Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

NBC Sports Network in SD? Ugh.


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   chris83

chris83

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 188 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 12 April 2012 - 04:57 AM

I LOVE hockey and especially the Stanley Cup playoffs. I would seriously consider moving up a package to get NBC Sports Network, but with it only being in SD it's just not worth it. The Detroit-Nashville game was on CNBC last night in HD and was glorious.

Obviously ANY sport looks worlds better in HD, but I feel hockey benefits the most. Another "limited bandwidth" victim I guess. :(
"We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm."

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   MCHuf

MCHuf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Oct 09, 2011

Posted 12 April 2012 - 06:29 AM

I LOVE hockey and especially the Stanley Cup playoffs. I would seriously consider moving up a package to get NBC Sports Network, but with it only being in SD it's just not worth it. The Detroit-Nashville game was on CNBC last night in HD and was glorious.

Obviously ANY sport looks worlds better in HD, but I feel hockey benefits the most. Another "limited bandwidth" victim I guess. :(


SD? I'm looking at Dish's channel line-up and it shows NBC Sports being in HD. As a matter of fact, it's in DA Gold, witch is a HD package.

#3 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 12 April 2012 - 06:34 AM

It was HD for several years when the channel was Verses, viewed both games in HD last night. You should check again, if you are getting the sd channel and HD, you should have it. Have you checked at channel 9466?

#4 OFFLINE   chris83

chris83

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 188 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:13 AM

Thank you both. I currently have the "Top 200" package and only saw NBC Sports as being available on 151 in SD; I didn't see a HD equivalent when I went to the "All Channels" view.

So, channel 9466 is the HD version? Or is 151 in HD only available in a different package?
"We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm."

#5 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:18 AM

Rehit time. HD is always available if you have the channel and Dish has it.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#6 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:13 AM

Thank you both. I currently have the "Top 200" package and only saw NBC Sports as being available on 151 in SD; I didn't see a HD equivalent when I went to the "All Channels" view.

So, channel 9466 is the HD version? Or is 151 in HD only available in a different package?


It should map to 151, do you have mapping enabled?

#7 OFFLINE   chris83

chris83

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 188 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:32 AM

It should map to 151, do you have mapping enabled?


Not at home at the moment to check; how would I go about doing so?
"We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm."

#8 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 12 April 2012 - 09:05 AM

NBC Sports Network (channel 151) is available in HD and SD. It is available in our Dish America Gold and AT 250 and above programming packages. If you have further questions, please let me know. Thanks.

Not at home at the moment to check; how would I go about doing so?



#9 OFFLINE   chris83

chris83

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 188 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 12 April 2012 - 09:15 AM

NBC Sports Network (channel 151) is available in HD and SD. It is available in our Dish America Gold and AT 250 and above programming packages. If you have further questions, please let me know. Thanks.


Hi Ray. Unfortunately, as noted above, when I look at my guides I only see 151 as an SD option; the HD version is NOT showing up in my program guide.

Obviously with the "Top 200" I wouldn't be able to view it, but I would think it would show up as existing in the "All Channels" option when I go there.
"We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm."

#10 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,167 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 12 April 2012 - 09:24 AM

Hi Ray. Unfortunately, as noted above, when I look at my guides I only see 151 as an SD option; the HD version is NOT showing up in my program guide.

Obviously with the "Top 200" I wouldn't be able to view it, but I would think it would show up as existing in the "All Channels" option when I go there.


It doesn't work that way.
An UNSUBBED channel will ONLY show the SD version in the guide.
It won't map down the HD version in the guide. That's the way it has always been.
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#11 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 12 April 2012 - 10:03 AM

Oops. I missed "Top 200" when I mentioned rehit. Never mind me. What's above is correct. If you're not subscribed you will not see the HD version in 'all channels' because the mapdown isn't there.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...