Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

ACER Drivers & Chipset


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:09 PM

Thought that I installed the correct chipset for the ACER mentioned in the subject line. After installing the chipset the keyboard and mouse did not work.




Using Windows XP home edition.

I downloaded the chipset from the ACER web page.

Since I reinstalled Windows the mouse and keyboard are working fine.

Here is what has that question mark in the device manager.

Network Controller
Other PCI bridge devices
PCI Device
SM Bus Controller
Unknown Device
Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

I have the correct drivers for the Video Controller and the Audio. I was told to install the chipset first before any of the drivers.

The first picture is the ACER Driver web page address.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image-1938781830.jpg
  • image-2838121606.jpg
  • image-662105625.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:16 PM

Looks to me like the wrong driver for the motherboard. If you can, look on the motherboard and see what brand/model it is...then search for the drivers for that motherboard, rather than going by what the computer model is.

Bios might show that info as well.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 04:31 PM

I have no idea how to even take this computer apart. I do not want to risk making the computer not work at all.

Do I need the chipset I order to make the network controller work or I'd there a driver for this? I did not see a driver for this on the web page.

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,558 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 April 2012 - 05:01 PM

Opening the system wouldn't risk breaking it, but it can be hard to find the identification.

Try installing this
http://www.cpuid.com...ares/cpu-z.html

On the main board tab, what does it say for chipset? Then the graphics tab for the video card?

#5 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 05:16 PM

Opening the system wouldn't risk breaking it, but it can be hard to find the identification.

Try installing this
http://www.cpuid.com...ares/cpu-z.html

On the main board tab, what does it say for chipset? Then the graphics tab for the video card?


Once I get Windows XP Professional installed I will check this. I am hoping Professional has all the drivers that I need.

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,558 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 April 2012 - 06:24 PM

I don't know of any driver inclusion differences between the editions.

#7 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,274 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 15 April 2012 - 07:07 PM

I don't believe there is between XP Home and XP Professional.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#8 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 07:31 PM

Here is a picture of the computer information.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image-269534472.jpg


#9 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,558 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 April 2012 - 08:03 PM

Try these drivers.

http://www.nvidia.co...8.26_11.09.html

#10 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 08:20 PM

Try these drivers.

http://www.nvidia.co...8.26_11.09.html


I will be glad to thank you. I will let you know what happens. What will these drivers repair? Downloading now.

Edited by SeaBeagle, 15 April 2012 - 08:30 PM.


#11 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,558 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 April 2012 - 08:32 PM

Everything looks like you have a nForce 410 chipset, these are drivers for it, latest I found on their site.

#12 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 15 April 2012 - 08:48 PM

Everything looks like you have a nForce 410 chipset, these are drivers for it, latest I found on their site.


The file worked great. I wish I knew how to find these fils. Now all I need to do is install the audio and video drivers which should be simple to locate on the ACER driver page.

Thank you for all of your help. I am going to defiantly feel these files in case I need them again.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...