Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to get >2Tb storage??


  • Please log in to reply
211 replies to this topic

#201 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,954 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 16 July 2012 - 04:07 PM

The "just wants to do it" is evidenced by the mention of TB as opposed to hours of content.

Discussing hours takes away from the total because some of it is backups made on different DVRs that aren't interchangeable. The number dwindles further because of your policy of limiting how full the discs are allowed to get to maintain acceptable performance.

Take away the ties to the recording DVR and make it so you don't have to reboot and you'll have something. Being able to conveniently move things around would be icing on the cake. ;)


TiVo's approach to whole home was cool...copy programs from the DVR where recorded, to the DVR where viewed. This allowed you to move content that was "precious" to an additional DVR. I moved a lot of recordings around before I finally decommissioned most of my DirecTiVos. :)

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#202 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,473 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 July 2012 - 05:38 PM

TiVo's approach to whole home was cool...copy programs from the DVR where recorded, to the DVR where viewed. This allowed you to move content that was "precious" to an additional DVR. I moved a lot of recordings around before I finally decommissioned most of my DirecTiVos. :)


So, if you know, why can't we do it now?

Rich

#203 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,256 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 16 July 2012 - 06:14 PM

So, if you know, why can't we do it now?

Rich


The old DirecTV Tivos had technology essentially 10 years old, were MPEG2 only (no MPEG4) and security/file security was highly different than today. When D* moved to MPEG4 the tighter security came into play.

But regardless, back to the original question I asked yesterday, does anyone know of an external raid unit that can plug into the D* DVRs and will use its own os/firmware to translate the calls so that more than 2TB can be used?

#204 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 July 2012 - 06:32 PM

You could use 3 or 4 TB drive for the test - no RAID is need. A couple months ago we had hot discussion about the limit and it came to same ending - no, the limit is the same: 2 TB.

About using RAID - yes, you could. Again the info 'what&how-to' already posted here.

#205 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,070 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 16 July 2012 - 06:44 PM

The old DirecTV Tivos had technology essentially 10 years old, were MPEG2 only (no MPEG4) and security/file security was highly different than today. When D* moved to MPEG4 the tighter security came into play.

But regardless, back to the original question I asked yesterday, does anyone know of an external raid unit that can plug into the D* DVRs and will use its own os/firmware to translate the calls so that more than 2TB can be used?


Regardless of what you hook up you'll be limited to 2TB. It's a partition limitation in the OS based on the format that the DirecTV receivers use.

You could hook up a 4TB array but your post-format capacity would still be 2TB.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#206 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,421 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 17 July 2012 - 08:27 AM

But regardless, back to the original question I asked yesterday, does anyone know of an external raid unit that can plug into the D* DVRs and will use its own os/firmware to translate the calls so that more than 2TB can be used?

There is no such magic.

If there is a volume size limit in the underlying DVR operating system, no amount of outboard hardware or software can change it. You cannot install "hooks" into the DVR BIOS as the old Pee Cee devices did.

Edited by harsh, 17 July 2012 - 08:35 AM.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#207 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,421 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 17 July 2012 - 08:34 AM

So, if you know, why can't we do it now?

This is what is known as a "business decision". It doesn't get any simpler than that.

TiVo is generally not a company that was directly beholden to the programming providers but DIRECTV is so the DIRECTV TiVo-based products have some limitations that the standalone products do not. There have been hints to this in discussions that have been posted on DBSTalk previously. Most come from CES interviews.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#208 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,256 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:44 AM

You could use 3 or 4 TB drive for the test - no RAID is need. A couple months ago we had hot discussion about the limit and it came to same ending - no, the limit is the same: 2 TB.

About using RAID - yes, you could. Again the info 'what&how-to' already posted here.


The discussion several months ago was about a single hard drive solution that could be used - ie - a 3TB drive.

Just as Windows 9x could not read NTFS file structure, it a NT machine had the NTFS Drive on a share, the Windows 9x could read the files with the NT machine doing the translation.

Just as the old Windows 16 bit systems could connect to Novell Networks with a server running a larger drive than Win 16 could handle.

Just as there is IPv4<>IPv6 translation.

There seems there should be an External Raid Device that would would take the D* calls and allow it to be processed to a larger storage than 2TB, just as there are units that allow this to be done for Windows 32 machines.

#209 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:17 AM

Perhaps the key point was missed - implementing GPT - check that discussion's aspect.

#210 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,070 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:22 AM

There seems there should be an External Raid Device that would would take the D* calls and allow it to be processed to a larger storage than 2TB, just as there are units that allow this to be done for Windows 32 machines.


Again...

Regardless of what you hook up you'll be limited to 2TB. It's a partition limitation in the OS based on the format that the DirecTV receivers use.

You could hook up a 4TB array but your post-format capacity would still be 2TB.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#211 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,954 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:53 AM

The discussion several months ago was about a single hard drive solution that could be used - ie - a 3TB drive.

Just as Windows 9x could not read NTFS file structure, it a NT machine had the NTFS Drive on a share, the Windows 9x could read the files with the NT machine doing the translation.

Just as the old Windows 16 bit systems could connect to Novell Networks with a server running a larger drive than Win 16 could handle.

Just as there is IPv4<>IPv6 translation.

There seems there should be an External Raid Device that would would take the D* calls and allow it to be processed to a larger storage than 2TB, just as there are units that allow this to be done for Windows 32 machines.


All of those solutions were supported by adding device drivers into an open operating system (in most of your examples, drivers in the network layer). The DirecTV DVRs are not an open system...you can't add device drivers to them. They don't support any concept of shared disks (a requirement for the examples you note). Bottom line, 2TB is the limit unless DirecTV chooses to change it.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#212 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:06 PM

The absolute best you can do, due to the MBR partitioning scheme limitaton of 2TB is to use a RAID array of 3x 750GB HDD's in Raid 0 (or 4x750GB drives in RAID 5 as I am doing) giving you 2,095.4 Gigabytes. You lose a little less than 50Gbyte due to the partitioning Limitation. Note that a 2TB drive is really only 1.86TB in reality so you are actually ~160GB short of 2TB using a 2TB drive

This is what I am doing with the HR34... thus far with success see this thread for info: http://www.dbstalk.c...713#post2996713

HR34, HR20x3, HR22, HR23, H24, H21

-BAHitman





Protected By... spam firewall...And...