Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper/Joey upgrades


  • Please log in to reply
144 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   RaymondG@DISH Network

RaymondG@DISH Network

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2011

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:59 PM

What's the ETA on a SW update to allow 2 Hoppers to talk to eachother to share recordings?


We have not received any updates for when this feature will become available.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   hasbeen29650

hasbeen29650

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2012

Posted 18 April 2012 - 07:34 AM

We have not received any updates for when this feature will become available.


Where will the info be posted when this feature does become available? Since I now have two hoppers, I am of course interested to know. Thanks.

#128 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 18 April 2012 - 09:23 AM

Everywhere. Here, first, or the Other Site, probably.

"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#129 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,190 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 18 April 2012 - 02:34 PM

The most likely places to find out when Hoppers are able to see each other:

1. Online forums like this one.
2. Accidentally discovering it yourself the day the firmware updates.

Dish rarely communicates these kinds of feature changes (good or bad) to the general public... so you tend to find out either by checking yourself OR reading a post from someone else who did just that.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#130 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,291 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 18 April 2012 - 04:45 PM

I suspect that in the past announcing a firm date and then having a issue has caused them some problems.

In the past when I had to travel from location to location and call in my ETA I always added one 1/2 hour to an hour for a margin in case of traffic.

In dishes case if they were silly enough to announce it will be ready by the end of May and it slipped until June 3rd people would be angry because they didn't make their announced date.

And some things never come, Didn't they say that the 721 would have internet browsing when they were introducing it for example? I had one it never got internet BTW. I used it and liked it until they sopped supporting it and replaced it with a 522.
Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#131 OFFLINE   Sundance

Sundance

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2004

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:23 PM

Can you watch content via sling on your laptop with the Haaper?

#132 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:39 PM

The Hopper takes the same sling that the 722 does, so yes.

#133 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 18 April 2012 - 06:56 PM

Can you watch content via sling on your laptop with the Haaper?


you sure can
i have one and it works perfectly

#134 OFFLINE   brewer2930

brewer2930

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2008

Posted 19 April 2012 - 12:36 PM

The official price to upgrade to 1 Hopper/ 1 Joey is either $100 or $300 depending on the tier the customer falls in. I haven't seen a confirmed case of a customer doing so for the $199 you quote. Could be a case of this , I just haven't seen one. While there have been many reports of varying CSR quotes for this upgrade, when the bill came due, it has been either $100 or $300.



They quoted me $400!!

#135 OFFLINE   brewer2930

brewer2930

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2008

Posted 19 April 2012 - 12:39 PM

I also called dish to upgrade to the hopper and they stated that I wasn't a customer long enough to upgrade! My argument is that by upgrading doesn't that commit me to a new two year contract showing that I'll be a long term customer short of paying a expensive cancellation fee?


Said the same to me....$449 to upgrade. :eek2:

#136 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,803 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 19 April 2012 - 04:13 PM

They quoted me $400!!

Said the same to me....$449 to upgrade. :eek2:

I feel like I'm reading an auction. Has the price hit $498 yet?

#137 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,291 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 20 April 2012 - 08:21 AM

I feel like I'm reading an auction. Has the price hit $498 yet?


More like a Middle East Bazaar. Some people seem to have a need to bargain the price for everything.

Dish is the worst at charging customers different prices to upgrade to 1 hopper and 1 joey. Some pay $100 some pay $199, while I paid $300. :mad: Terrible way of doing bussiness. It's sad they would lose a customer since 1999, over $100.


The DirecTV equipment is all over the place on upgrades for existing customers too. There have to be variables at work that determine what they'll charge.

Said the same to me....$449 to upgrade. :eek2:


If the last upgrade or the install is so recent that they never made back the investment of equipment and labor to install. Then you will be in effect paying more for the Hopper/Joey to cover that loss.

OTOH if the last equipment they did for you was 4+ years and you always pay on time (Autopay) and you don't have the lowest package I would expect that the upgrade to a Hopper cost would be low.

Cheers
Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#138 OFFLINE   rld37

rld37

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:47 PM

Everywhere. Here, first, or the Other Site, probably.

What is the Other Site that I see referred to?

#139 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,227 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 April 2012 - 08:40 PM

What is the Other Site that I see referred to?


It's rebellion station on Dark Side of The Moon !:eek2: Established by ex-member of the site in Y2003.

#140 OFFLINE   rld37

rld37

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 24 April 2012 - 02:43 PM

It's rebellion station on Dark Side of The Moon !:eek2: Established by ex-member of the site in Y2003.


P, I am customer of D* now for 17 years. That should tell you I am a little thick headed. Your answer yesterday went right over my head. I am strongly thinking of changing to Dish. I have been reading on this great forum for all the information I can absorb. I many times see referrences such as this:
"The other site has several members who had installers on site within a couple of hours of ordering. Impressive."
If there is another site I can gleam more information, I would like to. If it is a private site where regular members are not welcome, just say so or say what the member requirements are. Fair enough?

#141 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,227 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 April 2012 - 02:52 PM

it's: satelliteguys dot us

#142 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,291 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 24 April 2012 - 04:30 PM

FWIW when I called after the roofers were done replacing the roof, Dishnetwork was there
the same afternoon to align the dish. We only lost one night of TV since the roofers didn't finish the same day they started due to having to replace rotten sheathing.

I wouldn't expect same day installs as it would be quite likely the trucks wouldn't have the equipment needed sitting as spares in case of.
Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#143 OFFLINE   rld37

rld37

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 24 April 2012 - 04:47 PM

Thanks :)

#144 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 26 April 2012 - 03:34 PM

Do I need a TV at each Joey on a new install? I am moving and will do the install before I move. I can move a couple 21" HDTV's to use (I have 2 larger TV's that movers will move). They'll just move the TV from one Joey to the next, right? I'm opening a new account (wife's name) at the new house before we actually move (new house is just down the block).

#145 OFFLINE   Wire Nut

Wire Nut

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2012

Posted 26 April 2012 - 03:47 PM

Do I need a TV at each Joey on a new install?

Shouldn't be problem, just make sure you understand how to program the Hopper/Joey remotes to different televisions and don't kink/squish the coax when moving your furniture. I prefer to do it this way so I do not have to work around massive entertainment centers and clutter.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...