Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

PTAT question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   916ajp

916ajp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:45 PM

I live in the Sacramento locals market. Our CBS affiliate starts their primetime one hour early. Example; How I Met You Mother starts at 7:00PM on Mondays, Survivor starts at 7:00PM on Wednesday, etc. Will the Hopper recognize this or do I need to set those programs up to record like a non PTAT show?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,393 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 March 2012 - 11:20 PM

PTA is controlling by dish, not by Sacramento or San Francisco's time. I'm doubt you will see your desired adjustment.

#3 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 19 March 2012 - 01:20 AM

It's set up for 8-11 or 7-10, whichever is used in your time zone. If the stations in a market aren't all on the same PT hours, I think it would depend on Dish catching the difference. The EPG will have a PT timer icon for the shows that will be included in the PTAT recording, so you'll know in advance.

More info at http://www.dishuser.org/ptat.php
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#4 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 06:24 AM

The EPG will have a PT timer icon for the shows that will be included in the PTAT recording, so you'll know in advance.

More info at http://www.dishuser.org/ptat.php

I see that on the Hopper EPG but not the Joeys.
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#5 OFFLINE   steff3

steff3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:52 AM

I live in the Sacramento locals market. Our CBS affiliate starts their primetime one hour early. Example; How I Met You Mother starts at 7:00PM on Mondays, Survivor starts at 7:00PM on Wednesday, etc. Will the Hopper recognize this or do I need to set those programs up to record like a non PTAT show?


This is a question I was also curious about. I am in the Sacramento locals area as well where CBS PT begins at 7 PM and the other three begin at 8PM. My install is Wednesday so will find out Wednesday night. At the worst I suppose the 7 - 8 PM programs will may need to be programmed to record if desired.

#6 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 19 March 2012 - 11:37 AM

I see that on the Hopper EPG but not the Joeys.

That's bizarre, we might have our first bug attributable to the Joey. Do the Joeys show a timer icon for regular DVR events created on the Hopper?
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#7 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 12:12 PM

That's bizarre, we might have our first bug attributable to the Joey. Do the Joeys show a timer icon for regular DVR events created on the Hopper?

They're all showing up on all 3 devices now. I guess you need to wait a couple of days to turn on PTAT. :lol: I turned it on the 1st day. Just now I disabled it and then enabled it and all timer icons are on all EPGs regardless of which box was used to set the timer. Ain't early adepterating fun.:P
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.




spam firewall