Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S203 Software Experiences/Bugs Discuss


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 17 March 2012 - 07:19 PM

- Keep at most limit doesn't appear to work. I have one timer set to 5, but it has gone well past that.

- Weather Channel app is blank about half the time I use it. And when adding cities it will sometimes crash and go back to live tv.

#2 ONLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,381 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 17 March 2012 - 06:34 PM

Please use this thread to discuss the S203 Software currently on the XiP 813 Hopper Receiver.

If you do not have S203 on you Hopper, please do not post in this thread.
A reminder: There are other threads for general discussion of Hopper/Joey.

Edited by James Long, 17 March 2012 - 08:39 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   barcop

barcop

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:49 AM

I'll list my bugs or missing items... I'm not sure if they are bugs or just something wrong with my setup.

- Blockbuster icon when pressed does nothing but exit menu - Resolved - Sitting overnight resolved this issue
- On Demand icon when pressed does nothing but exit menu - Resolved - Sitting overnight resolved this issue
- DVR button only lists recordings in icons initially. I would prefer a listing rather or the option to show a list rather than troll through a bunch of icons.
- Weather Channel app says "Data not available" every time. - Resolved - Sitting overnight resolved this issue
- Apps icon says "Data not available" every time. - Resolved - Sitting overnight resolved this issue
- My Account says "Data not available" every time. - Resolved - Sitting overnight resolved this issue
- External Device doesn't always get recognized.
- No option in settings to change time of day to do updates. The only thing in the updates option is to set inactivity reminder.
- Guide doesn't list Sirius/XM Music Channels (6000 channel range) - Resolved - Sirius/XM is now channel 099-##
- Search feature doesn't search the program guide, even when it's selected. Only searches DVR. - Resolved - Sitting overnight resolved this issue

Edited by barcop, 19 March 2012 - 03:07 AM.


#4 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,181 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:59 AM

I'll list my bugs or missing items... I'm not sure if they are bugs or just something wrong with my setup.

- Blockbuster icon when pressed does nothing but exit menu
- On Demand icon when pressed does nothing but exit menu
- DVR button only lists recordings in icons initially. That's by design I would prefer a listing rather or the option to show a list rather than troll through a bunch of icons.
- Weather Channel app says "Data not available" every time.
- Apps icon says "Data not available" every time.
- My Account says "Data not available" every time.
- External Device doesn't always get recognized.
- No option in settings to change time of day to do updates. The only thing in the updates option is to set inactivity reminder.
- Guide doesn't list Sirius/XM Music Channels (6000 channel range)

Sirius/XM are now at 099
Kevin

2 Hoppers
2 Hoppers 2.0

#5 OFFLINE   barcop

barcop

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 18 March 2012 - 07:05 AM

It's by design to view icons? I'd at least like to see an option to choose between either.... that way both sides are happy.

#6 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 18 March 2012 - 07:42 AM

I'll list my bugs or missing items... I'm not sure if they are bugs or just something wrong with my setup.

- Blockbuster icon when pressed does nothing but exit menu
- On Demand icon when pressed does nothing but exit menu
- DVR button only lists recordings in icons initially. I would prefer a listing rather or the option to show a list rather than troll through a bunch of icons.
- Weather Channel app says "Data not available" every time.
- Apps icon says "Data not available" every time.
- My Account says "Data not available" every time.
- External Device doesn't always get recognized.
- No option in settings to change time of day to do updates. The only thing in the updates option is to set inactivity reminder.
- Guide doesn't list Sirius/XM Music Channels (6000 channel range) - Resolved - Sirius/XM is now channel 099-##
- Search feature doesn't search the program guide, even when it's selected. Only searches DVR.

You didn't say when your install was. Mine was yesterday and the BB, VOD, Weather, EHD and search did not work until after last night's update. Now they do. The search function finds every instance of a programon DVR, EHD and EPG when you search All Media,.

The icons on DVR is like the 922. It took me a while but it grew on me and now I like it. Prefer it actually. But that's me. :P

I would like to be able to reset the update time.
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#7 OFFLINE   barcop

barcop

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 18 March 2012 - 08:02 AM

My install was yesterday, but there was no software update for me this morning. I'm on the latest version anyways, S203.

Even on All Media, search function only searches DVR/External HD and not the programming guide.

#8 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:26 AM

The update I was referring to is the regular nightly update. That one updates the guide and some of the other bits but not the software. Have you tried a front panel reset or a power cord reset?
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#9 OFFLINE   wtrjock

wtrjock

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 18 March 2012 - 11:38 AM

I found a bug in the number of timers. As soon as I put in the 50th timer I reached the maximum. If I delete a timer, I still get the maximum message even with less than 50. I did a chat last night with tech support, but it still doesn't work today.

T/S said we should be capable to 96 timers.

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 March 2012 - 11:44 AM

The update I was referring to is the regular nightly update. That one updates the guide and some of the other bits but not the software. Have you tried a front panel reset or a power cord reset?

Actually it's just reboot system to clean 'memory leak' because of bugs.
No other purpose; guide data updating 4 times per day and working fine. No other "bits" require each day reboot, but bugs.

#11 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 18 March 2012 - 07:49 PM

Here's another weird maximum. A favorites list can only have 90 channels.

#12 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,424 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 18 March 2012 - 08:15 PM

Here's another weird maximum. A favorites list can only have 90 channels.


That is weird.

I know on my 922 I have a list with 200 channels in it.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#13 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 18 March 2012 - 10:04 PM

Correction, looks like I can go well past 90, but not exactly 91. Will reboot and try again.

#14 OFFLINE   barcop

barcop

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 19 March 2012 - 03:10 AM

Most of my issues have been resolved by letting the receiver sit overnight. I'm guessing it needed to download some stuff over the internet initially.

Another observation from letting the receiver sit overnight - Icons all look like they should (with a picture of the show or movie) rather than just a screensaver type swoop or something like that.

My remaining issues are:

- Unable to set update time manually.
- External Device not always recognized on reset.
- DVR Listing: Should have option to change from icon view to listing view.

Edited by barcop, 19 March 2012 - 03:38 AM.


#15 OFFLINE   barcop

barcop

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 19 March 2012 - 03:12 AM

The update I was referring to is the regular nightly update. That one updates the guide and some of the other bits but not the software. Have you tried a front panel reset or a power cord reset?


We're talking about the same thing. I was under the impression that software updates (if any) are done at the same time as guide updates.

#16 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,424 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 19 March 2012 - 11:48 AM

- DVR Listing: Should have option to change from icon view to listing view.


You're probably not going to get this one... They took the GUI design from the 922, and they never had an option to list rather than icon-view on that receiver either.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#17 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 12:15 PM

We're talking about the same thing. I was under the impression that software updates (if any) are done at the same time as guide updates.

They are. When there is a software update as you stated. Typically when someone says nightly update we are referring to the every night EPG update. If there is a software update it will be refereed to as such and usually by number.

Edited by olguy, 19 March 2012 - 12:20 PM.

Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#18 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 12:16 PM

You're probably not going to get this one... They took the GUI design from the 922, and they never had an option to list rather than icon-view on that receiver either.

As I said in another post, it took a few days or so for me to get used to the iconsand now I prefer them. My 74 year old eyes can see what I'm looking for a lot quicker.:P
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#19 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 March 2012 - 03:49 PM

We're talking about the same thing. I was under the impression that software updates (if any) are done at the same time as guide updates.


Absolutely different things.
EPG updating four times per day on regular basis.
FW updating on own schedule - see EKB H2k FW page for example.
Night reboot is doing because of bugs in FW what is a case for buildup system tables' corruption/ 'memory leak'/etc

#20 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,424 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 19 March 2012 - 04:03 PM

As I said in another post, it took a few days or so for me to get used to the iconsand now I prefer them. My 74 year old eyes can see what I'm looking for a lot quicker.:P


Yeah, I like them too. I wouldn't mind if there was an option to change to list format, though. It might make it easier to find/delete some things in list-mode.

Night reboot is doing because of bugs in FW what is a case for buildup system tables' corruption/ 'memory leak'/etc


While you might be correct... do you have evidence beyond your own opinion to back this up? I'm not saying you are wrong, but you should probably provide proof and links to support this statement.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#21 OFFLINE   barcop

barcop

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 19 March 2012 - 07:48 PM

Another issue to report - Playback from External Device doesn't always work. Get red text box error box about half the time. Usually 2nd attempt will work after getting this error, but not always.

Edited by barcop, 20 March 2012 - 03:40 AM.


#22 OFFLINE   wtrjock

wtrjock

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 10:42 PM

Seems like the Hopper is not waiting long enough for the EHD to spin up. My EHD is a power safe Seagate and it takes a couple of seconds to respond. They should building a little more delay.

#23 OFFLINE   jgarveyATL

jgarveyATL

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2006

Posted 20 March 2012 - 10:36 AM

- DLNA not working
- Exact match search on title to create a new series timer (non PTAT channel) will not record event. Using record series from guide does work. I would refer to this as the old "dish pass" timer (look across all channels for any new programs matching the text "Mad Men").
- 404 text appears on screen when trying to access apps. When exiting app, TV volume comes back but screen does not repaint to video programming. Requires full reboot of Hopper to remove 404 from screen.

Regarding DLNA, I am using Serviio 0.6.2 on Mac OS X Server 10.7.2. Confirmed I could see my videos folder using a LG BD670 player with no problem. Also used Intel's Device Spy app (windows only) to make sure Serviio was broadcasting. Hopper can be seen on network and can get to VOD, but is not seen in Device Spy. I have a Netgear WNDR3800 with the latest production firmware. All connections are gigabit (server > netgear unmanaged gigabit switch > hopper, net gear switch > WNDR3800 router > comcast modem).

#24 OFFLINE   WynsWrld98

WynsWrld98

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 20 March 2012 - 09:33 PM

I found a bug in the number of timers. As soon as I put in the 50th timer I reached the maximum. If I delete a timer, I still get the maximum message even with less than 50. I did a chat last night with tech support, but it still doesn't work today.

T/S said we should be capable to 96 timers.


Is this problem happening for everyone?? Has anyone been able to setup 96 timers? I have 88 timers right now on my 722 and hope to set them up on the Hopper being installed Sat 3/24...

#25 OFFLINE   jgarveyATL

jgarveyATL

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2006

Posted 21 March 2012 - 05:45 AM

This may be functioning as designed, but I am trying to make sure PTAT events I watch are saved beyond the 8 day window. When I create a timer for a PTAT show, it says the show is tagged to PTAT but shows a yellow x by the event. If I try to restore it, it won't show that a timer is setup. IF I delete the timer, then it says that the user deleted the timer and there's no way to restore it.

Is that the way it's supposed to work? How do I ensure that recorded PTAT events/shows are kept past the 8 day window?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...