Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S207 Software Experiences/Bugs Discuss


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,365 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 09 April 2012 - 04:53 PM

Default priority of lowest for new timers instead of highest.

Menu - Settings - DVR Timer Defaults.
Can be set to highest or lowest priority.

When you set the timer you can scroll through the priority in the bottom box.

For PTAT: record date, time and channel displayed, preferablly on the icon or at least in the banner description.

I see that in the banner description on my receiver.

Edited by Stewart Vernon, 09 April 2012 - 06:47 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   rgranberry

rgranberry

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2012

Posted 09 April 2012 - 05:27 PM

Menu - Settings - DVR Timer Defaults.
Can be set to highest or lowest priority.

When you set the timer you can scroll through the priority in the bottom box.

For PTAT: record date, time and channel displayed, preferablly on the icon or at least in the banner description.

I see that in the banner description on my receiver.


Thanks James. That's one menu item that I hadn't ben into. DOH !

On PTAT icon banner, with no folders, i see date, channel, but not time. With folders by network, banner shows length and origninal air date. And the icons on "my recordings" are completely different. Info displayed is variable depending on where you are. (lots of different people working on the software)

Edited by Stewart Vernon, 09 April 2012 - 06:47 PM.


#43 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,365 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 09 April 2012 - 09:14 PM

On PTAT icon banner, with no folders, i see date, channel, but not time. With folders by network, banner shows length and origninal air date. And the icons on "my recordings" are completely different. Info displayed is variable depending on where you are. (lots of different people working on the software)

In context when you are looking "by network" you know what channel the show was recorded on (your designated affiliate). Show name, episode title, length and original air date plus show genre and description.

Folders by title adds the channel (which was assumed "by network") and rating.

Folders by genre is weird at the folder level ... point to a genre and the episode title and information for the latest show in that genre are shown. But once the folder is opened everything is there except rating.

No folders is same info as "by title" (with rating) but no grouping.

I don't believe different people are working on the different viewing options ... they just show in different context.

#44 OFFLINE   n-spring

n-spring

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 16 April 2012 - 09:00 PM

I reported this same problem over on support.dish.com ...

Playback of recorded programming is accelerated causing an hour long program to terminate after about 40 or 45 minutes. If I pause a program to get time remaining, resume playback for about 5 seconds, then pause again, the time remaining is 15 to 20 seconds less instead of the 5 seconds I would expect. This real time playback "dilation" doesn't seem to happen with saved PTAT programs, only with programs recorded with timers I have set up.
DISH subscriber since March 2012
1000.2 HD dish antenna with Solo Node
Living room: XiP813 Hopper (S238) to Visio XVT553SV via HDMI; connected to 100Base-TX LAN
Home theatre: XiP110 Joey (S286) to Anthem Statement D2 via HDMI, then to Panasonic TC-P65VT50 via HDMI
Bedroom: XiP110 Joey (S286) to Sony KDL-26M3000 via HDMI
Internet access: Comcast 10Mb/s; Dynamic IP; NAT on Linksys E3200 router

#45 OFFLINE   PDSchweitzer

PDSchweitzer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:43 AM

Is this update suppose to allow for 2 Hoppers to share content or has that update already happened?

#46 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 17 April 2012 - 01:14 PM

Is this update suppose to allow for 2 Hoppers to share content or has that update already happened?


soon

#47 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,753 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 17 April 2012 - 01:22 PM

soon


no early then Summer ... what year ? who knows ...

#48 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 892 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 17 April 2012 - 03:48 PM

no early then Summer ... what year ? who knows ...


"TV Everywhere".......the "Extender".....coming soon......4/10/2010
Thank you and
Best of luck

#49 OFFLINE   jdskycaster

jdskycaster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 272 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2008

Posted 18 April 2012 - 07:59 AM

Anyone else getting very intermittent 1-2 second audio dropouts? I am getting this but they are very intermittent (1 or 2 times a show for a couple seconds each time) and are not related to either of my Hoppers or a single Joey. So far it can happen on any of them. This is not a huge problem since they are few and far between but I did not have this with any of my previous VIP DVR's at the same locations.

#50 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 481 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 18 April 2012 - 09:13 AM

I noticed 5 or 6 of the audio drop outs you describe during last nights airing of "The Voice" on my 722.

#51 OFFLINE   jdskycaster

jdskycaster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 272 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2008

Posted 18 April 2012 - 02:45 PM

I noticed 5 or 6 of the audio drop outs you describe during last nights airing of "The Voice" on my 722.

Thanks for reporting. That is when I noticed them last night as well.

#52 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,753 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 April 2012 - 06:32 PM

Could someone check - what's new in today's 'silent' update ? Apps ?

#53 OFFLINE   broeddog

broeddog

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2009

Posted 18 April 2012 - 07:48 PM

It looks like Pandora, Facebook, Blackjack, and maybe Photo sharing.

#54 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,753 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 April 2012 - 07:56 PM

It looks like Pandora, Facebook, Blackjack, and maybe Photo sharing.


Anything remarkable ?

#55 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 892 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 18 April 2012 - 08:23 PM

Anything remarkable ?

There are reports of S208 going out Thursday at midnight to 5000 Hoppers, S260 to Joeys. Possibly to do with the EHD issues but who knows.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#56 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,365 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 18 April 2012 - 10:09 PM

It looks like Pandora, Facebook, Blackjack, and maybe Photo sharing.

Photo sharing was there before, but the others are new. Silently under S207.

#57 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,753 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 April 2012 - 10:26 PM

There are reports of S208 going out Thursday at midnight to 5000 Hoppers, S260 to Joeys. Possibly to do with the EHD issues but who knows.


Perhaps again will be pushed to 'backyard' spool - 129W ...

#58 OFFLINE   n-spring

n-spring

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:00 AM

I discovered I had a zero length recording from Friday night. I checked the daily schedule from Friday. The timer fired and ended at the correct time, recording started and ended at the correct time, and yet, when trying to play back the recording, it ended immediately.
DISH subscriber since March 2012
1000.2 HD dish antenna with Solo Node
Living room: XiP813 Hopper (S238) to Visio XVT553SV via HDMI; connected to 100Base-TX LAN
Home theatre: XiP110 Joey (S286) to Anthem Statement D2 via HDMI, then to Panasonic TC-P65VT50 via HDMI
Bedroom: XiP110 Joey (S286) to Sony KDL-26M3000 via HDMI
Internet access: Comcast 10Mb/s; Dynamic IP; NAT on Linksys E3200 router

#59 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 27 April 2012 - 06:21 AM

I had the oddest thing last night: the Joey was 'online' but not. I could view the guide, and change channels, but no video. Couldn't play from the DVR either. Had to reboot the Hopper to bring it back.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.





spam firewall