Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

TUrbo HD dish to FTA


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Digitalrain

Digitalrain

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2004

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:43 AM

Hi all,
I wanted to know if the DISH Turbo HD dish is big enough for FTA. I wanted to modify the LNB support by putting a FTA lnb on the arm and try aiming the dish at 103.0w. Is it possible with that size dish?

I am NOT interested in DISHnetwork programming, just tring to piece together what i have lying around the house.

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 April 2012 - 03:11 PM

If you intend to use Ku LNBF, then yes, the dish should be OK for 103W.
Beside that - what channel(s) is interesting you there ?
Check Lyngsat http://www.lyngsat.com/AMC-1.html

#3 OFFLINE   Digitalrain

Digitalrain

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2004

Posted 18 April 2012 - 06:20 PM

Thank u yes i was going to use an LNBF just wanted to make sure that dish was big enough to pick up that bird and maybe others.

103.0w looks good, hase METV and This TV and a few others.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 April 2012 - 06:23 PM

Thank u yes i was going to use an LNBF just wanted to make sure that dish was big enough to pick up that bird and maybe others.

103.0w looks good, hase METV and This TV and a few others.


Oops ! Not gonna work for you ...

These channels are on C-band and you'll need at least 6' or bigger dish.

#5 OFFLINE   Digitalrain

Digitalrain

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2004

Posted 19 April 2012 - 11:25 AM

oh ok, well then just Ku band birds then -- :grin:




spam firewall