Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Using existing UHF Remote Wholehouse Antenna Runs for Hopper System?


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 12:33 AM

Years ago I reran RG6 & 11 to replace my old RG59 system that I have since been using to place UHF Remote antennas all over the house. (example below) The receivers are all in one location in a basement central core and are patched into the RG59 lines and I have great remote reception throughout the house. So can I do this same thing for a Hopper and Two Joeys that will feed my WH modulator system from this same location? OR can I do as I first did and connect them to my hot water heating pipes and more than cover the whole house. I switched to the RG59 from that cuz it was a bit more "confined". I could change channels three houses down. It caused "issues" sometimes.

Any information or assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you . . .
. . . fb

Attached Thumbnails

  • VideoAntWallPlate400t.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,981 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 09:26 AM

Check installation diagrams here - you'll find where is RG-6 or RG-59 sufficient.

#3 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 April 2012 - 11:43 AM

If your are planning to do this again you're going to have to be inventive.
The threads and the size of the "antenna connection" of Hopper are different then tradition coaxial couplers and connections.
Let me know if you come up with something.

Attached Thumbnails

  • VideoAntWallPlate400t-1.jpg

Thank you and
Best of luck

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,981 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 01:31 PM

If you you mean 2.4 GHz antenna for remote control - then yes, the connector is different, by purpose. All other are just standard F-type what used before.

#5 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 April 2012 - 01:44 PM

If you you mean 2.4 GHz antenna for remote control - then yes, the connector is different, by purpose. All other are just standard F-type what used before.

Have you seen the Hopper rear end up close? Like I said, the fitting is different. If you have, what size is it and where can you get the female/male/coupling coaxial type fittings?
Interestingly in the 138 page Hoppers user guide discusses the 722 way of extending the antenna for better reception.
I guess the designers changed their minds.

Edited by 356B, 16 April 2012 - 02:01 PM.

Thank you and
Best of luck

#6 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 03:59 PM

If your are planning to do this again you're going to have to be inventive.
The threads and the size of the "antenna connection" of Hopper are different then tradition coaxial couplers and connections.
Let me know if you come up with something.

I started this reply hours ago. I hate being on Int'l CTS for the day.

356B,
Great. Thank you. That's part of what I wanted to hear. This means I have to look to an electronics parts outlet (I miss you RadioShack.com brick and mortar stores) other than HomeDepot. By the pics of these they do look like the type of antenna that are on the backs of routers. If so, I have replaced, broken for new, those kinds of connectors, although, they are somewhat varied in size. You just have to find the correct one, but they are out there to be had and I only need 4 new jacks for the plates and a couple 2.4GHz antennas. OR if I had the correct Male jack that would connect to the back of the Hopper, I could use my existing system? I love experimentation. Sometimes it gets you really cool stuff. Like I did years ago when I connected them to my hot water heat pipes and could change channels from 4 houses away.

And from the link that P Smith submitted, although it did not cover what I was looking for, there were nice large pictures. And the one of the back of the Hopper, I can see a slight difference in the two connectors and think I already have what I need. AND in reading their descriptions I noticed the part regarding not (but you can) being able to have VIP gear in the mix. On page 9 of the "HopperJoeySystem_JobAid" PDF, they show how to put a VIP unit in the mix. Thank you for the pic.

And I trust that since an antenna is an antenna, which is where the second part of my question comes in, will they function as I hope they will with this done? Such as when you extend a WiFi antenna with an extension cable (Linksys, Netgear, Buffalo, Belkin, etc.). So from the replies that are coming in as I write this reply, I see what seems to be the only "hitch". Of which can be easily taken care of. I would trust that Echostar would use readily available parts, not create a specialized something as simple as this?

Thank you 356B and all the others for your replies. I love info, keep it coming.

Thanks and take care all . . .
. . . fb

Edited by FarmerBob, 17 April 2012 - 12:03 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 April 2012 - 04:23 PM

Farmer Bob,
When you find out what size the antenna couple is, can you post what you came up with?
I don't get out much and internet shopping is more or less what I got.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#8 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,167 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 04:28 PM

The connector is a M10. Good luck trying to find one.
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#9 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 April 2012 - 04:55 PM

The connector is a M10. Good luck trying to find one.

More info here, http://www.satellite...oost-922-a.html

No luck finding the parts though. :(
Thank you and
Best of luck

#10 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 05:07 PM

Farmer Bob,
When you find out what size the antenna couple is, can you post what you came up with?
I don't get out much and internet shopping is more or less what I got.

I will be more than glad to. But in a brainfart that just hit me I thought that I had a Qwest wireless router, that has the same type antenna and I could tell you now. Or compare on a Hopper that would say that a standard 2.4GHz ant would work and thus the standard diameter and thread. But I gave it to a neighbor since I completely dumped Qwest/CenturyStink. Plus I was going to do some online shopping myself to get a connector spec on the 2.4 piece(s).

But I would imagine that, and I assume a bit here due to "corporate variables", as I have said before Echostar not using standard parts would be, well . . . Echostar, THAT any standard 2.4GHz replacement/add-on antenna from online vendors/stores that has have specs listed, should list the connection parameters.

I am having work done this weekend and as of this conversation was planning on asking the tech that is coming out. Hopefully he'll know or can let me touch a Hopper so I can tell. I have many and varied RF connectors that are labeled and if one fits or he knows if a standard replacement antenna will work?, we'll know.

As soon as I know something I will post back. Meanwhile, if anyone else gets here before I can, the info will be greatly appreciated. Personally, although I have made most all provisions to upgrade, I am waiting on OTA to be added. I have no use for this system without OTA. And hopefully this weekend I can find out if it can co-exist with my existing WHE network. That'll be a deal breaker. We've have had WHE since 1993 and it's a way of life for us and the new HAEPro install thing now.

Until . . .
. . . fb

Late Update: n0qucu has posted that it's an M10 connector. I know that number and will see if I can track it down. I'm hope that this is not contrary to my hope that Echostar used standard part.

#11 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,107 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 16 April 2012 - 05:38 PM

BTW: Even if you find the M10 connector for the Hopper antenna, the Joey antennas are internal. I have not seen anyone note that yet in this thread, so I figure it deserves a mention.

#12 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 April 2012 - 05:44 PM

BTW: Even if you find the M10 connector for the Hopper antenna, the Joey antennas are internal. I have not seen anyone note that yet in this thread, so I figure it deserves a mention.


True, I have read if you want to extend the Joey a RF extender will work, the reference was to those pyramid shaped things...
I hope we can find the connectors, it would simplify a minor annoyance. :sure:
Thank you and
Best of luck

#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,981 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 06:31 PM

It's a whole assembly: two M10 connectors and a cable in between:

Use part number 169178, the 10-foot, RG-6 extension cable assembly with special M10 connectors



#14 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 07:32 PM

It's a whole assembly: two M10 connectors and a cable in between:

If that was a link if didn't come through. But I did a quick search and found tons of stuff that leads me to believe I may already have all that I need. We'll see this weekend if the tech has a Hopper that I can try it on.

Also I remember seeing a thread regarding running cabling to sets from remotely placed H&J's (my new term) and it being said that they had no issues with the remotes. All my 2.4GHz cordless phones work great all over my property from a base buried in the basement. So . . . these could also work without any extra effort. But in time I would not be surprised if an extension solution comes up. "I wanted it first!!!"

Edited by FarmerBob, 17 April 2012 - 12:23 PM.


#15 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,981 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 09:26 PM

Perhaps echostar designed low power transmitters inside of 922/813 and the 32.0 and 40.0 remotes.

#16 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 April 2012 - 10:19 PM

Perhaps echostar designed low power transmitters inside of 922/813 and the 32.0 and 40.0 remotes.

The Hopper/Joey remotes actually work rather well. I had to have a coax extension on the 722k...the Hopper works as well without.
Just greedy, was curious if an extension similar would up the signal a bit, not a deal breaker.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#17 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,981 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 April 2012 - 10:27 PM

The Hopper/Joey remotes actually work rather well. I had to have a coax extension on the 722k...the Hopper works as well without.
Just greedy, was curious if an extension similar would up the signal a bit, not a deal breaker.


By physics - not, the cable and two more connectors will attenuate the signal. It's just a matter of location the 2G antenna; if you can place it close to the remote, you'll get the advantage.

#18 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 April 2012 - 10:31 PM

By physics - not, the cable and two more connectors will attenuate the signal. It's just a matter of location the 2G antenna; if you can place it close to the remote, you'll get the advantage.

It's alway about location, my wife puts her stuff about it....if it's high she can't.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#19 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 568 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 18 April 2012 - 09:42 AM

I plan on 1 Hopper + 2 Joeys. Can 1 Joey be put at the wiring distribution closet, with a coax switch (or mirrored)? I have 2 "guest" rooms and would like an easy way to have TV in one or the other (or mirrored). One of the rooms is detached, but only about 40' from the closet. Will the UHF remote go through 2 walls of stucco?

#20 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 18 April 2012 - 09:48 AM

I plan on 1 Hopper + 2 Joeys. Can 1 Joey be put at the wiring distribution closet, with a coax switch (or mirrored)? I have 2 "guest" rooms and would like an easy way to have TV in one or the other (or mirrored). One of the rooms is detached, but only about 40' from the closet. Will the UHF remote go through 2 walls of stucco?

I am in the process of moving my Joey to a more central location because the UHF was intermittent at best, less than 40'. The Joey has a internal antenna, no way I know of to extend the range easily.
Thank you and
Best of luck




Protected By... spam firewall...And...