Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

My Hopper/Joey Install Experience


  • Please log in to reply
491 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 23 March 2012 - 11:06 AM

hello all, I have a question. I have 2 722's hd dvr's due to my daughter having her own programs to record. I thought of just upgrading to 1 Hopper and 1 joey but there are programs she likes on the off network channels such as TLC,Nat Geo, etc. and we like others ,so, there would be a conflict with recording of shows if we didn't have 2. can Dish install 2 hoppers and no joeys? Thanks for your help.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   marcuscthomas

marcuscthomas

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: May 04, 2006

Posted 23 March 2012 - 02:31 PM

hello all, I have a question. I have 2 722's hd dvr's due to my daughter having her own programs to record. I thought of just upgrading to 1 Hopper and 1 joey but there are programs she likes on the off network channels such as TLC,Nat Geo, etc. and we like others ,so, there would be a conflict with recording of shows if we didn't have 2. can Dish install 2 hoppers and no joeys? Thanks for your help.


I had this same issue (only with two teenage boys). The cost of 2 Hoppers and 2 Joey's was the same for me as 1 Hopper and 3 Joeys. It did cost $100 extra at startup (my upgrade per receiver fee), but it is well worth it. For the first time in years, we can't watch all of our tuners at the same time, and haven't had a conflict with recording either. I am not sure about the "no Joeys" part. However, do know that, while both Joeys can see either Hopper, the Hopper's cannot yet "see" each other, and therefore cannot share programming between each other.

#153 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,662 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 23 March 2012 - 03:49 PM

That's a great question. Has anyone manually moved a show from ptat to their hard folder and seen of it still shows so much being recorded for that one program?

So far it does ... but I have not seen the end of eight days.

#154 OFFLINE   gboybama

gboybama

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2012

Posted 23 March 2012 - 04:24 PM

hello all, I have a question. I have 2 722's hd dvr's due to my daughter having her own programs to record. I thought of just upgrading to 1 Hopper and 1 joey but there are programs she likes on the off network channels such as TLC,Nat Geo, etc. and we like others ,so, there would be a conflict with recording of shows if we didn't have 2. can Dish install 2 hoppers and no joeys? Thanks for your help.


I have tried this. Either it is impossible or reps are highly resistant to letting a hopper go without at least one joey paired with it at the install.

I wanted to have two hoppers, one joey and two additional TV's serviced by the 322 that I own. I was told this is in no way doable by two reps both for the legacy receiver violation and for requesting more hoppers than joeys.

So, I am getting two hoppers and three joeys next Friday. I'm going to be short on tuners until the OTA module is released, so I'm considering canceling the appointment. (Currently have 722 (single mode), 211, 211 and 322 (duo))

#155 OFFLINE   dunkonu23

dunkonu23

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2006

Posted 23 March 2012 - 05:42 PM

I got two hoppers and two joeys installed today. There are some problems.

1. The second Hopper won't link with the other Hopper or the two Joeys. Each hopper is on a wired network connection to 1gig ports.
2. The hard drives (previously used for DVR and copy to storage) are not recognized. They each worked prior to the install.

There are other problems but this is a good start.

Edit: I discovered the Hoppers are not yet able to be fully meshed. I also discovered the hard drives will probably be enabled after 24 hours. I found this out by calling support.

Edit2: External Hard Drives are still not functional.
As another note, the installation took 3.5 hours. The installer was quite knowledgeable. The installer replaced the LNB with their latest LNB. We now have no switch. However, we do notice locals and some other channels show loss of signal when we switch channels. On Demand is now working as is Blockbuster@home.

Scott

Edited by dunkonu23, 24 March 2012 - 01:40 PM.


#156 OFFLINE   bobiii

bobiii

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2003

Posted 23 March 2012 - 08:37 PM

The installation took place on 3/21. The installer arrived at approximately 11 AM and the worst thing that had to be done, I thought, was a new run to the hopper using RG-6. This was done pretty fast and then all hell broke loose! The installer didn't leave my house until approximately 6 PM that evening. Most of the problems were trying to get the proper software downloaded! First the hopper wouldn't cooperate until it was left on standby for 1 hours, then it finally took the necessary software. Then it was each joey one at a time and again, they refused to download their software. Finally through searching online, I found some helpful hints from Scott ____. He had a special procedure for resetting the joeys so that it would trigger a proper download. So around 5 o'clock everything starting working as it should! I'm a happy camper. Love the system. Problems I had was 1) trouble with close captioning which was resolved by the following day (new software?) and 2) While I can listen to Xm music on the hopper, trying to listen to the same channels on joeys causes stuttering so bad that you can't understand what the song is. 3) the dnla on joeys do not see any of my servers which are seen by the hopper. I guess I need to supply a network connection to each joey for this to work. Primetime is great!

#157 OFFLINE   GeeWhiz1

GeeWhiz1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 23 March 2012 - 08:39 PM

OK, today I replaced 2-Vip622s with a Hopper and 2 Joeys.

My appointment was between Noon and 5:00. The installer arrived at 3:00 and was done at about 7:00. Most of the time was spent replacing my dish so that it was mounted more securely. So in addition to everything else, I got a new 1000.2 dish and LNBs.

The first Hopper that he tried to hook up was DOA. Luckily, he had one more on the truck. Most of the time after that was waiting for the software updates, etc. Once the Hopper was up and running, he set up the 2 Joeys. There were no real problems, just more time while they downloaded and installed their updates.

So now I am up and running on all 3 TVs, so it's time to play.
Greg ... in the heart of the whine country

#158 OFFLINE   tommiet

tommiet

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 346 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2005

Posted 24 March 2012 - 07:44 AM

Minor issues as the tech could use my current wiring. Hopper is a little buggy and has locked up once already (unplug to fix,) but overall nice...

My install was one Hopper and 2 Joeys. The Hopper in my Living Room and a Joey's in my home office and kitchen.

THE GOOD:
  • Whole house DVR works!
  • Picture seems sharper (no idea why)
  • DVR Interface
  • Apps option
  • Install tech was very nice and knowledgeable about the Hopper


The Not so Good...
  • Hopper and Joeys can heat a 3 bedroom house!
  • My living room and kitchen are close and the joey runs about 2-3 seconds ahead of the Hopper when on the same channel. I was mirroring my kitchen from my living room and will probably go back to that setup as the echo is really bad.
  • Dish tech support really not ready to support it - poor support
  • Had to install a "HIC" to get internet access (no idea why)


Would I do it again.... Hmmmm. Give me a few weeks to make that call. I may wait for the cost of a Joey to drop and buy instead of renting. $170.00 to now, but it would pay for itself in 2 years.
**** HARDWARE *****
2 Dish Hoppers (Gave up trying to get a Joey to work)
VIZIO 55” and 48" TruLED LCD 3D HDTV with VIZIO
JVC HDI RX-D402B Receiver
2 SLINGBOX PRO'S

#159 OFFLINE   sjohannes

sjohannes

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 24 March 2012 - 07:53 AM

Made the switch to dish last weekend after directv refused to send me a replacement receiver with a new hard-drive to fix a failing receiver. I had the entire directv whole home setup before getting the hopper, so I can tell you what I think works better on either solution. I was replacing two HD DVRS for 2 tv's and got a single hopper and joey setup for my house(2 televisions). The install took a little longer due to storms and guide download issues, but overall pretty easy.

In terms of the setup, I'm impressed by the speed of both the hopper and joey. The directv dvr's are just plain slow and noisy. My house is a lot more quiet given the joey and the hopper. I miss having a fourth tuner but the PTAT makes up for that as we record a lot of network programming at the same time, so less need. My biggest problems right now is that sling with ipad/iphones on ios 5.1 does not work well even on home wifi. I also have issues with my Joey losing the hopper connection every so often and needing a reset. Beyond that everything else works as expected, although I called dish and the program guide search was broken.

I'm sure some of the bugs will be fixed long-term and honestly when I first got whole home on directv it was kinda of buggy and slow. The bugs went away and are still slow.

IMHO since I used both here are the strengthes/weaknesses of each solution

Hopper/Joey
- Speed
- Modern UI - Even the new HD UI of directv is not as "clean" as the Dish UI
- Wiring - No ugly adapters, true single wire solution
- PTAT
- Speed did I mention that
- Ability to see "entire schedule" of recordings

Directv Whole Home
- Stability - I rarely had to reboot receivers
- Remote access - The directv ipad app and nomad functionality actually works and is much easier to use than the sling solution.
- Tuners - you can have multiple DVR's so tuner limits is not as much of an issue(multiple tvs, more than 2)

I think both solutions have their merits and if you can actually get Directv to give you new or equipment that's not 4 years old as a replacement, then it's not a bad option. I went to Dish strictly because it was cheaper to cancel my directv service, than the cost of getting a dvr with a new hard drive instead of another 4 year old DVR from directv.

Although I miss the remote access features, so far Dish has been a pleasant experience.

Take care,
Stephen

#160 OFFLINE   rsicard

rsicard

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2003

Posted 24 March 2012 - 10:04 AM

Just had a hopper and 1 joey installed (replacing a 922 and a 722) in about 2 hours with some minor cabling. Installer did a great job, software did take a little bit to download but seem ok. Very happy so far with the new equipment.
---
Dish Hopper (HDMI to Sony KDL-52XBR9)
Dish Joey (HDMI to Sony KDL-40XBR2)

#161 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,286 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 24 March 2012 - 12:28 PM

...Although I miss the remote access features...

Nice review. But what features are you talking about? Dish seems to have a lot more than DirecTV (live streaming, DVR streaming, DVR management, etc.). All you need is the $30 sling adapter and you get streaming. Directv can only stream in your house or copy recordings to carry with you. And they can't manage your recordings online, only schedule new ones.

#162 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,286 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 24 March 2012 - 12:33 PM

...I may wait for the cost of a Joey to drop and buy instead of renting. $170.00 to now, but it would pay for itself in 2 years.

That would be nice, but they're still going to charge you $7 a month to watch it whether you own or rent. So there is no cost advantage at all to owning.

#163 OFFLINE   rcamburn

rcamburn

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2010

Posted 24 March 2012 - 12:47 PM

I replaced my 722 with a the Hopper & 1 Joey on 3/19.

The installer showed up @10AM, replaced my 2 dishes w/one on the eastern arc, installed the Hopper/Joey using the existing RG6 cable that was already run to TV2 from the existing 722.

He said that this was his second install of these new units.I'd say he knew what he was doing.

He was gone by 11:30, the longest part was waiting for the Hopper to download software updates & the program guide to most of the day to load.

So far, I've only had one problem, the Joey was not seeing the Hopper, so I reset the Hopper & that restored communication.

#164 OFFLINE   sjohannes

sjohannes

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 24 March 2012 - 01:14 PM

Nice review. But what features are you talking about? Dish seems to have a lot more than DirecTV (live streaming, DVR streaming, DVR management, etc.). All you need is the $30 sling adapter and you get streaming. Directv can only stream in your house or copy recordings to carry with you. And they can't manage your recordings online, only schedule new ones.


As I said the sling adapter does not work well with my hopper over my home network and is not stable. The remote scheduler and remote control iPad apps on directv are much easier to use than sling. Offline access to my recordings was nice because sling uses one of the three tuners. If my sling adapter that I bought from dish would work as designed I might not miss the directv apps. I am hoping that eventually this will get fixed, but livetv is dicey and watching a recording only works when nobody is watching tv at the house and no recordings are being done.

That being said I would still recommend the hopper/Joey combo especially if you only have two tv's and don't need the nfl package. The receiver speed is drool worthy compared to an hr20.

Take care,
Stephen

#165 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 24 March 2012 - 03:52 PM

just replaced 1 722k and 2 regular HD receivers with 1 Hopper and 2 Joey's.
tech got here at 2.25pm
it was his first Hopper/Joey install but he knew exactly what he was doing.
install was done in 3.30 hours and EVERYTHING works perfectly(first try)
the Sling adapter works perfectly to.according to him the Hooper should be installed first ,let it download software ,guide etc and then intall 1 joey and then another(not all at the same time)
gotta say i LOVE the new Whole home DVR its awesome:D
oh and the speed of this things is incredible

#166 OFFLINE   desiguy2447

desiguy2447

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 27, 2009

Posted 25 March 2012 - 07:33 AM

As planned the Dish installer showed up on time at 8:00am on Saturday with calling at 7:30am prior to coming out. The install took four hours to get one hopper, and three joey's connected.

The first hour of the install was spent at the Dish box where the DP44 switch was housed, and having to run a new line for the power insert for the DP44 switch as to the number of SAT I pick up (have international channels here), and because the Power insert cannot be on the same line with the Hopper and Joey's. A separate run is required.

The new line got run from my second kitchen which happened to be located by the dish switch took about 15 minutes. Then the NOD got wired to the DP44 which took the remaining time to get connected as four new cables had to be made.

Once the outside work was done the Hopper took about an hour to set up mainly because it kept getting stuck at checking the switch after the firmware / software was downloaded which got fixed after three reboots.

Joey's got installed one at time as instructed by Dish all linked to the hopper with out issue. The install company did say hold off connecting the Ethernet cables to the Joey because it will just cause issues at this point.

The Hopper is connected to via Ethernet.

At 12pm the install was done the tech left. Then came the storm and the new install survived a massive lightening strike with everything still linked once the equipment came back up. (I was actually glad it occurred for a real test).

In concluding everything went smooth and everything works! At some point I will hook up the Ethernet cabling to the Joey's.

#167 OFFLINE   rpotts

rpotts

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2003

Posted 25 March 2012 - 06:38 PM

UPDATE: Install now complete - 10 hours: 12:30-10:30PM. 1 Hopper, 3 Joeys.

I'll have plenty more comments tomorrow...

Replaced dish on roof, and told me other dish (installed 7 years ago) was not needed.

After about 6 hours, still could not get the software downloaded on the hopper. Tech went back to depot and got a 2nd hopper. That one updated in 30 minutes.

Not sure if software download is via internet or satellite, but the lack of a progress indicator on that screen is a real killer. We have retried at least 5 times, waiting 30+ minutes each. Since there is no percentage or count of data - you have no idea if it is progressing at all.

The software update screen really needs a progress bar! Even Better - the Hopper and Joey's should be updated before the installer arrives - no good reason he has to sit at my house and do the updates - especially since it took at least 20 minutes per Joey and more for the Hopper.

P.S. installer was nice - But it was a long day for both of us....

Edited by rpotts, 26 March 2012 - 07:32 AM.
Update with more current information.


#168 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,662 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 25 March 2012 - 06:52 PM

Software only comes via satellite ... and I agree, progress bars are nice - although one should not interrupt a software download.

I'd like to see DISH pre-download the software back at the shop before coming out for the install. Install times seem to be coming down, but when there is an issue it seems to be with the download.

#169 OFFLINE   zer0cool

zer0cool

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2004

Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:04 AM

Installer showed up about 10:30, and was done by 2:30.
Installed two Hoppers and three Joeys, along with a HIC.
software loaded fine, Guide seemed to update with no hitches, and my External drive was recognized without issue.

Broadband connection seems very stable, unlike 922.
Picture seems better (although that may be in my head because others have said it seemed sharper).
Response to remote commands is quick.
Harmony One remote seems to work flawlessly so far.

Despite my asking three times (on separate occasions), they did not send a Sling adapter with the technician. A quick call has one on its way to me though. We'll see if it stays connected better than the 922's built-in.

Search function would not search Program Guide initially (only my archived stuff), but kicked in after a few hours.
I was surprised to see only 500 GB of free space on both Hoppers, and the tech was surprised as well. A little reading here revealed that was normal though.
Only real "glitch" in the install occurred when the HIC was installed.
The tech placed it on top of the Joey in our office. when I went back into the office an hour or so later, there was a warning screen up, stating the Joey temperature had reached 172 degrees! I immediately relocated the HIC :eek2:.

Otherwise, everything seems to function really well, and PTAT is pretty awesome.

#170 OFFLINE   dvrblogger

dvrblogger

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 562 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2005

Posted 26 March 2012 - 02:45 PM

I had my Hopper and Joey installed last week. The installer did a great job, called ahead of time etc. The only negative was the Hopper sat tryingto download new software for over an hour I finally re-booted it when the tech was out to lunch and only then did it download the software. System works great, DISH did a nice job.

#171 OFFLINE   eric_7820

eric_7820

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Feb 29, 2008

Posted 26 March 2012 - 04:31 PM

One Hopper and one Joey installed on March 16th.
2.5 hour install time. The tech had already install a Hopper and Joey on the previous day and installation was straight forward. The Hopper required one unexpected reboot during installation.
No issues and working great. PTAT is a terrific feature.

Dumped DIRECTV as the receiver (HR21) performance is awful and no solutions that DIRECTV would make available without $$$ up front.

Dish HD picture quality is similar to DIRECTV. Maybe DIRECTV gets the edge on this one, the jury is still out for me?
Experienced some picture breakup on HMC, it only happens occasionally?

Happy to be with Dish as the receiver technology is superior to DIRECTV.

#172 OFFLINE   steff3

steff3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2006

Posted 26 March 2012 - 06:03 PM

One Hopper and one Joey installed on March 16th.
2.5 hour install time. The tech had already install a Hopper and Joey on the previous day and installation was straight forward. The Hopper required one unexpected reboot during installation.
No issues and working great. PTAT is a terrific feature.

Dumped DIRECTV as the receiver (HR21) performance is awful and no solutions that DIRECTV would make available without $$$ up front.

Dish HD picture quality is similar to DIRECTV. Maybe DIRECTV gets the edge on this one, the jury is still out for me?
Experienced some picture breakup on HMC, it only happens occasionally?

Happy to be with Dish as the receiver technology is superior to DIRECTV.


I too just came form Dish and to this point am very happy with Dish. Was with D* for 9 years and hated to leave but they would not budge on the full cost of the new HR34 (excellant box I might add). My 60 year old eyes can't see any difference in puicture quality on our 55" TV at all so far. I do like the PTAT feature as for our house and needs it works fine and we do not need any sports premiums or else would have stayed w/D*. Dish can not touch their sport options but we are in local for our teams and have no need. The Hopper is also very fast compared to what I came from (2 HR-20's and 1 HR22). So far their customer service has been excellant both on line with DIRT and on chat. I still have a learning curve to get thru but so far am happy. :jumpingja

#173 OFFLINE   rpotts

rpotts

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2003

Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:53 PM

I had a 722 in single mode, and a 622 running two TVs.
I'm adding a 4th, and want 4 HD TVs - so I instantly thought hopper.

I called to order 1 hopper and 2 joeys, and hoped to keep my 722. (That was my goof - I was on vacation and didn't take the time to read this forum.)

Salesperson said I had to do complete conversion, so I went with 1 Hopper and 3 Joeys. They explained all the limitations about only 3 tuners, and the 4th TV would have to shadow another TV. I expressed concerns, but since I couldn't keep the 722 - I gave in. Only to read the forum and see 2 Hopper / 2 joey was an option. I chatted with dish to change the order - just 4 hours before install, and they could change it. Installer showed up with 1 Hopper, 3 joey - although his computer said 2/2. He got in truck to get missing equipment. called 15 minutes later, a required switch was not in stock. Reschedule or go with 1 hopper - so I took the 1 hopper since my new TV installation is scheduled for this week.

My install took 10 hours (12:30 - 10:30 PM) - very painful. installer left my external hard drive and sling box disconnected. I was too tired to notice or test at 10:30PM.

Initial impressions:
1) On Guide 'skip FWD' now only goes ahead 3 hours instead of 24. We were so use this function - please change it back! We often go prime time from one day to next for setting timers.
2) Tried to use Weather channel APP 3 times - first hung system and required reboot. next two failed, but at least recovered.
3) moving 50+ timers from 722 to the hopper stinks. There has to be an easier way. I printed timers on web, and re-entered on hopper.
4) no plans to use Prime time. We don't often have more than one prime time timer on the major networks. And we worry about losing them after 8 days.
5) new interface is pretty, but my wife swears it is more clicks... time will tell.
6) New buttons on remote - 4 programmable - haven't tried, but like the idea.
7) Remote controls work! My 622 and 722 were not set up to extend the remote to the other room, so they always worked poorly. The remote just was not reliable talking to the base. I can't beleive I lived like that for years... This installer said the antenna should have been remoted into the 2nd TV room - I agree.
8) Installer put up a new HD dish and took down my eliptical dish. I also have a round dish - he said that was no longer needed. When I asked If I could take it down - he wasn't sure...so I left it up.
9) My 722 had OTA antenna - so basically i had 3 tuners in the family room. I don't know if the family is going to survive 3 tuners on 4 TVs... time will tell.

Edited by rpotts, 26 March 2012 - 07:55 PM.
Add 9


#174 OFFLINE   zer0cool

zer0cool

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2004

Posted 26 March 2012 - 08:20 PM

Initial impressions:
1) On Guide 'skip FWD' now only goes ahead 3 hours instead of 24. We were so use this function - please change it back! We often go prime time from one day to next for setting timers.

The Skip FWd jumps 3 Hours, but the FFWD will jump 24.

7) Remote controls work! My 622 and 722 were not set up to extend the remote to the other room, so they always worked poorly. The remote just was not reliable talking to the base. I can't beleive I lived like that for years... This installer said the antenna should have been remoted into the 2nd TV room - I agree.

I had the Antenna remoted to a second location on a 622 and it still was nowhere near as reliable as the Joeys.

#175 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,662 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 26 March 2012 - 09:40 PM

1) On Guide 'skip FWD' now only goes ahead 3 hours instead of 24. We were so use this function - please change it back! We often go prime time from one day to next for setting timers.

DISH is using the 922 interface that has the same weirdness ... 24 skip is on a different button. You might get used to it.

2) Tried to use Weather channel APP 3 times - first hung system and required reboot. next two failed, but at least recovered.

It worked better under S203 ... perhaps S205 will be better.

4) no plans to use Prime time. We don't often have more than one prime time timer on the major networks. And we worry about losing them after 8 days.

One can turn it off. I find it useful as I do have the occasional overlap and have seen shows I'd never have bothered setting a timer for in the "pick one" world of limited timers. Set the timers for your favorite shows regardless of if they are in PTA ... that way they will be saved with a link outside of the PTA folder and will continue to exist after 8 days.

6) New buttons on remote - 4 programmable - haven't tried, but like the idea.

They have purposes programmed into them. There are menus that are easier to navigate when one can press the green button to jump to a particular option.

9) My 722 had OTA antenna - so basically i had 3 tuners in the family room. I don't know if the family is going to survive 3 tuners on 4 TVs... time will tell.

It depends on what they want to watch. Two OTAs during prime time can be handled by the PTA tuner. OTA tuning will come. Hopefully it will be worth the wait.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...