Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

TV2 Remote on 722K not working


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SDWC

SDWC

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2005

Posted 25 March 2012 - 10:52 AM

Hi All,

I have a 722K running in dual mode with TV2 in an upstairs bedroom. Have had the unit for a little over 2 years, no problems until now. The TV2 remote has begun to behave badly. The power buttons work to turn the TV on and off, and to control the receiver on and off (it will work to turn off and on the TV2 blue button on the 722k).

However, the guide button, channel change, number pad, has basically stopped working. Once out of about evey 20 button pushes it responds but that's it. Batteries are new, verified proper channel on the TV, verified that the SAT button in the upper left corner of the remote is active and illuminates whenever a button is pressed.

Once I do manage to get in on an active channel the picture is fine and signal is strong.

Not sure if the remote has gone bad or if there a suggestions to try. Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   gbeenie

gbeenie

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: May 02, 2012

Posted 25 November 2012 - 11:09 PM

See if it acts differently with TV1 turned on.

#3 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,276 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 26 November 2012 - 10:06 AM

Check that the UHF antenna on the reciever is standing up. It sounds like you might have a signal strength problem between the remote and the box.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,490 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 27 November 2012 - 11:25 PM

Perhaps the contacts on the rubber pad under the buttons need to be cleaned, or just replace the remote for $19.99 from Dish.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#5 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 28 November 2012 - 03:38 AM

First post in this thread is like over 6 months old lol.

#6 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,276 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 28 November 2012 - 03:16 PM

First post in this thread is like over 6 months old lol.


:lol: Just noticed it. Hope s/he solved their problem.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...