Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

PVR 508 & 1000.2 LNB compatibility?!?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   zebra_lounge

zebra_lounge

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2008

Posted 18 March 2012 - 04:29 PM

I just installed a turbohd dish with the 1000.2 triple lnb. I plan to add a hd receiver but currently only have 2 pvr508 units. I mounted everything and did "check switch" and it shows the 1000.2 lnb. I can not get the signal to show up though. I have tried everything. Anything I am missing? Any help would be great.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:27 PM

I just installed a turbohd dish with the 1000.2 triple lnb. I plan to add a hd receiver but currently only have 2 pvr508 units. I mounted everything and did "check switch" and it shows the 1000.2 lnb. I can not get the signal to show up though. I have tried everything. Anything I am missing? Any help would be great.

First guess would be you aren't aimed at the DISH satellites :):):)

#3 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 19 March 2012 - 07:31 AM

Yes, the 508 is compatible with the 1000.2 LNB. If you are not receiving signal check your dish alignment as boba suggested. The dish has to be aimed very accurately.

#4 OFFLINE   zebra_lounge

zebra_lounge

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2008

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:22 AM

You might be right. Everyone I have talked to has said that they are compatible. This link has a puzzling statement though

http://www.sadoun.co...-1000point2.htm

"While Legacy receivers are supported without a DISH Pro Adapter, at least one DISH Pro or DISH Pro Plus receiver must be connected and powered at all times to power the LNBF."


The dish pro adapter however says that:
http://www.prosat.co...246/1253115.htm

"The DISHPro Adapter is required for all DISH Network Receivers; 1000, 2000, 2700, 2800, 3000, 3700, 3800, 3900, 4000, 4700, 4900, 5000, 6000, 7100, 7200 and DVHS when used in conjunction with DISHPro LNBFs.
Models 301, 501, 508 and 721 DO NOT require the DISHPro Adapter"


I guess my question is has anyone run a 1000.2 with ONLY legacy receivers, specifically the 508?

#5 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 19 March 2012 - 10:25 AM

That is true, I hadn't thought about that for a while. Adding a DP adapter in your case might not be a bad idea. As long as you have at least two receivers connected at all times though I think there would be enough power.

#6 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 19 March 2012 - 11:51 AM

The 508 is not a legacy receiver, it's a DishPro receiver. Legacy recievers are the 4-digit models listed as needing the DP adapter for use with a DP switch.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,754 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 March 2012 - 03:55 PM

The 508 is not a legacy receiver, it's a DishPro receiver. Legacy recievers are the 4-digit models listed as needing the DP adapter for use with a DP switch.


I have impression, IMO, under the 'umbrella' it is going to include that boxes what are not 8PSK/TC capable.

#8 OFFLINE   zebra_lounge

zebra_lounge

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2008

Posted 28 March 2012 - 08:56 AM

I'm going to put my dish 500 up to confirm the installation is good. Any other thoughts?

#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,754 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 28 March 2012 - 09:19 AM

Go for it and post your result here...




spam firewall