Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Wireless Router - Daily Power Cycle

ethernet cables

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:51 AM

I have a Cisco Linksys WRT160N. It works great for a few hours after I power cycle but after a day or so my internet speed slows to a crawl.

Any ideas on what's causing this and what I can do to fix it?

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 09:44 AM

I use the same router (have 2 of them) and don't have any problems. I do have DD-WRT firmware on them though, too. You might want to give that a try. I believe DD-WRT is not available only for v2 of the router.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,969 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 10:07 AM

I have the same router (v2, no dd-wrt :( ) and the only issue is that every 4-5 days I need to reboot because DHCP stops working. I also have a D-Link and a couple of Netgear routers that work great except for port forwarding not working.

#4 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,259 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 10:34 AM

I have a Cisco Linksys WRT160N. It works great for a few hours after I power cycle but after a day or so my internet speed slows to a crawl.

Any ideas on what's causing this and what I can do to fix it?


I have the same router.. I have to reboot every couple of days. These problems might be related.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#5 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 19 March 2012 - 10:53 AM

Heat related?

#6 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,259 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 11:02 AM

Heat related?


Hmm.. Possibly. Thanks, don't know why that didn't cross my mind.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#7 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 11:50 AM

No heat issue for me. The router is sitting on a desk with ample ventilation. I'd rather not buy a new router but perhaps there are better routers available.

The thing that bums me out is that when I do a speed test without the router I get 10-12mbs DL speed. When I run the test with the router I get 4-5mbs right after a power cycle then 2-3mpbs the next day.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#8 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,861 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 12:04 PM

I would definitely try DD-WRT there, or at least get the current firmware. I suspect there's a memory leak and it's slowing down as it can't do what it needs to do.

I am also pretty sure you can schedule a reboot from the router menu so it does it automatically in the middle of the night.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#9 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,727 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 12:31 PM

Which revision is it? They have been releasing firmware since all their routers with WPS have a security vulnerability, but that one is still not updated (along with most of their models.)

#10 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,379 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 04:20 PM

Fryes has had a good deal on E3000s - refurbs. . . .I got a couple and put dd-wrt on them.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#11 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 06:17 PM

Which revision is it? They have been releasing firmware since all their routers with WPS have a security vulnerability, but that one is still not updated (along with most of their models.)



Firmware Version: v3.0.00 build 010 Feb 3, 2009

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,727 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 07:23 PM

You're in luck then, dd-wrt will work.

#13 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 09:52 PM

So now what do I do? Will I lose all of my settings by updating the firmware?
I should probably take screen shots of everything.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#14 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,727 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 19 March 2012 - 09:54 PM

If you switch to dd-wrt, you'll have the defaults of dd-wrt and a new interface. It actually is recommended to do a factory reset (usually hold in the reset button 30 seconds or something), then update to Dd-WRT.

#15 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 March 2012 - 10:00 PM

I love DD-WRT. I havent rebooted my router once since I installed it (with DD-WRT) over a year ago.

In using a Netgear. Had a Linksys, but had to reboot it all the time, and DD-WRT wasnt available for the model I had.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#16 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,451 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 20 March 2012 - 07:22 AM

No heat issue for me. The router is sitting on a desk with ample ventilation. I'd rather not buy a new router but perhaps there are better routers available.

The thing that bums me out is that when I do a speed test without the router I get 10-12mbs DL speed. When I run the test with the router I get 4-5mbs right after a power cycle then 2-3mpbs the next day.


I've got the 4200, the first version and it rarely needs to be restarted. The Cisco software that came with it does provide a speed test, but that varies so greatly from day to day that I can't figure out what's going on. Some days I get a speed of 56 down from my modem and get close to that on the router SW speed test, other days I get 56 down from the modem and get a very low number down on the router SW speed test. I have absolutely no idea what this means since my computer is fed from a work station that is fed from the router.

Rich

#17 OFFLINE   larryk

larryk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:58 AM

I also have a WRT160, and I put dd-wrt on it, I just checked it and it has been up for for over 300 days with out a reboot...works perfectly.

#18 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 25 October 2012 - 03:31 PM

Ver.3.0.03 Build 3 is the firmware I installed from the Linksys site. I didn't have to reset anything. Super easy.

And it worked. My wireless is functioning perfectly for the first time ever.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#19 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,727 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 25 October 2012 - 06:29 PM

Ver.3.0.03 Build 3 is the firmware I installed from the Linksys site. I didn't have to reset anything. Super easy.

And it worked. My wireless is functioning perfectly for the first time ever.


Too bad they never fixed the WPS vulnerability. To me it's unforgivable that they never fixed it so that the feature can actually be disabled. They fixed some, but the majority weren't.

#20 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,451 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 October 2012 - 10:55 AM

Ver.3.0.03 Build 3 is the firmware I installed from the Linksys site. I didn't have to reset anything. Super easy.

And it worked. My wireless is functioning perfectly for the first time ever.


Which model of router do you have? I've got the 4200.

Rich





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ethernet cables

spam firewall