Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Venting - How can a CSR have no clue what an AM21 Off the air Tuner is?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   RobertSeattle

RobertSeattle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 02 April 2012 - 11:44 AM

I replaced a HR20 with a HR34 a few months ago and opted to not get a AM21 at the time since I didn't need the OTA channels for Seattle. But of course now I am hit by the Tribune issue so called DirecTV to hopefully get a free AM21 but after 10 minutes dealing with a clueless CSR (and the "my computer is slow whine") I just bought it from Amazon for $45. So frustrating.

:mad:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   FenixTX

FenixTX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 02 April 2012 - 11:48 AM

You can order one through your online account at directv.com. And it's cheaper than $45.
Go Big Red!!!

#3 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 8,869 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 02 April 2012 - 12:04 PM

There are three for sale right here in the Buy/Sell/Trade forum.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#4 OFFLINE   zimm7778

zimm7778

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,157 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2007

Posted 02 April 2012 - 12:34 PM

You can order one through your online account at directv.com. And it's cheaper than $45.


No it isn't. It's $50 on there.

#5 OFFLINE   RobertSeattle

RobertSeattle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 02 April 2012 - 12:52 PM

I also have Amazon Prime so I can get it in 2 days with no shipping charges.

#6 OFFLINE   FenixTX

FenixTX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 02 April 2012 - 02:47 PM

No it isn't. It's $50 on there.


For some reason I was thinking it was $25. Thanks for the correction.
Go Big Red!!!

#7 OFFLINE   gordo80

gordo80

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2008

Posted 02 April 2012 - 03:08 PM

I replaced a HR20 with a HR34 a few months ago and opted to not get a AM21 at the time since I didn't need the OTA channels for Seattle. But of course now I am hit by the Tribune issue so called DirecTV to hopefully get a free AM21 but after 10 minutes dealing with a clueless CSR (and the "my computer is slow whine") I just bought it from Amazon for $45. So frustrating.

:mad:


They had no clue since I live in San Diego...I just order straight online, but I was trying to get cheaper or free since they are having a dispute and I am missing Fox. The wife was going to be upset if she didn't watch American Idol this week. They gave me the excuse that they couldn't offer the AM21 since they offer the locals in my area. I was very frustrated. I think they should at least give customers a replacement for free or at half price since customers are missing their locals. No right on my opinion.

#8 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 921 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 02 April 2012 - 08:28 PM

contact tribune and see if they will reimburse you
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#9 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,383 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 03 April 2012 - 09:59 AM

Another thing that gripes me about Directv. If you dont have a HDDVR they will not sale you one. They claim that AM21 only works on a HDDVR. The manual says it will, but Directv says it will not. I have 2 friends that have a regular HD reciever and it works fine.
Even on acct management unless you have a HDDVR it will not show up for purchase.

#10 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,880 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 03 April 2012 - 10:06 AM

There are three for sale right here in the Buy/Sell/Trade forum.


Ok, the Viglink is now out of hand. It is making a link from the Buy/Sell/Trade forum and directing it to ebay. :(

#11 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 03 April 2012 - 05:05 PM

Ok, the Viglink is now out of hand. It is making a link from the Buy/Sell/Trade forum and directing it to ebay. :(



There is no link posted Vigilink is creating a url based on that text string.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#12 OFFLINE   awblackmon

awblackmon

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 183 posts
Joined: May 20, 2009

Posted 03 April 2012 - 05:08 PM

The AM-21 will work with a HD non-DVR receiver. I have hooked two up that way on installs.




spam firewall