Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Lost HBO over HDMI


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   bldxyz

bldxyz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:44 PM

Don't know, but it will. HBO will apply the same rules to every provider, it's only a matter of time.


bldxyz, again which splitter did you get? Or will both suffice?

See the links in my original message #8 earlier.


I'll get to it. I just haven't had the chance.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   bldxyz

bldxyz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 30 April 2012 - 09:49 AM

bldxyz, again which splitter did you get? Or will both suffice?

See the links in my original message #8 earlier.


Okay: with no promises that this will work for anyone else, since I haven't a clue why this solution works and merely followed the advice to get a powered HDMI-Splitter (HDCP compliant), this is the one I bought, and has worked for me*.

1x2 Pigtail HDMI® Splitter

*Three notes:
  • I haven't even been powering it, since it seems to be working without the power plugged into it. Perhaps that is because I'm not actually splitting the HDMI signal?
  • Yesterday, a few times when I turned on the TV, the color was strange (very yellow). I found that switching the input and putting the DVR into standby and back corrected the issue. This may or may not be related to item #1, the fact that I haven't plugged in the splitter's power adapter.
  • When first connecting the splittler, it didn't display anything on the screen when I used position 1 in the splitter, but it did for position 2.

Again, no promises that it will work for anyone else.

Edited by bldxyz, 30 April 2012 - 11:44 AM.
made what I said a little clearer


#23 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 30 April 2012 - 10:56 AM

Does anyone know if this HDMI incompatibility issue is also hitting Dish Network and Cable outlets?


Yes, it is affecting Dish Network.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#24 OFFLINE   jamer81

jamer81

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2012

Posted 07 July 2012 - 07:38 AM

HBO should just be grateful that millions of cable/satellite subscribers who DON'T watch their channel are effectively 'subsidizing' or paying for HBO anyway, because of how cable/satellite are sold in bundles with several hundred channels. Isn't that effectively a form reverse piracy, HBO stealing money from people with no interest in watching HBO?

Edited by jamer81, 19 July 2012 - 01:28 PM.

"Stupid people surround themselves with smart people. Smart people surround themselves with smart people who disagree with them." - Aaron Sorkin
Homepage

#25 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,053 posts
  • LocationTeays Valley, WV
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 07 July 2012 - 07:54 AM

No. HBO is a separate premium subscription package. Only those that want to pay for it are paying for it.

My Setup

 

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...