Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

I Switched to FiOS. Comparing the two providers...


  • Please log in to reply
101 replies to this topic

#51 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,376 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 07 April 2012 - 09:28 PM

Ahhh the old HTPC argument. That's all great and dandy if you have extra PC crap laying around and extenders in rooms...or you can spend $500+ easy for all the stuff.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 07 April 2012 - 09:47 PM

Right now I am paying $55 for FiOS internet, $34 for Vonage and $156 for DirecTV for HBO, Showtime, Starz/Encore, HD, HD Extra Pack and 4 DVRs with whole home.


You're paying too much!:eek2:

I have Fios Triple Play for < u pay for fios internet/vonage. I pay $79.99 for all my fios services, and free hd dvr(7232 latest version). I pay < than u for D* too, I have everything u do, except no hbo and 1 less dvr & i pay $___.__, nevermind you'll start cursing @ me.:rolleyes:

Edited by texasmoose, 07 April 2012 - 09:56 PM.

HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#53 OFFLINE   davidjplatt

davidjplatt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 08 April 2012 - 05:11 AM

You're paying too much!:eek2:

I have Fios Triple Play for < u pay for fios internet/vonage. I pay $79.99 for all my fios services, and free hd dvr(7232 latest version). I pay < than u for D* too, I have everything u do, except no hbo and 1 less dvr & i pay $___.__, nevermind you'll start cursing @ me.:rolleyes:


My FiOS internet is 30/5 service that has been the same price for 6 years. At the time, $55 a month for 30/5 service was a bargain (regular price was $139/month). Vonage keeps going up - it started at $26.25 (24.95 + tax) and the taxes and fees keep going up - now to $35 a month.

DirecTV keeps raising prices like the DVR fee, additional receiver fee, package fee, premium fees... I could go on an on.

I'll be honest - the one thing that has kept me with DirecTV was the DVRs that DirecTV has. The original FiOS DVRs were crap (both software and hardware), only did 20hrs of HD recordning and were overpriced. The deal right now is a Multi Room DVR and STB for $8 a month for the first year with the triple play (which gives me 35/35 internet instead of 30/5). The high cost of the Ceton 4 tuner cards when they first came out was a deterrrent. But now that 2 Ceton tuners cost the same as the original we are definitely in the ballpark. I'm paying $12 a month for the 2 DirecTV DVRs that a single Ceton card would replace plus $8 a month for the DVR service. That $20 charge would be reduced to $4 a month for the cable card. That gives me 4 tuners at a savings of $16 per month. In month 13 the first Ceton card would go positive in value with the savings of $208.

I'm sure you pay less than I do for DirecTV if you are still in your first pricing period - but watch out after that. The prices will go up and you will get no love from DirecTV. Fortunately I'm out of contract and haven't gotten new equipment from them in over 3 years so I can leave with $0 ETF.

Part of the aggravation with DirecTV is how slow the DVRs have gotten - some times it takes 2 or 3 monutes to get the DVRs to respond to the remote control correctly. They get so slow that when I type in 3 numbers to change channels it loses numbers or delays so long between numbers that it inserts an "enter" command and tries to change to a non-existent channel. When the guide is up it can take 90 seconds for the channel down button to scroll a page in the guide.

I also have a bad taste in my mouth from the failed DirecTV USB tuner for PCs. They sucked me into a beta program with Microsoft waiting for delivery of the DirecTV hardware which never came - and I was already in the beta program for about 10 weeks when they finally admitted the DirecTV hardware had been shelved. Then MS couldn't understand why I wanted to drop out of the beta program...

#54 OFFLINE   davidjplatt

davidjplatt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 08 April 2012 - 05:16 AM

Ahhh the old HTPC argument. That's all great and dandy if you have extra PC crap laying around and extenders in rooms...or you can spend $500+ easy for all the stuff.


The fact that I would be able to control the software that does the DVR functions is enough reason for me to use an HTPC. I already have two HTPCs for OTA and the extenders for that too. Two HTPCs (Intel 2500K's so they certainly have the power) on a gigabit network with two XBox 360s gives me all the connectivity I need.

And the software is at least as friendly as DirecTVs HR20 line of DVRs (which is what I have) and a whole lot more responsive.

#55 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 08 April 2012 - 01:03 PM

Here's another point that favors Fios, no rain fade. We had a big thunderstorm move through a hour ago or so, turned on D*, searching for signal, toggled to fios, good-to-go. It's nice to have a back-up, we're very fortunate.
HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#56 OFFLINE   SteveHas

SteveHas

    Hall of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,023 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2007

Posted 08 April 2012 - 01:37 PM

This has been fascinating and great reading.
First off let me say I have been very happy with D* for many years.
I have also been with Verizon internet since the DSL days and have to say it has been rock solid, and reliable, my FiOs service even more so.

Verizon billing is a nightmare, my current double play bundle with cell phone service has been nothing short of a horror show. In fact for 20+ years I cannot make Verizon spell my last name properly.

As far as my CS experience, it has been great with both companies. Honestly both companies have had issues on that point as well.

I do not want to leave D*, but I stand to save $60.00 a month if I switch.

In this economy, I am having a hard time walking away from that.

D* Customer Since 1999

  • Dish
  • Slimline-3 SWiM 16, 
    Familyroom
  • DirecTV HR44-700  
  • Panasonic 55" TC-P55GT50 plasma HDMI/ DECA, CAT6, OTA
  • Nintendo Wii,
  • Panasonic DMP-BDT220 Blu-Ray, CAT6
  • Pioneer VSX-1120 7.1 CAT6,
  • Cambridge Sound Works Ensemble 1 - front, S300 - surround back, Center Stage - center, Polk RM7 - surround side, and Bass Cube 8
    Master Bedroom
  • DirecTV HR24-500 
  • Vizio 37" SV370XVT LCD HDMI/DECA, CAT6 - can I just take a moment to say how awesome this TV is
  • Sony BDP-BX3B Blu-Ray, CAT6
    Basement
  • Samsung 52" LNT5271 FX LCD HDMI/DECA, CAT 6, OTA
  • Sony PS3,
  • Denon AVR 2108, KEF C40
    Son's Room
  • Vizio 42" E3D420 VX LCD HDMI/DECA, CAT 6, OTA
    Network
  • Linksys EA4500 802.11N Gigabit router
  • 2 - D-Link DGS-1008G Gigabit switches
  • DirecTV Home Cinema Connection
  • DirecTV GenieGo
  • ISP: Verizon FiOs Quantum 50/35
  • Dell Studio 540 Quad Core Q8200 64 Bit, Cat6
  • 64 bit Windows 8 Home Premium w/ Windows Media Center, 8 gigs RAM, PlayOn
  • HP DV6-1243CLB Core 2 Duo T6600, 802.11N
  • 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium, 4 gigs RAM
  • Compaq Presario SR1650NX AMD 64, Cat6
  • 64 bit Windows 8 Home Premium w/ Windows Media Center, 6 gigs RAM
  • Apple Mac Mini Intel processor, 802.11N
  • Snow Leopard, 2 gigs RAM
  • iPhone 5S
  • iPad 2
  • Both iOS 8.1
  • 3879075488.png

 


#57 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 08 April 2012 - 02:04 PM

If you're into sports, Fios just doesn't' compare to D*, a gr8 example is their current "Masters" coverage, many hd channels, 3d & a HD Mix channel. Very nice indeed!
HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#58 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 08 April 2012 - 02:07 PM

Verizon billing is a nightmare.


That's an understatement:eek2:, CSR's aren't gr8 either, D* easily has the better customer service of the 2, imo.
HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#59 OFFLINE   CurtP

CurtP

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 09 April 2012 - 11:16 AM

Have to agree with jpl; somehow your system wasn't set up right. HD PQ on FiOS is every bit as good as on DirecTV, while SD PQ is much better. If you changed boxes then maybe the problem was in the ONT or maybe in the coax somewhere.

I don't know why your bill was so high. Fees and additional charges are less than $10/month on my bill.

As for the Internet, I agree that the Actiontec router is junk, but it is needed for TV service. I have my Actiontec router set as primary and I bridge to an Asus router for my wireless LAN. I use VyprVPN and it works with no problems as well. I had VOIP phone service, but it was cheaper to go with the Triple Play and Verizon Digital Voice. I was even able to keep my VOIP phone number. Other than the minor annoyance of having to dial the area code for every outgoing call, I have no complaints.

Don't know what attempts you made to contact Verizon CS, but if it were me I would've had a tech come out to try to figure out what was wrong before canceling altogether. (Yes, I know all about the problems in getting satisfaction from Verizon CS). If everyone had the problems you've had then Verizon would be out of business. I have to believe that yours is an isolated experience.

There may have been an issue with the install. The guy who came out was a real bitch. He kept trying to piece together all the old cable TV coax. I asked him to run a new line, which he didn't want to do. It didn't make sense to use the old stuff since it didn't go into the closet where I wanted it. He wanted to run it into the spare bedroom, around the baseboard, then punch through into the living room closet instead of running one cable around the outside of the house and into the closet through an existing hole. He ended up running the new cable, but he was in a real huff about it, which is probably why he took the remote with him. When he was done, he threw the welcome package on the top shelf in the closet, grabbed the remote, mumbled something and ran out the door. That was the highlight of my Verizon experience, and it went downhill from there.

The ONT was new, the cabling was new. The neighbor had it for a while too and went to Cox for many of the same complaints I had (poor PQ, slow receivers, bad CS). Maybe there was something else going on in our neighborhood.

I can't use the Actiontec router. I need to have an external, routable address on my firewall for StS VPN access. I haven't had any other provider decline the request, but Verizon flat out refused - numerous times.

#60 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,952 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 09 April 2012 - 03:28 PM

There may have been an issue with the install. The guy who came out was a real bitch. He kept trying to piece together all the old cable TV coax. I asked him to run a new line, which he didn't want to do. It didn't make sense to use the old stuff since it didn't go into the closet where I wanted it. He wanted to run it into the spare bedroom, around the baseboard, then punch through into the living room closet instead of running one cable around the outside of the house and into the closet through an existing hole. He ended up running the new cable, but he was in a real huff about it, which is probably why he took the remote with him. When he was done, he threw the welcome package on the top shelf in the closet, grabbed the remote, mumbled something and ran out the door. That was the highlight of my Verizon experience, and it went downhill from there.

The ONT was new, the cabling was new. The neighbor had it for a while too and went to Cox for many of the same complaints I had (poor PQ, slow receivers, bad CS). Maybe there was something else going on in our neighborhood.

I can't use the Actiontec router. I need to have an external, routable address on my firewall for StS VPN access. I haven't had any other provider decline the request, but Verizon flat out refused - numerous times.


To be fair, their install is a bitch itself. It really is a rigged together piece of crap that if it works right gives you great internet and great TV PQ. But so much can go wrong and a lot of it did for my install. It took three days to get everything right. Not only do you have multiple paths of data that have to talk to each other, but there are multiple databases at the home office that have to be aligned right.

Mine was complicated because it was in a multi-family dwelling (condo) so it was partially installed, which the fios databases did not seem to like at all.

Mine is still not perfect. I get data drops and issues with On Demand at times but trying to get anything fixed with fios is a nightmare because there are so many points of failure.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#61 OFFLINE   bobcamp1

bobcamp1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 09 April 2012 - 05:21 PM

I can't use the Actiontec router. I need to have an external, routable address on my firewall for StS VPN access. I haven't had any other provider decline the request, but Verizon flat out refused - numerous times.


For a static IP, you need the business plan.

If you don't need a static IP, you can set up the Actiontec as a bridge to the router you want to use. That's not officially supported by Verizon, but there are enough tutorials on the Web on how to do it.

You need the Actiontec router to work as a MoCA router and bridge to the Ethernet. The backs of the FIOS boxes don't have an Ethernet jack, but they all have MoCA built-in.

#62 OFFLINE   CurtP

CurtP

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 10 April 2012 - 07:11 AM

To be fair, their install is a bitch itself. It really is a rigged together piece of crap that if it works right gives you great internet and great TV PQ. But so much can go wrong and a lot of it did for my install. It took three days to get everything right. Not only do you have multiple paths of data that have to talk to each other, but there are multiple databases at the home office that have to be aligned right.

Mine was fairly straightforward. Both the receiver and router were going into the same closet, so it was just one cable that had to be run. The guy was trying to do it as quickly as possible - he wanted to get the hell out of there. He was over two hours past my appointment window, never bothered calling and didn't want to reschedule. In the end it wasn't the best job, but it wasn't terrible either.


For a static IP, you need the business plan.

If you don't need a static IP, you can set up the Actiontec as a bridge to the router you want to use. That's not officially supported by Verizon, but there are enough tutorials on the Web on how to do it.

You need the Actiontec router to work as a MoCA router and bridge to the Ethernet. The backs of the FIOS boxes don't have an Ethernet jack, but they all have MoCA built-in.

I didn't need a static IP, just a routable one. And I did set it up on bridge mode - a bunch of times. But Verizon would hard reset the router within three days when I configured it.

My STB had an ethernet connection on the back and I used it. When in bridge mode, I forwarded the required ports and it worked fine. Until they reset the Actiontec. Which one doesn't have an ethernet port? All the ones I've ever seen do. You don't even need coax - the whole system can run over ethernet, which is the way I wanted to do it.

#63 OFFLINE   DawgLink

DawgLink

    Woof Woof Woof

  • Registered
  • 1,543 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Posted 10 April 2012 - 04:54 PM

That's an understatement:eek2:, CSR's aren't gr8 either, D* easily has the better customer service of the 2, imo.


I don't disagree about Verizon AND I am happy with DirecTV....but DirecTV can be a nightmare as well....as has been documented here....a million plus times.

#64 OFFLINE   jimbo56

jimbo56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • No PM's
  • 127 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 12 April 2012 - 03:26 PM

I cancelled my DirecTV service a week and a half ago. Guess what comes in the mail today? My first "We Want You Back" letter! I guess I can expect to see them every week now...

#65 OFFLINE   CurtP

CurtP

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 12 April 2012 - 06:18 PM

I cancelled my DirecTV service a week and a half ago. Guess what comes in the mail today? My first "We Want You Back" letter! I guess I can expect to see them every week now...


Are you under contract with Verizon? Thankfully I wasn't and was able to take advantage of a pretty good deal going back to DirecTV.

#66 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,405 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 13 April 2012 - 11:33 AM

I cancelled my DirecTV service a week and a half ago. Guess what comes in the mail today? My first "We Want You Back" letter! I guess I can expect to see them every week now...


No, the letters should taper off. I got two or three initially after I quit last October but nothing lately.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#67 OFFLINE   jpl

jpl

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,776 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2006

Posted 14 April 2012 - 12:51 PM

I will give DirecTV credit for better sports coverage. FiOS only offers two HD channels for MLB Extra Innings. The other games are SD. That's not a problem for me since I only watch EI during the free previews. :D

For what it's worth, Verizon just added 4 more HD feeds for MLB EI. They're in the process of migrating to mpeg-4, which is how those additional feeds have been set up.

They're about to start migrating some of their current HD channels over to mpeg-4 as well, to make more room. Just FYI.

#68 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,405 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:41 PM

For what it's worth, Verizon just added 4 more HD feeds for MLB EI. They're in the process of migrating to mpeg-4, which is how those additional feeds have been set up.

They're about to start migrating some of their current HD channels over to mpeg-4 as well, to make more room. Just FYI.


The extra HD channels were not available on FiOS for the free preview customers. Fortunately the FiOS SD PQ is fairly good.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#69 OFFLINE   fireponcoal

fireponcoal

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 745 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2009

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:50 PM

Very glad to see the transition to mpeg4.

#70 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,952 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 04:23 PM

For what it's worth, Verizon just added 4 more HD feeds for MLB EI. They're in the process of migrating to mpeg-4, which is how those additional feeds have been set up.

They're about to start migrating some of their current HD channels over to mpeg-4 as well, to make more room. Just FYI.


We can hope but I have not heard anything beyond MLB EI for mpeg-4 for fios as yet. Where did you hear that? It would be good news for fios customers.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#71 OFFLINE   jpl

jpl

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,776 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2006

Posted 16 April 2012 - 10:10 AM

We can hope but I have not heard anything beyond MLB EI for mpeg-4 for fios as yet. Where did you hear that? It would be good news for fios customers.


Yeah, there are plans in the works. They're about to convert some of their other channels. I won't say where I heard this, or which channels, though. I promised I wouldn't.

#72 OFFLINE   dcowboy7

dcowboy7

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,683 posts
  • LocationPequannock, NJ
Joined: May 22, 2008

Posted 16 April 2012 - 10:40 AM

Yeah, there are plans in the works. They're about to convert some of their other channels.

I won't say where I heard this

or which channels, though. I promised I wouldn't.


I won't say where I heard this = @ dslreports

or which channels = the .tv channels

#73 OFFLINE   jpl

jpl

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,776 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2006

Posted 16 April 2012 - 10:55 AM

I won't say where I heard this = @ dslreports

or which channels = the .tv channels


Actually... I'd heard more than that. But yes, I did see that thread on dslreports. There are other plans in the works, though.

#74 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,952 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 16 April 2012 - 11:08 AM

I won't say where I heard this = @ dslreports

or which channels = the .tv channels


The useless .tv channels.

You forgot that word.

:)
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#75 OFFLINE   dmurphy

dmurphy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,682 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 16 April 2012 - 11:20 AM

I switched to FiOS when I moved last year.

The net-net?

I miss DirecTV. The DirecTV+ DVR's are far superior. Much easier to use, much smoother.

Now, having said that...

My total FiOS bill (25/25 Internet, 2 phone lines, FiOS TV, 3 DVR's, 1 HD STB, 1 SD STB, lifetime "multi room dvr") is $151/month.

When I had DirecTV, my bill was $130/mo... and then another $100/mo for Internet + phone from Cablevision.

So, I miss DirecTV... but having an extra $1,000/year in my pocket more than balances it out.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...