Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Using existing UHF Remote Wholehouse Antenna Runs for Hopper System?


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:33 PM

Thanks for the info. Wonder why it stopped working! I installed powered amp UHF rabbit ears on my two 722ks and it works great. I don’t have a Hopper system yet. Will order in a couple of weeks. Where did you see the installation brief on the Hopper 2? Have you seen this thread? http://www.satellite...na-Boost-on-922

Yup. Saw your link way back in the beginning when I was doing mental Hopper install plans. Before it was really known how and how far the RF Remotes work. The piece I saw the other morning, 4am, if I can find it I will post a link. But it was a late night/early morning reading fest while waiting on overseas phone calls. I usually remember the gist and not the source.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   charlesrshell

charlesrshell

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 105 posts
  • LocationO'Fallon, IL 62269
Joined: Feb 24, 2008

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:42 PM

Yup. Saw your link way back in the beginning when I was doing mental Hopper install plans. Before it was really known how and how far the RF Remotes work. The piece I saw the other morning, 4am, if I can find it I will post a link. But it was a late night/early morning reading fest while waiting on overseas phone calls. I usually remember the gist and not the source.


OK, thanks. Is there a reason to use hot water pipes for the UHF extension?

Dish 1000+ / SIRIUS Radio / OTA Terrestrial Digital DB4 / 26 dB Pre-Amp / Slingbox 500 / RF Modulator x3 / OTA Module x4
119 / 110 / 129 / 118.7 / DPP44 x2 / Duo Node x2 / Hopper w/Sling x4 / Joey / Wireless Joey x2 / 500G WD My DVR Expander EHD x2
AEP HD / XTSY / Multi-Sport / Blockbuster@Home / International Basic / Italian Raitalia / Heartland / Outdoor Sports
55" Samsung HD LED / 50" Panasonic HD Plasma / 42" Vizio HD LED / 40" Samsung HD LED / 32" Vizio HD LCD / 23" Toshiba HD LCD


#28 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:45 PM

yes: a) it's not grounded (but should, at least in CA we require that by code) and B) it's very long copper rod

#29 OFFLINE   charlesrshell

charlesrshell

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 105 posts
  • LocationO'Fallon, IL 62269
Joined: Feb 24, 2008

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:49 PM

yes: a) it's not grounded (but should, at least in CA we require that by code) and B) it's very long copper rod


OK, thanks.

Dish 1000+ / SIRIUS Radio / OTA Terrestrial Digital DB4 / 26 dB Pre-Amp / Slingbox 500 / RF Modulator x3 / OTA Module x4
119 / 110 / 129 / 118.7 / DPP44 x2 / Duo Node x2 / Hopper w/Sling x4 / Joey / Wireless Joey x2 / 500G WD My DVR Expander EHD x2
AEP HD / XTSY / Multi-Sport / Blockbuster@Home / International Basic / Italian Raitalia / Heartland / Outdoor Sports
55" Samsung HD LED / 50" Panasonic HD Plasma / 42" Vizio HD LED / 40" Samsung HD LED / 32" Vizio HD LCD / 23" Toshiba HD LCD


#30 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 30 January 2013 - 06:01 PM

OK, thanks. Is there a reason to use hot water pipes for the UHF extension?

It's actually a hot water heat pipe. There's at least two finned radiators in every room, if not under all major doorways. In the beginning I could change channels several houses up. And no problem changing channels on the outside TV's. It was great.

#31 OFFLINE   charlesrshell

charlesrshell

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 105 posts
  • LocationO'Fallon, IL 62269
Joined: Feb 24, 2008

Posted 30 January 2013 - 06:10 PM

It's actually a hot water heat pipe. There's at least two finned radiators in every room, if not under all major doorways. In the beginning I could change channels several houses up. And no problem changing channels on the outside TV's. It was great.


I had a 722k one time UHF got weaker and weaker. Did everything I could think of to get it to work. Finally Dish swapped it out and problem cured. Sometimes the DvR UHF port can go bad too.

Dish 1000+ / SIRIUS Radio / OTA Terrestrial Digital DB4 / 26 dB Pre-Amp / Slingbox 500 / RF Modulator x3 / OTA Module x4
119 / 110 / 129 / 118.7 / DPP44 x2 / Duo Node x2 / Hopper w/Sling x4 / Joey / Wireless Joey x2 / 500G WD My DVR Expander EHD x2
AEP HD / XTSY / Multi-Sport / Blockbuster@Home / International Basic / Italian Raitalia / Heartland / Outdoor Sports
55" Samsung HD LED / 50" Panasonic HD Plasma / 42" Vizio HD LED / 40" Samsung HD LED / 32" Vizio HD LCD / 23" Toshiba HD LCD


#32 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 30 January 2013 - 06:19 PM

I had a 722k one time UHF got weaker and weaker. Did everything I could think of to get it to work. Finally Dish swapped it out and problem cured. Sometimes the DvR UHF port can go bad too.

Makes perfect sense. So now that I think of it, as we got boxes, 722, 325, 512, that worked for a while connectivity dropped. So my current solution somewhat helps with failing hardware. But the hot water heat bit was great. And too easy to do. Too bad it didn't last long. Oh well, I'm set . . . for now.

#33 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 31 January 2013 - 09:16 AM

A Grounding Clamp . . . Took a length of coax stripped back the ground and, at first just wrapped the copper core around the pipe, then got the clamp to tie it down securely. It's now a real ground using a length of aluminum ground that I got in the initial 1994 DISH DIY Install kit. Yup, still have it. Never needed it. Had everything I needed in stock.

The strange things is that is worked for years, then just stopped. That's when I went to the RG59 and Antennas throughout the house.

When I asked the question if you could do this sort of thing with the Hopper not much was known about the antenna connection on the back of the box. Just the other night I saw an installation brief on the Hopper 2 and they spoke of attenuating the RF Remote signal by using a "store bought" attenuator. I guess they don't supply them anymore. So that tells me that the connection has to be a standard threaded coax. And in the pictures it looked like it.


Did you ever find a buying source for the M10 connectors?
Thank you and
Best of luck

#34 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 January 2013 - 09:55 AM

Auto shop what fixing imported cars ?

#35 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 31 January 2013 - 10:00 AM

Auto shop what fixing imported cars ?


And is that suppose to mean? :confused:
Thank you and
Best of luck

#36 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 January 2013 - 10:04 AM

the nut, M10

#37 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 31 January 2013 - 10:24 AM

the nut, M10


So where does one procure this M10 connector? come on you can do it, just level with me. Who's got them, web page?, retailer, any help will be greatly appreciated.....pretty please........
Thank you and
Best of luck

#38 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 31 January 2013 - 10:25 AM

So where does one procure this M10 connector? come on you can do it, just level with me. Who's got them, web page?, retailer, any help will be greatly appreciated.....pretty please........


He said to look at an import auto shop.

#39 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 31 January 2013 - 10:31 AM

He said to look at an import auto shop.


I don't have one where I live, I'll move on.....sorry for the bother.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#40 OFFLINE   GravelChan

GravelChan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2005

Posted 31 January 2013 - 11:59 AM

So where does one procure this M10 connector? come on you can do it, just level with me. Who's got them, web page?, retailer, any help will be greatly appreciated.....pretty please........


The only source I can think of is to order the remote extender cable (for a Hopper) from Dish, cut the cable in half and put F connectors on the cut ends.

#41 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 31 January 2013 - 12:06 PM

Did you ever find a buying source for the M10 connectors?

As I said in my last "book", it looks and they imply that is just a simple F Connector now. They talk about using a -10dB signal attenuator that you can buy at a local electronics store, RadioShack, so I would take away from that it's a standard F Connector. Plus I have a ton of the -10, -15dB attenuators from all the previous installs and swaps throughout the years. If only the tech that came by a couple months ago had a Hopper on board, I could have touched one and known immediately. I think as Matt G said it was an M10 fitting which may have only been on the v1, since that was the only unit known then, or it was hand me down info? Everything I have seen to date on the v2 implies it's a standard "F" fitting. Which would be great for me. Although, I do have some M10 stuff that I bought when RadioShack.com closed their B&M stores and I grabbed a handful of fittings out of a bin not paying attention to what they actually were thinking that they were "F's".

But did a quick IPv6 Google, really fast, search and came up with this:
http://www.wpsantenn...aleadapter.aspx
or
http://www.wpsantenn...andfgr09se.aspx
They look like the correct thing . . .

Seems like this measure is predominately a European Auto or Plumbing part size.

#42 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 31 January 2013 - 12:08 PM

The only source I can think of is to order the remote extender cable (for a Hopper) from Dish, cut the cable in half and put F connectors on the cut ends.

If push came to shove, that's what I would do.

#43 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 31 January 2013 - 12:15 PM

Just checked my go to electronics parts store in Denver, Fistel's open since 1937, and the guy that asnwered the phone wasn't too sure about the specific M10 part I asked for, but then I find that over the phone inquiries are usually a 50/50 prospect. I bet if I went there I could find something. These guys have had everything at one time. Their like an old time hardware store for electronic parts.

#44 OFFLINE   Grampa67

Grampa67

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2005

Posted 31 January 2013 - 12:42 PM

yes: a) it's not grounded (but should, at least in CA we require that by code) and B) it's very long copper rod


cold water copper pipe to a brass faucet, copper pipe from faucet to hot water would ground the hot water.

#45 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 January 2013 - 02:38 PM

cold water copper pipe to a brass faucet, copper pipe from faucet to hot water would ground the hot water.


I should get in details of propagating 400 MHz RF wave to heterogeneous pipes, heaters, etc what would be constituted as RF antenna ...
so, it's not actual grounding, more likely distance and dimension of that copper pipe




Protected By... spam firewall...And...