Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish not skipping old episodes


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 250 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 16 March 2012 - 03:23 AM

Yesterday Dish recorded 3 old episodes of 3 different programs. For example it recorded a 2009 episode of Burn Notice, yet it skipped the immediate earlier & later episodes. IOW there were several sequential episodes in a row yet Dish picked one out of the bunch to record. I found a forth different program that was going to be recorded & manually skipped it.

Any idea what is causing this?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,149 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 16 March 2012 - 03:53 AM

It's caused by bad guide data.
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#3 OFFLINE   Blowgun

Blowgun

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 388 posts
Joined: May 22, 2008

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:15 AM

See the thread located HERE where this has recently been discussed. It's partly due to a generic description that never gets updated despite the fact that the data does exist and, should have stopped and removed the event from being recorded. Recently I had to use the SKIP button around 20 times in order to stop events from recording. It's the lack of accurate EPG data, which is getting worse.

#4 OFFLINE   dennispap

dennispap

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 650 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2007

Posted 16 March 2012 - 12:25 PM

See the thread located HERE where this has recently been discussed. It's partly due to a generic description that never gets updated despite the fact that the data does exist and, should have stopped and removed the event from being recorded. Recently I had to use the SKIP button around 20 times in order to stop events from recording. It's the lack of accurate EPG data, which is getting worse.


Agreed....:nono:




spam firewall