would love to get an HR34 for the 5 tuners and 100 Series Links but NOT with all the problems people are reporting - and still reporting after the latest software update.)

#16 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,965 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 14 March 2012 - 02:11 PM

The 34 really misses the beginning of every recording for everyone?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#17 OFFLINE   TDDV

TDDV

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 14 March 2012 - 02:23 PM

sigma1924, I noticed my 34 does the same, but I'm able to rewind to the start on most shows.

#18 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 579 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 14 March 2012 - 02:24 PM

It doesn't miss the starts, you just have to rewind it to get the first 6 or so seconds of the recorded programs.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#19 OFFLINE   lgb0250

lgb0250

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2010

Posted 14 March 2012 - 02:55 PM

Had the gray screen freeze up two days in a row while changing channels. Finally did a reset and all has been fine since.

#20 OFFLINE   KK in CT

KK in CT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 227 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2010

Posted 14 March 2012 - 04:44 PM

The 34 really misses the beginning of every recording for everyone?


Not for me yet. I did have the issue where my He24 could see the HR34 but not the other way around, but that seemed to correct itself the day after install. Looking forward to getting the HD GUI hopefully soon.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...