Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Calling Daily Show/Colbert viewers...stuttering?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,082 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 12:45 PM

I would say at least fifty percent of our recordings have a split second stutter like you describe at some point. It is not fatal but it sure is aggravating. Once in a while the recording will hang because of the stutter. Have to exit out and restart. Usually there is no option to resume, sometimes resume just starts at the beginning of the recording.

Very common words in our household now are %$#@&& DTV box, and I don't know why it does that it just does.


When that happens on my HR34, I usually can hit Skip Back, then immediately hit 30Skip and jump over the bad spot.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,721 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:45 PM

Right, so it would be the providers remuxing equipment causing the errors, right?


Possibly, though I am just trying to flesh out all possible causes for the problem.

Here's one take: Say I have the best decoder/encoder around. It converts everything to crisp MPEG-4..... except for a few shows that have used the xyz3.5b format. Would that be my fault?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#23 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,082 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:48 PM

Possibly, though I am just trying to flesh out all possible causes for the problem.

Here's one take: Say I have the best decoder/encoder around. It converts everything to crisp MPEG-4..... except for a few shows that have used the xyz3.5b format. Would that be my fault?


I would say it would be the fault of the decoder/encoder manufacturer, and your fault if you did not revert to the previous decoder/encoder that was working ok a week ago with that format, until the manufacturer of the new box can upgrade the software to handle the format correctly.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#24 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,820 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:20 PM

It's not your equipment. It's a broadcast issue with Comedy Central. This problem seemed to have been fixed for the last several months, but it's back again.


Yes, and the digital sound is gone as well. I noticed it for a week or so.

#25 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 766 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 11:00 AM

Well, no one in "Case Management" this morning seemed to have any information whatsoever about an ongoing problem. However, it's painfully obvious that there is indeed one.

It's funny how a seemingly little issue like this can affect one's choice of provider. For instance, my wife and daughter watch absolutely nothing on TV whatsoever besides The Daily Show and Colbert. Yea, I know. Whatever:rolleyes:. At any rate if we can't get those in acceptable quality...as we now cannot...then we're going somewhere else. It doesn't matter what else DirecTV offers. If you can't watch what you want, what's the point?

This....precisely five days after two beautiful, quick, HR24s walked in the door!:mad:

Frankly, if this doesn't clear up, we'll probably wind up inviting Dish back in. And I really, really, don't want to spend money on two providers....especially when the only reason is one isn't doing its job.

UPDATE: Spoke with the Case Management folks today, who said that yes, CC did have problems but they thought they were fixed. I gently informed them that they had been going on all last week and that it would be good to pass this on to engineering. I was promised a call back on it.

Edited by mnassour, 16 April 2012 - 07:23 PM.





spam firewall