Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

iPad app issues


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   flopp900

flopp900

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 17 March 2012 - 09:52 PM

Hi everyone,

User peds48_installs over on the DIRECTV tech support forum suggested that I post here about an issue I am having regarding the iPad with my DIRECTV system. This is the thread from the forum.

forums.directv.com/pe/action/forums/displaypost?postID=11038576#e11038576

I am at a complete loss as to what to do as everything seems to be working fine except the iPad app. When I try to add the receiver ID for both my H24 and HR24 are showing ...0000 and nothing I seem to do allows the app to see them. Please let me know if there are any suggestion that you have or if there is anything you can do.


Thanks in advance

thank you

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   flopp900

flopp900

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 18 March 2012 - 10:32 AM

I am trying to reply to the personal messages sent on this issue but I can. Not until my post count hits 5.

#3 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 180 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 18 March 2012 - 11:15 AM

Here is something you can try.

In the iPad's WiFi settings add 8.8.8.8 on the DNS Line
for Google's DNS.

Also, make sure iTunes is up to date and also make sure you
have the current 5.1 iOS installed on the device.

And, of course the App itself is up to date.

You can also cold boot (restart) the iPad - hold down the home button and the Power button at the same time until you see the Apple Logo appear, release both buttons.

Let us know if any of this works.

#4 OFFLINE   flopp900

flopp900

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 19 March 2012 - 03:52 PM

Unfortunately those suggestions did not work. I have tried the Google DNS reinstalling the app and a hardware restart of the iPad and rebooting the HR24. Every time I try to use the app it still shows the receiver ID as ...0000.


Thanks for the suggestions.

#5 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 19 March 2012 - 04:06 PM

Unfortunately those suggestions did not work. I have tried the Google DNS reinstalling the app and a hardware restart of the iPad and rebooting the HR24. Every time I try to use the app it still shows the receiver ID as ...0000.


Thanks for the suggestions.


None of those suggestions are going to work.

There is a data issue with your account, it is going to take a few days to get it resolved... you know it is fixed, when you no longer see the 0000
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#6 OFFLINE   jlangleyrn

jlangleyrn

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2012

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:49 PM

Do you know if there is any plans to have an app to allow android tablets to start using this technology ? I have read about the NOMAD option, but I don't think it is what I am looking for, I don't really need to download recorded shows, or is that the onky thing the I-pad version is letting you do?

#7 OFFLINE   flopp900

flopp900

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 22 March 2012 - 05:30 PM

Earl... Thank you for the help, the iPad app is working great now.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...