Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

I Switched to FiOS. Comparing the two providers...


  • Please log in to reply
101 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   grcooperjr

grcooperjr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2008

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:13 PM

I'd love to get me some of that FiOS Internet. Unfortunately I'm surrounded by AT&T U-Verse, which is terrible, both in Video, and Internet.

Well... I'll tell ya the internet is blazing fast. I'm grandfathered in at 30x30 mpbs @ $41 per month. I know one day it will change but I'm enjoying the speed for now....

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   jimbo56

jimbo56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • No PM's
  • 127 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:51 PM

Well... I'll tell ya the internet is blazing fast. I'm grandfathered in at 30x30 mpbs @ $41 per month. I know one day it will change but I'm enjoying the speed for now....


The fact that I had 2+ years of virtually flawless FiOS internet was what got me to get the Triple Play. While FiOS TV has its tradeoffs and drawbacks, I'm reasonably convinced that FiOS internet is about as good as it gets.

#28 OFFLINE   jimbo56

jimbo56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • No PM's
  • 127 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 04 April 2012 - 09:06 PM

Right - that includes fiber in Oregon, Washington, and Indiana. Those were all origially Verizon FiOS systems, and were sold off to Frontier. It's also clear that Frontier really doesn't want to be in the TV business. They not only jacked up the prices on TV services, but they started charging a ridiculous $500 set up fee for new subscribers! And they were giving special deals to have their customers switch to DirecTV. As for stuff all being the same between the two... that's no longer true. Frontier isn't beholden to get all the same HD channels that Verizon has (only most of them) and they're not doing guide updates like Verizon is. At this point they really are two separate systems - right down to control of the VHOs (basically regional cable offices).


OK, so Verizon sold off its FiOS network in certain states and has pretty much said they will stop FiOS expansion. Now I understand that they're making deals with cable companies as well. Kind of makes me wonder what future Verizon sees for FiOS. Will FiOS improve its technology, add more HD channels, or will they try to sell off the whole system or just let it wither away? My pricing is locked in for two years, but if they raise rates like Frontier, I'll go back to DirecTV for sure (and probably get a returning customer promotional rate to go with it).

#29 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 09:09 PM

That $20/mo charge that Verizon gets for each additional DVR is way too steep IMHO. Fortunately the one DVR with Whole-Home capability works fine in my situation.

Around here the 2nd DVR is $12/mo. The $20 one is the "multi-room" and you only need one of those (it's just software). They also are giving multi-room DVR free for life here as long as you keep a triple play package. Offers vary by area and competition.

#30 OFFLINE   skatingrocker17

skatingrocker17

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2010

Posted 04 April 2012 - 09:20 PM

Had a quick test drive with U-verse.

User interface sucked.
Tuning speed was faster, but it should be, since the signals are there just like with FiOS, or any other cable service.
Sat feeds just have a longer chain before you "tune" to the channel. This isn't the SAT, but from the LNB down through your receiver.
On Demand I didn't try, but if the provider owns the connection, there no reason they can't do it faster.


You would think cable boxes would be able to change the channel faster but all of the ones I've had couldn't.

Have you ever tried changing the channel on a Scientific Atlanta 8300 HD, often the best box offered my cable providers.... it's slow. And if you think the UVerse interface sucked.. Time Warner Cable's has looked like this for probably 10 years.... (I got the image on Google). The only advantage they have is more HD, more locals and faster on demand.
Posted Image

Glad to hear your satisfied with your FiOS though, I think most people would have it if it were available to them, I sure would like to try it out.

#31 OFFLINE   bigtom

bigtom

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 136 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 09:28 PM

You would think cable boxes would be able to change the channel faster but all of the ones I've had couldn't.

Have you ever tried changing the channel on a Scientific Atlanta 8300 HD, often the best box offered my cable providers.... it's slow. And if you think the UVerse interface sucked.. Time Warner Cable's has looked like this for probably 10 years.... (I got the image on Google). The only advantage they have is more HD, more locals and faster on demand.

Glad to hear your satisfied with your FiOS though, I think most people would have it if it were available to them, I sure would like to try it out.


Bet I have nightmares tonight after looking at that pic...

#32 OFFLINE   skatingrocker17

skatingrocker17

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2010

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:25 PM

Bet I have nightmares tonight after looking at that pic...


Sadly, not much has changed. Thankfully we have DirecTV, they might have less HD channels (than some cable companies) but their boxes are far better.

Does FiOS have the apps like DirecTV? The DirecTV apps have potential but are poorly implemented in my opinion. I get it though, that have to be made to run on older hardware but they still take a few seconds to load on an HR24.

#33 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:34 PM

I've posted these screen shots b4, but since a few here have asked what the ui llooks like here u go....

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image
HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#34 OFFLINE   jimbo56

jimbo56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • No PM's
  • 127 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 05 April 2012 - 04:14 AM

At least the football game being played matches the information listed in the guide. Here in Buffalo, Sabres games are carried by MSG regionally. When the Sabres play, often the FiOS guide will show the listing for MSG in New York City instead, even though the game is actually on the air here. Another pet peeve with the FiOS guide.

#35 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,198 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 05 April 2012 - 11:14 AM

Had a quick test drive with U-verse.
Find things close to these.
User interface sucked.
Tuning speed was faster, but it should be, since the signals are there just like with FiOS, or any other cable service.
Sat feeds just have a longer chain before you "tune" to the channel. This isn't the SAT, but from the LNB down through your receiver.
On Demand I didn't try, but if the provider owns the connection, there no reason they can't do it faster.

Just did a quick check of my TV changing OTA channels, and my HR24 changing. The HR24 took about 1 second longer.


U-verse suck! I didn't TV service for 14 hours on a Saturday until a tech came. Never again!

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#36 OFFLINE   robl45

robl45

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2004

Posted 05 April 2012 - 01:24 PM

I'm a DTV HSP Tech living in an apartment with no LOS for DTV so I've had FiOS since I moved in here 1 1/2 years ago. Took me a while to adjust to FiOS but the limited dvr space (I hold like 30 hrs) is my only major complaint..

I had a similar intro package to you, until all my yummy first year promotions ran out. The box fees kill you and after the promotion if you are keeping movie channels, you can upgrade to the next package up for a few dollars more a month. My bill is 177-180 / month after taxes and fees and I have on HDDVR and on HD box, and every channel (including redzone) except hbo...

I'll give you a glimpse into your future bill ;)




Oh and you are right about customer service, when my packages switched it took an hour on the phone for them to re-enable some of my ondemand services... and the tech they sent out was a moron, but thats another story...



you could save 30+ a month if you drop the phone service, I had that with uverse, I was paying like 37 dollars a month after taxes and fees. I bought a nettalk box for 70 dollars that includes the first year of service and then its 30 bucks a year, works better than the 37 dollar a month service did. Oh wait, its the same damn internet telephone service. :)

#37 OFFLINE   CurtP

CurtP

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 06 April 2012 - 06:33 AM

My Verizon FiOS experience was awful. I couldn't get away from them fast enough. I had the Motorola 7216 and it was unusable. No way to watch or delete an entire recorded series, it was slow and needed to be rebooted frequently. PQ was really bad - their HD was worse than DirecTV's SD. I had the receiver replaced twice with the same result. Customer service was really bad and my bill was never what it was supposed to be. I had TV/internet bundled package and it was supposed to be $80/mo. It was $130+/mo after they added all their fees and additional charges.

I didn't like their internet service either. Give me an ethernet handoff and let me use my own firewall. They wouldn't let me connect without their POS Actiontec router. If I put it in bridge mode, they'd do a hard reset on it every three days. If I did any port forwarding, they'd reset it every three days. If I deviated from anything other than changing the password, it would be reset every three days. I couldn't do my site-to-site VPN, VoIP would stop working and I had to spend hours on the phone with their (nonexistent) customer service.

#38 OFFLINE   jpl

jpl

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,773 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2006

Posted 06 April 2012 - 09:09 AM

My Verizon FiOS experience was awful. I couldn't get away from them fast enough. I had the Motorola 7216 and it was unusable. No way to watch or delete an entire recorded series, it was slow and needed to be rebooted frequently. PQ was really bad - their HD was worse than DirecTV's SD. I had the receiver replaced twice with the same result. Customer service was really bad and my bill was never what it was supposed to be. I had TV/internet bundled package and it was supposed to be $80/mo. It was $130+/mo after they added all their fees and additional charges.

I didn't like their internet service either. Give me an ethernet handoff and let me use my own firewall. They wouldn't let me connect without their POS Actiontec router. If I put it in bridge mode, they'd do a hard reset on it every three days. If I did any port forwarding, they'd reset it every three days. If I deviated from anything other than changing the password, it would be reset every three days. I couldn't do my site-to-site VPN, VoIP would stop working and I had to spend hours on the phone with their (nonexistent) customer service.


If you believe their HD is worse than DirecTV's SD... then there was something wrong with your setup. Their HD is stunning, and is on par with DirecTV's HD. As for watching/deleting an entire series of recordings... I'm not sure why that would be a make or break (to each his own), but that feature is now in 1.9. Next on the slowness of the hardware - I had the 7216, even with the 1.9 s/w and it's not slow. It's not as fast as the 7232 I now have, and the 6416 I used to have was sluggish under 1.9, but not the 7216. Between that and the constant rebooting, and it's clear you had something wrong with your setup. My boxes rarely reboot - only when Verizon intentionally reboots (they're doing maintenance) which happens occasionally. Beyond that, my DVR may spontaneously reboot once a year.

#39 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,370 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 06 April 2012 - 11:48 AM

I didn't like their internet service either. Give me an ethernet handoff and let me use my own firewall. They wouldn't let me connect without their POS Actiontec router. If I put it in bridge mode, they'd do a hard reset on it every three days. If I did any port forwarding, they'd reset it every three days. If I deviated from anything other than changing the password, it would be reset every three days. I couldn't do my site-to-site VPN, VoIP would stop working and I had to spend hours on the phone with their (nonexistent) customer service.


I've had FiOS TV for six months and FiOS Internet for over two years.

Billing for FiOS TV has been a disaster, but I'm pretty sure it's straightened out with this month's bill. I will agree that Verizon's customer service is pretty poor. I wouldn't quite call it nonexistent as I did eventually get the bill fixed every month.

Absolutely no internet problems with the Actiontec router. I have three computers wirelessly connected plus an iPod Touch, an iPad, and an Android tablet occasionally connected.

FiOS TV HD PQ seems a bit better than DirecTV, but certainly not a deal breaker between the two services. FiOS TV SD PQ, though, is much better than DirecTV. And the remote response on my 7232 HD DVR is much, much faster than I experienced on either of my DirecTV DVR's.

I will give DirecTV credit for better sports coverage. FiOS only offers two HD channels for MLB Extra Innings. The other games are SD. That's not a problem for me since I only watch EI during the free previews. :D
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#40 OFFLINE   jimbo56

jimbo56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • No PM's
  • 127 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 06 April 2012 - 01:01 PM

My Verizon FiOS experience was awful. I couldn't get away from them fast enough. I had the Motorola 7216 and it was unusable. No way to watch or delete an entire recorded series, it was slow and needed to be rebooted frequently. PQ was really bad - their HD was worse than DirecTV's SD. I had the receiver replaced twice with the same result. Customer service was really bad and my bill was never what it was supposed to be. I had TV/internet bundled package and it was supposed to be $80/mo. It was $130+/mo after they added all their fees and additional charges.

I didn't like their internet service either. Give me an ethernet handoff and let me use my own firewall. They wouldn't let me connect without their POS Actiontec router. If I put it in bridge mode, they'd do a hard reset on it every three days. If I did any port forwarding, they'd reset it every three days. If I deviated from anything other than changing the password, it would be reset every three days. I couldn't do my site-to-site VPN, VoIP would stop working and I had to spend hours on the phone with their (nonexistent) customer service.


Have to agree with jpl; somehow your system wasn't set up right. HD PQ on FiOS is every bit as good as on DirecTV, while SD PQ is much better. If you changed boxes then maybe the problem was in the ONT or maybe in the coax somewhere.

I don't know why your bill was so high. Fees and additional charges are less than $10/month on my bill.

As for the Internet, I agree that the Actiontec router is junk, but it is needed for TV service. I have my Actiontec router set as primary and I bridge to an Asus router for my wireless LAN. I use VyprVPN and it works with no problems as well. I had VOIP phone service, but it was cheaper to go with the Triple Play and Verizon Digital Voice. I was even able to keep my VOIP phone number. Other than the minor annoyance of having to dial the area code for every outgoing call, I have no complaints.

Don't know what attempts you made to contact Verizon CS, but if it were me I would've had a tech come out to try to figure out what was wrong before canceling altogether. (Yes, I know all about the problems in getting satisfaction from Verizon CS). If everyone had the problems you've had then Verizon would be out of business. I have to believe that yours is an isolated experience.

#41 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,201 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 06 April 2012 - 01:26 PM

I see these negative comments about the FiOS Actiontec router all the time, so I always steered clear of it.

I had my D-Link DGL-4100 Gigabit router and a separate DAP-2553 n access point and all was great.

When I added FiOS TV last year (Triple Play) for only $10/month more then I was paying for Double Play (Internet/Voice), with a free DVR (7232) for life, I decided to at least give the Actiontec a try, before considering the dual router configurations that were listed over at DSLReports.

I disconnected the D-Link router, I put the Actiontec router in it's place, and I plugged the D-Link DAP-2553 n access point into the Actiontec.

And all has been perfect, not one single issue. Works great, and I have 20+ IP devices in the home.

The Actiontec was actually better because I like the web interface, and it gets regular firmware updates, which the DGL-4100 didn't.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#42 OFFLINE   jimbo56

jimbo56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • No PM's
  • 127 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 06 April 2012 - 09:25 PM

I see these negative comments about the FiOS Actiontec router all the time, so I always steered clear of it.

I had my D-Link DGL-4100 Gigabit router and a separate DAP-2553 n access point and all was great.

When I added FiOS TV last year (Triple Play) for only $10/month more then I was paying for Double Play (Internet/Voice), with a free DVR (7232) for life, I decided to at least give the Actiontec a try, before considering the dual router configurations that were listed over at DSLReports.

I disconnected the D-Link router, I put the Actiontec router in it's place, and I plugged the D-Link DAP-2553 n access point into the Actiontec.

And all has been perfect, not one single issue. Works great, and I have 20+ IP devices in the home.

The Actiontec was actually better because I like the web interface, and it gets regular firmware updates, which the DGL-4100 didn't.


What revision Actiontec router did you get? It's my understanding that only the latest revision is an 802.11n, which is what I really need.

My problem with the Actiontec is lack of range. My ONT is in the basement and the router is near the ONT. The wireless signal from the Actiontec just isn't strong enough to cover my whole house and outdoor seating area; that's why I use the Asus router for wireless.

#43 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,201 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 06 April 2012 - 09:47 PM

What revision Actiontec router did you get? It's my understanding that only the latest revision is an 802.11n, which is what I really need.

My problem with the Actiontec is lack of range. My ONT is in the basement and the router is near the ONT. The wireless signal from the Actiontec just isn't strong enough to cover my whole house and outdoor seating area; that's why I use the Asus router for wireless.

As mentioned, I'm not using the Actiontec wireless, have a D-Link DAP-2553 as the n access point. Same one I had with the D-Link router, it works great. Can be put anywhere in the house with an Ethernet port.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#44 OFFLINE   sangs

sangs

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 410 posts
  • LocationNE New Jersey
Joined: Apr 02, 2008

Posted 07 April 2012 - 06:33 AM

I didn't like their internet service either. Give me an ethernet handoff and let me use my own firewall. They wouldn't let me connect without their POS Actiontec router. If I put it in bridge mode, they'd do a hard reset on it every three days. If I did any port forwarding, they'd reset it every three days. If I deviated from anything other than changing the password, it would be reset every three days. I couldn't do my site-to-site VPN, VoIP would stop working and I had to spend hours on the phone with their (nonexistent) customer service.


You can use your own router if you only use FIOS for internet. Just run a CAT 5 or 6 cable from the ONT to the router of your choice and have them provision it for ethernet over the phone. I haven't used the FIOS router for a couple months now. (You can also use your own with FIOS TV, but you lose some features.)

I went back to D* for TV though when FIOS wouldn't match their offer. And when my deal is up with D*, I'll gladly switch back to FIOS if D* won't match theirs. :) Aside from FIOS customer service not being close to D*'s and FIOS not having nearly as much sports programming, both providers are very similar.

#45 OFFLINE   jimbo56

jimbo56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • No PM's
  • 127 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 07 April 2012 - 10:17 AM

As mentioned, I'm not using the Actiontec wireless, have a D-Link DAP-2553 as the n access point. Same one I had with the D-Link router, it works great. Can be put anywhere in the house with an Ethernet port.


I probably should have given the D-Link consideration before getting the Asus router and using the DSL Reports two router workaround. I am curious, however, as to the wireless performance of the latest revision Actiontec router. If I had gotten one I might not have needed to buy any extra equipment. Needs to be asked in a FiOS forum, however.

#46 OFFLINE   jimbo56

jimbo56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • No PM's
  • 127 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 07 April 2012 - 10:22 AM

You can use your own router if you only use FIOS for internet. Just run a CAT 5 or 6 cable from the ONT to the router of your choice and have them provision it for ethernet over the phone. I haven't used the FIOS router for a couple months now. (You can also use your own with FIOS TV, but you lose some features.)


I did just that when I only had FiOS internet, since I wanted an 802.11n router and the Actiontec I had was only 802.11g with limited wireless range.

You are right: without the Actiontec VOD and CID will not work with FiOS TV (I believe the guide still works, but I'm not 100% certain)

#47 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 07 April 2012 - 10:53 AM

Here are some other screen caps. Fios gives your progress bar the ability to scroll in 6 min intervals, with or without video screen cap. It's nice that fios gives u ample choices, various grid/channel views, as well as 2 diff progress bar types. D* gives you limited choices, which is a shame.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by texasmoose, 07 April 2012 - 09:43 PM.

HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#48 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,860 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 07 April 2012 - 04:24 PM

Here are some other screen caps. Fios gives you the ability to scroll in 6 min intervals with video screen cap too. Nice feature indeed, i wish our D* dvrs had something comparable. 15 min intervals w/no screen cap is kinda of weak.


I are no value to the screen cap. Since they are just time intervals, they mean nothing. I would prefer tick skipping. (I do have a fios dvr. The screen caps did not work for months. I used it the same way as I do with caps.)

They only work on finished recordings. No way to skip to a spot on live buffer or currently recording show.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#49 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,854 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 07 April 2012 - 07:57 PM

That would cost me $240 a month just for DVRs...
Rich

Hmmm, thought you said something different in another thread?

... And I would only pay 4 x $6 = $24/mo for the 5 HR34's. With your 12 HR2x's, you pay 11 x $6 = $66/mo, which is over $500/yr more for your setup...

Wouldn't work. I've got eight Panny plasmas. The money isn't an issue.

Rich


HR34-700, HR22-100

#50 OFFLINE   davidjplatt

davidjplatt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 07 April 2012 - 09:04 PM

There is another option when it comes to FiOS. The Ceton PCIe or USB tuners have dropped to half of their original price - they are now $199 each and have 4 tuners when used with an M-Card cable card. FiOS charges $3.99 a month for an M-Card. I could get two Ceton tuners and put them in two HTPCs and get 8 streams recordable for $7.98 per month. And with the two XBox 360s I have I can use the media extender in the XBox to connect to the HTPCs. You can also share the tuners from the Ceton to another HTPC on the network. So if you had two Ceton tuners and 4 HTPCs you could assign 2 tuners to each PC.

And since I have a Windows Home Server system, all of the recorded programs that are recorded by Media Center are automatically archived to the Home Server and can be accessed by any HTPC or extender on the network.

Right now I am paying $55 for FiOS internet, $34 for Vonage and $156 for DirecTV for HBO, Showtime, Starz/Encore, HD, HD Extra Pack and 4 DVRs with whole home.

FiOS would run about $145 per month plus about $26 in taxes so my monthly cost would drop from $245 to about $71. That's with a multi room DVR free for a year, $8 for an STB and $4 for a cable card. At the end of the year I would return the DVR and STB and get a second cable card. OnDemand or PPV is not an issue for me since I really don't use either on DirecTV. I've used OnDemand a handful of times and done PPV may twice in the late 90's.

The fact that the prices keep going up on DirecTV (I've been with them for 16 years) is a big factor. The sports advantage on DirecTV means nothing to me. The HD channel advantage and channels that FiOS carry that DirecTV doesn't do make a difference to me.

I've had FiOS internet for about 6 years and have had two problems that were Verizon's problems that caused about 4 hours of downtime. I've had ten times as much downtime with DirecTV just for rain fade.

And Verizon phone will definitely be better than Vonage (since I don't make international calls that isn't an issue for me). And I get an internet speed boost on download and a huge bump on upload. My brother had DirecTV before I did and he recently switched to FiOS and loves it - and he's saving a lot of money. The HD picture is definitely better than DirecTV and the SD is far superior.

I'm not saying that Windows Media Center is perfect - but it is a lot farther along than when it started and it's basically just as good as DirecTV's DVRs from what I have seen.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...