Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Calling Daily Show/Colbert viewers...stuttering?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 15 April 2012 - 09:45 AM

Folks...over the past week I've seen stuttering from Comedy Central on both my HR24s.

In the exact same places on each machine, both video and audio seem to stop...then jump ahead a split second 5-10 times in each program. FWIW, they are being recorded on my DVRs as one show with a 1 hour extension. I was hoping this was a Comedy Central issue and not something local. But if it was local how could it happen at the same time on both HR24s?

Has anyone else noticed this? I can give exact times if anyone wants them.

thanks! Mike Nassour

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 09:48 AM

No need to give exact times, its quite bad. It occurs on both my HR24 and HR34, so its in the signal. Its so bad, I just set up a season pass on my Tivo and watch CC on Xfinity instead.

I thought it might be an issue with the encoders they are rumored to be using to be able to put 6 channels on each transponder, but I looked over the channel mapping, and this transponder still only has 5 channels on it. Checked signal on 103 tr 12, and it was a solid 95, so its not a signal issue.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 15 April 2012 - 09:50 AM

No need to give exact times, its quite bad. It occurs on both my HR24 and HR34, so its in the signal. Its so bad, I just set up a season pass on my Tivo and watch CC on Xfinity instead.


I assume you're talking about the signal going IN to DirecTV, as I've got all kinds of signal strength on my 24s?

#4 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 09:52 AM

I assume you're talking about the signal going IN to DirecTV, as I've got all kinds of signal strength on my 24s?


No I am talking about the video signal coming OUT of DirecTv (the MUX) going to the satellite.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#5 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 15 April 2012 - 09:57 AM

No I am talking about the video signal coming OUT of DirecTv (the MUX) going to the satellite.


Ah, got it. There's an issue with the uplinked signal. Do you know if any other channels are affected?

#6 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 09:58 AM

Believe it or not, I never watch any of the other 4. One was SpikeHD I believe.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#7 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:00 AM

Believe it or not, I never watch any of the other 4. One was SpikeHD I believe.


I don't think I've fooled with Spike in years. Does anyone know if DirecTV is working on this?

#8 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:01 AM

When I've watched Spike, it's been fine.

Comedy Central is studdering badly.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#9 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:06 AM

Well, it's not me then!:hurah:

Davenir....what are the other four channels besides Spike?

#10 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:16 AM

Well, it's not me then!:hurah:

Davenir....what are the other four channels besides Spike?


FXHD, CCHD, SPIKEHD, HDTVHD, TLCHD are the ones on 103CB tr 12.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#11 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:29 AM

FXHD, CCHD, SPIKEHD, HDTVHD, TLCHD are the ones on 103CB tr 12.


Thanks, I'll look at them as well. mn

#12 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,369 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:34 AM

FXHD, CCHD, SPIKEHD, HDTVHD, TLCHD are the ones on 103CB tr 12.


I watched FX on Friday night with no issue.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#13 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,884 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:37 AM

No I am talking about the video signal coming OUT of DirecTv (the MUX) going to the satellite.


Yes, but that in turn would be dependent on what feed they have to work with, no?

(All feeds are equal, but some feeds are more equal than others? :D )
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#14 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:40 AM

Well, since CC (as far as I know) is distributed using C band satellite, and DirecTv and Xfinity would be using the same feed, if it was a feed issue, I should see it on both providers.

Now, if DirecTv somehow has a fiber feed instead of using the C band feed, then I guess it could be the feed.

My only point for the OP, was that its not our equipment at fault. The rest was pure speculation.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#15 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:46 AM

My only point for the OP, was that its not our equipment at fault. The rest was pure speculation.


And that's exactly what I needed.

I can only assume that DirecTV is aware of the issue?!

#16 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:47 AM

And that's exactly what I needed.

I can only assume that DirecTV is aware of the issue?!


I reported it last week, but I would think it would the more reports they get the better.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#17 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,827 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:52 AM

It's not your equipment. It's a broadcast issue with Comedy Central. This problem seemed to have been fixed for the last several months, but it's back again.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#18 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,884 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 15 April 2012 - 11:43 AM

Well, since CC (as far as I know) is distributed using C band satellite, and DirecTv and Xfinity would be using the same feed, if it was a feed issue, I should see it on both providers.

Now, if DirecTv somehow has a fiber feed instead of using the C band feed, then I guess it could be the feed.

My only point for the OP, was that its not our equipment at fault. The rest was pure speculation.


My speculation is that even if all distributors get exactly the same feed, different compression and/or conversion techniques will produce different end results.

(Is Comcast uniform in all areas of the US? Are they MPG-4?)
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#19 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 12:31 PM

I would say at least fifty percent of our recordings have a split second stutter like you describe at some point. It is not fatal but it sure is aggravating. Once in a while the recording will hang because of the stutter. Have to exit out and restart. Usually there is no option to resume, sometimes resume just starts at the beginning of the recording.

Very common words in our household now are %$#@&& DTV box, and I don't know why it does that it just does.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#20 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 12:43 PM

My speculation is that even if all distributors get exactly the same feed, different compression and/or conversion techniques will produce different end results.

(Is Comcast uniform in all areas of the US? Are they MPG-4?)


Right, so it would be the providers remuxing equipment causing the errors, right?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#21 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 12:45 PM

I would say at least fifty percent of our recordings have a split second stutter like you describe at some point. It is not fatal but it sure is aggravating. Once in a while the recording will hang because of the stutter. Have to exit out and restart. Usually there is no option to resume, sometimes resume just starts at the beginning of the recording.

Very common words in our household now are %$#@&& DTV box, and I don't know why it does that it just does.


When that happens on my HR34, I usually can hit Skip Back, then immediately hit 30Skip and jump over the bad spot.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#22 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,884 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:45 PM

Right, so it would be the providers remuxing equipment causing the errors, right?


Possibly, though I am just trying to flesh out all possible causes for the problem.

Here's one take: Say I have the best decoder/encoder around. It converts everything to crisp MPEG-4..... except for a few shows that have used the xyz3.5b format. Would that be my fault?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#23 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:48 PM

Possibly, though I am just trying to flesh out all possible causes for the problem.

Here's one take: Say I have the best decoder/encoder around. It converts everything to crisp MPEG-4..... except for a few shows that have used the xyz3.5b format. Would that be my fault?


I would say it would be the fault of the decoder/encoder manufacturer, and your fault if you did not revert to the previous decoder/encoder that was working ok a week ago with that format, until the manufacturer of the new box can upgrade the software to handle the format correctly.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#24 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,200 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:20 PM

It's not your equipment. It's a broadcast issue with Comedy Central. This problem seemed to have been fixed for the last several months, but it's back again.


Yes, and the digital sound is gone as well. I noticed it for a week or so.

#25 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 11:00 AM

Well, no one in "Case Management" this morning seemed to have any information whatsoever about an ongoing problem. However, it's painfully obvious that there is indeed one.

It's funny how a seemingly little issue like this can affect one's choice of provider. For instance, my wife and daughter watch absolutely nothing on TV whatsoever besides The Daily Show and Colbert. Yea, I know. Whatever:rolleyes:. At any rate if we can't get those in acceptable quality...as we now cannot...then we're going somewhere else. It doesn't matter what else DirecTV offers. If you can't watch what you want, what's the point?

This....precisely five days after two beautiful, quick, HR24s walked in the door!:mad:

Frankly, if this doesn't clear up, we'll probably wind up inviting Dish back in. And I really, really, don't want to spend money on two providers....especially when the only reason is one isn't doing its job.

UPDATE: Spoke with the Case Management folks today, who said that yes, CC did have problems but they thought they were fixed. I gently informed them that they had been going on all last week and that it would be good to pass this on to engineering. I was promised a call back on it.

Edited by mnassour, 16 April 2012 - 07:23 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...