Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV HD Channel Anticipation (Official Q2-12 Thread)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1601 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Justin85

Justin85

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2010

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:48 PM

Allan, Pentagon Channel is a non-premium that is not carried.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,661 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 03 April 2012 - 09:20 PM

Get rid of the hundreds of copies of the EXACT same thing multiplied times 4 that's being broadcast half the time on network channels and there would be enough room for every freaking HD channel known to man....:nono2:


Which channels are you talking about? You mean the locals? They don't take up as much room as you think they do, because they use spot beams to distribute them. If you just broadcast one DMA s stations from each time zone nationally, you would not gain to many national transponders. I'm guessing you'd gain a couple transponders, maybe. Remember the space way sats can't do national transponders either.

All the other channels that are duplicates, like the audience network, they are only being broadcast one time, and just showing up n multiple channels.

#53 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,064 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 03 April 2012 - 09:35 PM

Allan, Pentagon Channel is a non-premium that is not carried.


What the frak... :confused:

I believe it was on the list at one time, but for whatever reason, it wasn't again. Good get... :)

I added it.

Which channels are you talking about? You mean the locals? They don't take up as much room as you think they do, because they use spot beams to distribute them. If you just broadcast one DMA s stations from each time zone nationally, you would not gain to many national transponders. I'm guessing you'd gain a couple transponders, maybe. Remember the space way sats can't do national transponders either.

All the other channels that are duplicates, like the audience network, they are only being broadcast one time, and just showing up n multiple channels.


I think he was referring to all the duplicates in syndicated programs...

~Alan

#54 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,916 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 03 April 2012 - 09:53 PM

Which channels are you talking about? You mean the locals? They don't take up as much room as you think they do, because they use spot beams to distribute them. If you just broadcast one DMA s stations from each time zone nationally, you would not gain to many national transponders. I'm guessing you'd gain a couple transponders, maybe. Remember the space way sats can't do national transponders either.

All the other channels that are duplicates, like the audience network, they are only being broadcast one time, and just showing up n multiple channels.

Never mind, can't delete post from my iPad.

#55 OFFLINE   vobguy

vobguy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 06:34 AM

For me, just BBCA-HD.

I have made a firm commitment to myself that I will not watch another season of Doctor Who in SD!

Same here. If Doctor Who had not been HD on Sci Fi , I would not miss it so much, but it is just really dreadful. Perhaps I will order the blu-ray after the season is over.

And this new Hopper from Dish really may push me over the edge to go over to Dish. Will wait and see how that system works, perhaps test drive it at a friend's place. She doesn't record much so she said she would not mind if I recorded a few shows at her place and see how it all works.

#56 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,064 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:51 AM

Same here. If Doctor Who had not been HD on Sci Fi , I would not miss it so much, but it is just really dreadful. Perhaps I will order the blu-ray after the season is over.


"Doctor Who" did not switch to HD until after it moved to BBCA.

~Alan

#57 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,673 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:58 AM

"Doctor Who" did not switch to HD until after it moved to BBCA.

~Alan


That could be true. But I'm not actually worried about that. All I know is that when Doctor Who's next season starts I will be watching it in HD. If D* has BBCA-HD by then I'll probably be with D*. But if they don't, then a switch is definitely going to happen.

Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#58 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,064 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:10 AM

That could be true. But I'm not actually worried about that. All I know is that when Doctor Who's next season starts I will be watching it in HD. If D* has BBCA-HD by then I'll probably be with D*. But if they don't, then a switch is definitely going to happen.


Yeah... I was just replying to vobguy about SciFi. :)

~Alan

#59 OFFLINE   Satelliteracer

Satelliteracer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,042 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:20 PM

:icon_band
DIRECTV employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#60 ONLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,602 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:29 PM

:icon_band

Is this introductory music?
H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.

#61 OFFLINE   seern

seern

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,080 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:45 PM

Naw, just a little straight ahead jazz.
Sharon
HR24-100
HR34-700
All units in DECA cloud
H24-100 removed from service

#62 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,916 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:54 PM

:icon_band

How soon? This month?

#63 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,301 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:02 PM

That must mean H2.

#64 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:04 PM

That must mean H2.


WGNA HD

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#65 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,301 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:09 PM

Funny, I don't think I've ever even noticed we don't get it in HD.

#66 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,408 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:19 PM

Funny, I don't think I've ever even noticed we don't get it in HD.

WGN America was added to DirecTV May 19th, 2010.

#67 OFFLINE   espnjason

espnjason

    Armchair Referee

  • Registered
  • 529 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2008

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:20 PM

CSN Philly and Northwest

Subscribed to DirecTV for NFL Sunday Ticket, remained a subscriber for international football.


#68 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:21 PM

Funny, I don't think I've ever even noticed we don't get it in HD.


It was a joke. SR posted that about the same time they turned it back on. Its been off for about 96 hours.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#69 ONLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,602 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:31 PM

WGN America was added to DirecTV May 19th, 2010.

It was added again today. :lol:
H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.

#70 OFFLINE   Coca Cola Kid

Coca Cola Kid

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,635 posts
  • LocationMt. Morris, MI
Joined: Jul 19, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:40 PM

:icon_band


MTV2? Fuse? GAC? GMC?

DIRECTV customer

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of other DIRECTV customers


My giant list of missing or wrong logos


#71 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,301 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:43 PM

WGN America was added to DirecTV May 19th, 2010.


Yeah, was a bug in my custom list. Must have unchecked it when I set it up to only display HD.

#72 OFFLINE   Coca Cola Kid

Coca Cola Kid

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,635 posts
  • LocationMt. Morris, MI
Joined: Jul 19, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:53 PM

Same here. If Doctor Who had not been HD on Sci Fi , I would not miss it so much, but it is just really dreadful. Perhaps I will order the blu-ray after the season is over.

And this new Hopper from Dish really may push me over the edge to go over to Dish. Will wait and see how that system works, perhaps test drive it at a friend's place. She doesn't record much so she said she would not mind if I recorded a few shows at her place and see how it all works.


Yeah... I was just replying to vobguy about SciFi. :)

~Alan


What's "SciFi"? I think you mean SyFy ™

DIRECTV customer

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of other DIRECTV customers


My giant list of missing or wrong logos


#73 OFFLINE   JoeTheDragon

JoeTheDragon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,333 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2008

Posted 04 April 2012 - 09:48 PM

CSN Philly and Northwest


that would be a BIG News story not a mystery forum post
I want CLTV / CLTV HD on direct tv.

#74 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,553 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:36 PM

WGNA HD


WGN - Alternate

In the event you've already seen the current episode of Matlock, an alternate will be aired in a pillared-lettebox HD format.

Bring it!

#75 OFFLINE   Coca Cola Kid

Coca Cola Kid

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,635 posts
  • LocationMt. Morris, MI
Joined: Jul 19, 2009

Posted 05 April 2012 - 06:17 AM

WGN - Alternate

In the event you've already seen the current episode of Matlock, an alternate will be aired in a pillared-lettebox HD format.

Bring it!


Actually that's called "windowboxed".

DIRECTV customer

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of other DIRECTV customers


My giant list of missing or wrong logos





Protected By... spam firewall...And...