Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

R16 picture tearing


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   AntAltMike

AntAltMike

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,725 posts
  • LocationCollege Park MD (just outside Wash, DC)
Joined: Nov 20, 2004

Posted 25 March 2012 - 09:52 AM

I recently installed an R16 in a multiple dwelling unit with a round dish system that I had designed and installed nearly a decade ago. I see that when I view the picture on RF channel 3, there is partial tearing that seems to occur about once very four or five seconds, but that tearing does not occur when the program is viewed in A/V. The vertical height of the "torn" picture section is less than one quarter of the screen height and may be a good deal smaller than that.

I am going to be disconnecting the DirecTV RF3 connection because the resident wants to be able to simultaneously record two DirecTV shows while viewing one of the 30 analog channels carried on the house system, so the tearing of the RF picture will not cause any immediate problem for him, but is this cause for swapping out the DVR?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,560 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 25 March 2012 - 10:52 AM

Maybe it's a problem with that TV's tuner? What happens if you use Ch4 instead of Ch3?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 25 March 2012 - 11:45 AM

How does the resident switch between Directv (using RF) and the house supplied channels?

Using the composite inputs to the TV for DirecTV is the better way to do this.

I suspect that the DirecTV RF modulator is causing the problem.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#4 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,336 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 25 March 2012 - 12:40 PM

Older TVs also have been known to have this problem on RF input. If the set is very old and has a horizontal hold control you can adjust it out (this would be a very very old set). I have always found it works best to use the compsite or svideo inputs.

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#5 OFFLINE   AntAltMike

AntAltMike

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,725 posts
  • LocationCollege Park MD (just outside Wash, DC)
Joined: Nov 20, 2004

Posted 25 March 2012 - 12:44 PM

How does the resident switch between Directv (using RF) and the house supplied channels?

Using the composite inputs to the TV for DirecTV is the better way to do this.

I suspect that the DirecTV RF modulator is causing the problem.


The DirecTV RF connection is only there at present because I used it while setting up the receiver, before I had unpacked the A/V cables. I will be putting the house channels on the TV tuner input when I go back there today, but I am going to have to advise him on whether to call DirecTV and request a replacement receiver at that time.

In my experience, horizontal sync problems emanating from a modulator or caused by a tuner's attempt to synchronize to the horizontal sync pulses encompass a whole frame, whereas partial frame sync problems emanate earlier in the picture development process.




spam firewall