Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Two locations; Two dishes; Which receiver?

locals

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cbhpi

cbhpi

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2008

Posted 31 March 2012 - 10:08 AM

I bought a condominium in another city from the one in which I live. I'll be there only about 4 weeks per year. At home, I have a slimline 5 dish, an HR-20, and an HR21. The condominium has RG-59 cabling inside and is serviced by an old round dish for standard def. From the dish to the service entry of the condo, there is RG-6. I want to update the dish for HD reception. The installer says it will be difficult to pull new RG-6 because it is a flat without an attic or crawl space. He says the RG-59 can be used and wants to install a slimline swm dish. Questions: Is the installer correct concerning the RG-59? Assuming he is correct and it will work, will one of my current receivers work at both locations (so I can take it with me to the condo and bring it back home)? If not, which receiver should I buy in order to be able to use it both locations?

Edited by cbhpi, 31 March 2012 - 10:14 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 31 March 2012 - 10:24 AM

With RG6 coming down from the dish, a PI for the SWiM can be placed/connected before it changes to RG59, and it will work, though it will have more loss, but if not too long of a run, it works.
The HR2x both work with a SWiM.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   cbhpi

cbhpi

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2008

Posted 31 March 2012 - 11:20 AM

With RG6 coming down from the dish, a PI for the SWiM can be placed/connected before it changes to RG59, and it will work, though it will have more loss, but if not too long of a run, it works.
The HR2x both work with a SWiM.


Thank you very much! On the outside of my unit, there is a power receptacle that is protected from rain by roof overhang wide enough for a walkway. Is the inserter hardy enough for placement at that location? Also, when using the receiver at the condo, what menu settings, if any, do I need to change at startup?

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 31 March 2012 - 11:36 AM

Thank you very much! On the outside of my unit, there is a power receptacle that is protected from rain by roof overhang wide enough for a walkway. Is the inserter hardy enough for placement at that location? Also, when using the receiver at the condo, what menu settings, if any, do I need to change at startup?

The PI ISN'T made for outside use.
As to the start up, changing from non SWiM to SWiM is almost automatic, as it should sense the signal from the SWiM, but going the other way from a SWiM back to a legacy system, with BBCs can be a real PITA.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   cbhpi

cbhpi

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2008

Posted 31 March 2012 - 11:41 AM

The PI ISN'T made for outside use.
As to the start up, changing from non SWiM to SWiM is almost automatic, as it should sense the signal from the SWiM, but going the other way from a SWiM back to a legacy system, with BBCs can be a real PITA.

Thanks for your help, VOS.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: locals

Protected By... spam firewall...And...