Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

E! HD


  • Please log in to reply
256 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   ATARI

ATARI

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,876 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:07 PM

And I continue to wait for BBC HD...

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:30 PM

I do not know if there is any truth to this, but I read elsewhere, that the reason that DirecTV is adding E! HD is that NBCUniversal has required them to add it in order to be able to broadcast all of their Olympic coverage. Perhaps some of you might know if there is any validity to that.

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


#28 OFFLINE   Casey21

Casey21

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 197 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 02:44 PM

Why does DTV always pick channels that aren't that popular? E, Tru TV, what about TCM, TV Land, DIY, etc? I would even take QVC over Tru TV....


+1
Home Theater
HR24-200
65 in. Panasonic Plasma VT50
Yamaha RX-A810
Panasonic Blu-ray DMPBDT220

Great Room
HR23-700
46 in. Sharp Aquos LCD
Yamaha RXV-671
Roku-XD

Bedroom
HR20-700
36 in. Sharp Aquos LCD

#29 OFFLINE   jtbell

jtbell

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2008

Posted 11 April 2012 - 03:36 PM

Why does DTV always pick channels that aren't that popular? E, Tru TV, what about TCM, TV Land, DIY, etc? I would even take QVC over Tru TV....


$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

any questions?

#30 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,612 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 03:44 PM

Why does DTV always pick channels that aren't that popular? E, Tru TV, what about TCM, TV Land, DIY, etc? I would even take QVC over Tru TV....


They add channels as deals are reached. At times, you have a parent company that owns multiple channels and the channels DirecTV doesn't carry won't get added (or considered) until that retrans deal is up for renegotiation.

It's about far more than potential revenue or popularity. Folks tend to dramatically oversimplify the process.

#31 OFFLINE   Barcthespark

Barcthespark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 390 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:47 PM

Companies modify contracts all the time without waiting for the existing contract to end.

#32 OFFLINE   ChicagoBlue

ChicagoBlue

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2011

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:48 PM

+1


Which channels did they skip over and not launch that are so much more popular? Certainly not BBCA. Most certainly not TCM or Lifetime Movie Network.


Imagine when I woke up this morning to see DTV is adding another HD channel and the all the griping, bitching, complaining from those here about which channel they were launching. I was nearly knocked over by a feather from the shock.

All of the popular channels are already launched. We're into the weeds, the tier 2 and tier 3 channels right now. DTV has always known this and with limited bandwidth, you don't go crazy launching HD for stuff very few care about or watch.

E! was probably the correct next step based on ratings and subscribers (what base packages are penetrated). BBCA is much further down that list.

#33 OFFLINE   ChicagoBlue

ChicagoBlue

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2011

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:48 PM

Companies modify contracts all the time without waiting for the existing contract to end.


Not if they aren't allowed to. That would be a breach of contract.

#34 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,612 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:51 PM

Companies modify contracts all the time without waiting for the existing contract to end.


Content and service providers? Not so much.
DTV = Digital Television

#35 OFFLINE   ChicagoBlue

ChicagoBlue

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2011

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:51 PM

Next Wednesday is not April 25. It's April 18.

I welcome all basic-cable channels in HD. (DirecTV has lots of catching up to do.)




And other providers have lots of catching up to do with DTV on HD Sports. That's why I have DTV, that's what I care about, not adding the dregs of channels in HD that a few others have but lack any of the sports I want.

#36 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:53 PM

Companies modify contracts all the time without waiting for the existing contract to end.


I believe you meant to use the word renegotiate in place of modify.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#37 OFFLINE   Barcthespark

Barcthespark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 390 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:55 PM

I should have been more clear. I didn't mean for one side to unilaterally modify the contract (which would definitely void the contract). By "modify the contract" I meant when both companies agree to renegotiate a single item or portion of the contract without renegotiating the entire contract, because it would benefit both parties. It happens all the time in the business world.

#38 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,612 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:58 PM

I should have been more clear. I didn't mean for one side to unilaterally modify the contract (which would definitely void the contract). By "modify the contract" I meant when both companies agree to renegotiate a single item or portion of the contract without renegotiating the entire contract, because it would benefit both parties. It happens all the time in the business world.


In some portions of the business world, yes.
DTV = Digital Television

#39 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:59 PM

... HD Sports. That's why I have DTV, that's what I care about


And DirecTv loves you and your wallet. Since you already have just about every sports channel known to man, and some that must have been put on the air just to get $$$ from DirecTv, perhaps it is time for some of those non-sports channel add ons. E! is a start. Wouldnt have been my first, of even 8th choice, but its a start.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#40 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 11 April 2012 - 07:22 PM

I think its funny how people are mad they added a new channel in HD but not the one they watch. Did it ever cross your mind that you didnt watch that channel because it was in SD??

You would be surprised at how many people would watch DIY, military channel, G4 if they were in HD
Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#41 OFFLINE   TomK

TomK

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 371 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2010

Posted 11 April 2012 - 07:27 PM

I just want my DVRs back to a reasonable performance level so it won't take 1 minute to change to ALL of the new HD channels.

#42 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,927 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 07:29 PM

I think its funny how people are mad they added a new channel in HD but not the one they watch. Did it ever cross your mind that you didnt watch that channel because it was in SD??

You would be surprised at how many people would watch DIY, military channel, G4 if they were in HD


Some would hope just to have G4 in SD.

#43 OFFLINE   MaxxFlash

MaxxFlash

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2008

Posted 11 April 2012 - 09:33 PM

Well I for one am very happy with E! HD finally lighting up! Love me THE SOUP and CHELSEA LATELY; E News would be good too. Plus those damn Cardassians! :)

#44 OFFLINE   LCDSpazz

LCDSpazz

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 11 April 2012 - 10:28 PM

Kind of alarmed that they're now starting to put 6 channels on each transponder. If more HD channels means decreased quality for all the existing ones, I'd rather they stop adding them until they get more capacity.

#45 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 11 April 2012 - 10:30 PM

Kind of alarmed that they're now starting to put 6 channels on each transponder.


Given the statistical muxing, and compression used, you will never be able to tell the difference.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#46 OFFLINE   Satelliteracer

Satelliteracer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,042 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 11 April 2012 - 10:35 PM

Kind of alarmed that they're now starting to put 6 channels on each transponder. If more HD channels means decreased quality for all the existing ones, I'd rather they stop adding them until they get more capacity.


Non issue. Newer technologies allows for this to be done without signal degradation. If this was a 4 or 5 years ago, you might be right to be concerned but not with the new stuff.
DIRECTV employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#47 OFFLINE   djrobx

djrobx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 505 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2009

Posted 11 April 2012 - 11:32 PM

Non issue. Newer technologies allows for this to be done without signal degradation. If this was a 4 or 5 years ago, you might be right to be concerned but not with the new stuff.

No disrespect, but that's exactly the argument AT&T made a few years ago with regards to cramming HD channels down small VDSL pipes. Years have passed and AT&T is now regarded as one of the worst in terms of picture quality because there are limits to what you can do with MPEG-4 compression and be backwards compatible with all those set tops you've deployed into the field.

That said, I'm tired of horrible SD on channels I want to watch. I would rather watch U-verse's DIY HD than the garbage SD I get from DirecTV. HD-lite is fine with certain types of content. I don't watch sports at all and it's high time DirecTV give some attention to the rest of us.

#48 OFFLINE   luckydob

luckydob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 451 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 11 April 2012 - 11:40 PM

No disrespect, but that's exactly the argument AT&T made a few years ago with regards to cramming HD channels down small VDSL pipes. Years have passed and AT&T is now regarded as one of the worst in terms of picture quality because there are limits to what you can do with MPEG-4 compression and be backwards compatible with all those set tops you've deployed into the field.

That said, I'm tired of horrible SD on channels I want to watch. I would rather watch U-verse's DIY HD than the garbage SD I get from DirecTV. HD-lite is fine with certain types of content. I don't watch sports at all and it's high time DirecTV give some attention to the rest of us.


At&t is not DirecTV. Satellite is not VDSL. A few years ago is not today...

#49 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 11 April 2012 - 11:44 PM

You are confusing mpeg2 (DirecTv SD content) with mpeg4 (DirecTv HD content). AT&T isnt using statistical multiplexers, they are using limit bandwidth IP channels, then just throwing whatever they think fits into it. Big difference.

HD-Lite is totally unrelated to this, as it is the practice of actually physically reducing the resolution of the original content (and what makes DirecTv SD look so bad). DirecTv is not doing HDLITE. They are, however, doing SD Lite.

Comcast, which I believe uses HITS (headend in the sky), has up to 9 HD channels on some of the transponders I have counted, and those channels looks just fine on my Xfinity box even after being decoded, reencoded in mpeg2 and sent through several amplifiers to my house.

I would imagine with the advances in CPU power, and memory speed in the last 4 and 5 years, as Satracer mentions, probably really improved the speed and amount of computations the statmux's are capable of handling. Add to that the fact that the original content on MOST fast moving mpeg4 is in 720p, which uses less bandwidth to begin with, and I stand by my opinion you would not be able to tell the difference between 5 or 6 HD channels per transponder.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#50 OFFLINE   LCDSpazz

LCDSpazz

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 12 April 2012 - 12:29 AM

You are confusing mpeg2 (DirecTv SD content) with mpeg4 (DirecTv HD content). AT&T isnt using statistical multiplexers, they are using limit bandwidth IP channels, then just throwing whatever they think fits into it. Big difference.

HD-Lite is totally unrelated to this, as it is the practice of actually physically reducing the resolution of the original content (and what makes DirecTv SD look so bad). DirecTv is not doing HDLITE. They are, however, doing SD Lite.

Comcast, which I believe uses HITS (headend in the sky), has up to 9 HD channels on some of the transponders I have counted, and those channels looks just fine on my Xfinity box even after being decoded, reencoded in mpeg2 and sent through several amplifiers to my house.

I would imagine with the advances in CPU power, and memory speed in the last 4 and 5 years, as Satracer mentions, probably really improved the speed and amount of computations the statmux's are capable of handling. Add to that the fact that the original content on MOST fast moving mpeg4 is in 720p, which uses less bandwidth to begin with, and I stand by my opinion you would not be able to tell the difference between 5 or 6 HD channels per transponder.


That's good news. One of the reasons I left Uverse was the HD quality was noticeably inferior to what DTV offers. I'd hate to see DTV go down the same road they did with SD where it was initially good but eventually became downrezzed garbage.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...