Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

porting AT&T phone number to VOIP


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Tiny

Tiny

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2009

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:07 PM

Has any person attempted sucessfully to port an AT&T landline phone number away to VOIP without losing DSL service I know DSL is linked to phone number and in one attempt to call AT&T CSR they tried to sell me another landline for $200 for my dsl service to go with my other landline I have. OK when my phone number ports away my present landline will be disconnected and I will have 2 phone lines to my house. should I just order comcast internet and forget AT&T DSL because this is making my Head hurt!:confused:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   tunce

tunce

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 332 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:20 PM

I know 2 people that had no luck and they both lost their DSL. BE CAREFUL!
Tunce

HR34-700 w/AM21 | HR20-700 | H21-200 | SWiM | Slimline 3
Whole Home - External Antenna

#3 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:47 PM

Yes, you have to add a second phone line to your service and have them make THAT the primary line then port out your number which is now the secondary number. Or get DRY LOOP DSL if it is available BEFORE porting.

When I worked for Vonage LNP dept (back around 6 years ago when they really were exploding and porting would take 4-5 months and more) people would do that all the time. Number would port after 5 months and bye bye DSL and Vonage phone service. It was a disaster.

Yes, get Comcast and use another VOIP phone provider for probably 1/2 what they charge.

#4 OFFLINE   BosFan

BosFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
  • LocationAltoona, WI
Joined: Sep 28, 2009

Posted 12 March 2012 - 01:00 PM

I suggest the cable modem and get Ooma VoIP, pay for the gear up front then all you pay is tax and fee after that. Got mine from Woot (refurbed) for $140 and my monthly bill is $4.37. Pick a temp number at start-up and then it took a week to port the old number from AT&T

Living room: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST30, HR23-700, Sony BDP-N460, Yamaha HTR-6140, Harmony 700
Family room: Vizio SV421XVT, HR24-500, Sony PlayStation 3, Yamaha R-7, Harmony 700
Bedroom: Vizio VA26L, HR21-200
SL-3, DECA, Whole-Home DVR, DTV since 4/09

Life isn’t like a box of chocolates…it’s more like a jar of jalapenos. What you do today might burn your *** tomorrow.
---Author Unknown


#5 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 01:01 PM

I just did this about 2 months ago. I had DSL w/AT&T on my POTS phone line. I then switched to AT&T U-Verse DSL (which in reality is dry-loop DSL). I wanted to keep my land-line number so I transferred it to am AT&T GoPhone. Then I got a VOIP service. Installed the service. Tested it, then transferred the number from the GoPhone to Google Voice and pointed GV to the IP phone number. You could just port the number directly from the GoPhone to the IP phone number, but I don't think this will be the last IP phone provider I will ever use and I can point the GV number to whatever number I want in the future. The whole process took about 3 weeks.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#6 OFFLINE   Tiny

Tiny

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2009

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:01 PM

Thanks for suggestions, Im going to use the Net Talk Duo for Voip service no computer needed for 29.95 a YEAR service were now Im paying 30 plus dollars a month for At&t phone

#7 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:11 PM

I've been involved in many AT&T ports to VoIP since the MagicJack PLUS came out,If you have DSL you must call them to preserve your DSL Internet connection.

If you don't they will automatically turn off your phone and DSL service in three to 10 days.

#8 OFFLINE   Tiny

Tiny

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2009

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:20 PM

which at&t CSR number would u try to set up to keep DSL connected ?

#9 ONLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,708 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:13 PM

I did something like this, but I'm using CallCentric as my VoiP provider. I also switched from Centurylink to TimeWarner Cable Internet, so the dry loop issue didn't present a problem.
It did require me to buy an ATA (I got a Linksys PAP2T), but the phone savings were definately real . I'm on a plan that is 1.5 CENTS/minute incoming and 1.9 CENTS/minute outgoing (or something like those rates) - my typical phone bill is now more like $8- $10 / month - and we have just about any / all call features included.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#10 OFFLINE   gomezma1

gomezma1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:17 PM

What is Voip?

#11 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:18 PM

What is Voip?


Voice over Internet Protocol - Internet phone service like Vonage, Magicjack, etc.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#12 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,232 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:23 PM

What is Voip?

What is Voip?

#13 OFFLINE   gomezma1

gomezma1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:25 PM

So it costs $200 to add another phone line with AT&T?

#14 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:26 PM

Until they screw the bill up and charge you $400

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"





spam firewall