Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to get >2Tb storage??


  • Please log in to reply
211 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   trstew

trstew

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2012

Posted 15 March 2012 - 02:01 PM

A few weeks ago I hooked up 2Tb of external storage (WD HDD and Thermaltake enclosure) for my HR24. As I already only have 40% left, I'm wondering if I can expand my storage further without buying another 2Tb drive and enclosure and going thru the powerdown, swap, and bootup routine. Can a RAID enclosure with multiple drives be utilized, using the RAID controller to switch between the drives without going thru the old swap routine? In short, what are the alternatives to having to catalogue a collection of 2Tb drives?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,392 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 15 March 2012 - 02:09 PM

? In short, what are the alternatives to having to catalogue a collection of 2Tb drives?


Remember that your library, or collection, cannot be played on any other DVR if that one were to fail.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,116 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 March 2012 - 02:10 PM

I don't think you have many options. RAID 0 would increase capacity, but if you lose one drive, you lose all data. I don't think there are any economical ways to get RAID5, plus the 2TB limit would still apply.

Swapping drives, you'd have to keep the Series links and such current on both drives.

Sounds like you've done a lot of recording in a few weeks. I thought a 2TB should be able to handle more than 400 hours of MPEG4 HD.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 March 2012 - 02:53 PM

Yeah, today only multiple 2 TB drives is the option for you, just keep relevant series links on each one.

#5 OFFLINE   xzi

xzi

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 527 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 15 March 2012 - 02:56 PM

I'm guessing the 2TB limit has nothing to do with disk size... it's using a 32-bit file system and they'd have to switch that up to do more than 2TB.

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 March 2012 - 03:11 PM

I'm guessing the 2TB limit has nothing to do with disk size... it's using a 32-bit file system and they'd have to switch that up to do more than 2TB.


Your guess is plain wrong. Read our recent discussions about the idea ...

#7 OFFLINE   xzi

xzi

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 527 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 15 March 2012 - 03:16 PM

Your guess is plain wrong. Read our recent discussions about the idea ...


Nah. Not interested.

#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 March 2012 - 03:38 PM

Then you shouldn't post that your opinion without home work.

#9 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,471 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 March 2012 - 03:49 PM

Here is the Calulation of how many hours of MPEG-4 HD I can Record on my 2 TB HR23-700 which is 528 hours.

Subtract 100 Gb from the drive size (2000 Gb) for housekeeping space reserved by DirecTV.

HD MPEG-4 uses ~ 3.6 GB/hour (or 180 GB for 50 hours).

2000 Gb minus 100 Gb = 1900. 1900 Gb/3.6 Gb per hour = 528 hours of MPEG-4 HD Recording Capacity.

1 TB = 250 hours of MPEG-4 Recording Capacity.
2 TB = 528 hours of MPEG-4 Recording Capacity.

I'm guessing the 2TB limit has nothing to do with disk size... it's using a 32-bit file system and they'd have to switch that up to do more than 2TB.


I guess you have No Clue about what you are talking about!

Listen to Mr P. Smith if you want to know the Truth.

If not just continue to GUESS!!! :lol:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#10 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,037 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 15 March 2012 - 05:07 PM

For all practical purposes, if you want more than 2TB of storage at any given time, you need to do that via multiple DVRs, each with 2TB. Using whole-home you can then view any recording from any DVR. You can't get more than 2 TB on any individual DVR, as others have noted.

If you have multiple e-SATA drives, you could swap back and forth between them on a given DVR, but that is awkward at best. Also as noted, recordings can only be played back on the DVR they were originally recorded on (i.e., the disk drive can't be moved from DVR to DVR).

#11 OFFLINE   trstew

trstew

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2012

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:04 PM

Remember that your library, or collection, cannot be played on any other DVR if that one were to fail.

So the movies I've got on my external are encoded so that only that particular receiver and no other can play them? If my receiver was stolen, for instance, I'd have a 2Tb drive full of essentially useless data? Guess this also means I couldn't plug the drive into a PC or anything else and be able to access the data (or would a PC even read the drive, since it was automatically formatted by the HR24)? Does this have to do more with encoding or the file system (or both)? This would also explain why data on my internal drive can't be transferred, correct?
Sorry for all the questions, but I'm still trying to get a grasp on the basics...

#12 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:07 PM

You have everything correct trstew. The exception being, you can copy the drive image to another drive using a computer and the right software, but would have to put it in the same DVR that recorded it for it to play.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:08 PM

That's we all try to teach you. :)

All your questions are self-answered.

#14 OFFLINE   trstew

trstew

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2012

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:13 PM

I don't think you have many options. RAID 0 would increase capacity, but if you lose one drive, you lose all data. I don't think there are any economical ways to get RAID5, plus the 2TB limit would still apply.

Swapping drives, you'd have to keep the Series links and such current on both drives.

Sounds like you've done a lot of recording in a few weeks. I thought a 2TB should be able to handle more than 400 hours of MPEG4 HD.

Yes, I'm basically recording 24/7, often 2 films at once. I got 118 movies off the internal 500 Gb drive, so I figured I'd probably get maybe 480 off the 2 Tb... I originally had grand plans for a huge movie collection, but if anything happens to my HR24, I guess I'm SOL! Also, if a HDD went bad, I'd lose 480 movies... Yikes - kinda risky to build a large collection this way, eh?

#15 OFFLINE   trstew

trstew

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2012

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:23 PM

You have everything correct trstew. The exception being, you can copy the drive image to another drive using a computer and the right software, but would have to put it in the same DVR that recorded it for it to play.

I guess no amount of wizardry would enable one to play a drive on any other DVR - the movie studios are doing their best to sell DVDs, as seemingly this would be the only way to build a large collection (unless you had a timeless receiver that would never fail or become obsolete!)...

#16 OFFLINE   evan_s

evan_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,136 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2008

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:01 PM

There's nothing we as end users could do to make them play on another dvr and any discussion of it would be against the board policies as dbstalk doesn't support breaking your agreement with the provider but you are ultimately right. Things are setup this way by directv to keep the content distributors happy.

#17 OFFLINE   mreg376

mreg376

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2012

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:04 PM

There's nothing we as end users could do to make them play on another dvr and any discussion of it would be against the board policies as dbstalk doesn't support breaking your agreement with the provider but you are ultimately right. Things are setup this way by directv to keep the content distributors happy.


Or if you could figure out exactly which component in a DVR identifies it to the hard drive...and then transplant it. :-)

#18 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:05 PM

Sort of misconstrued ... other provider manage to use DRM for EHD and allow to SHARE these with all DVRs on your account (indirectly provide ability to move between DVRs using EHD)

#19 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:07 PM

Or if you could figure out exactly which component in a DVR identifies it to the hard drive...and then transplant it. :-)


Perhaps you come to late to the aspect ... the factor mentioned so many times here ... well, just for you: ENCRYPTED.

#20 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:09 PM

I guess no amount of wizardry would enable one to play a drive on any other DVR - the movie studios are doing their best to sell DVDs, as seemingly this would be the only way to build a large collection (unless you had a timeless receiver that would never fail or become obsolete!)...


Well, you can always get a HD capture device, and instead of recording the movies to your DVR, you could record them to your computer, and then burn the file to a DVD. That is about the only current way of archiving movies from DirecTv without using their equipment and restrictions.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"





Protected By... spam firewall...And...