Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Sony BDPS480 control code for hopper


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   michael hannley

michael hannley

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 19 April 2012 - 02:46 PM

Sorry, if I posted this in the wrong place, just trying to naviagate this new world.
Question, paid a guy to set up new home theater system so it ALL works, now I am back to using 3 controllers , I had one response from last post, is the Sony BDPS480 control code to enter into my new Hopper 1516.
And I cannot use the Hopper to control on or off (will control volume) on new Yamaha reciever.
Or should I just go by the Harmony at Costco?
Thanks for all of your help!
Tucson Mike
Mike in Tucson

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   John Williams

John Williams

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 19 April 2012 - 05:32 PM

Hope you didn't pay the guy a lot, cause he certainly wasn't a professional. With as inexpensive as universal remotes are these days, there is no reason a professional should ever leave a customer's house without a unified control in place (unless it was a customer's choice - in which case I would refuse the job).

To answer your question:
If you are going to program the remote yourself, then picking up a Harmony should work fine for you.
There are better remotes and systems out there but they can be more expensive and/or the learning curve will be much steeper. You might never get them programmed right (at least not without putting in dozens of hours and questions on forum boards)

#3 OFFLINE   michael hannley

michael hannley

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 20 April 2012 - 12:14 PM

Hope you didn't pay the guy a lot, cause he certainly wasn't a professional. With as inexpensive as universal remotes are these days, there is no reason a professional should ever leave a customer's house without a unified control in place (unless it was a customer's choice - in which case I would refuse the job).

To answer your question:
If you are going to program the remote yourself, then picking up a Harmony should work fine for you.
There are better remotes and systems out there but they can be more expensive and/or the learning curve will be much steeper. You might never get them programmed right (at least not without putting in dozens of hours and questions on forum boards)

Thanks for your advice, unfortunatley he was my wife's choice and she does not mind messing with 3 remotes......where I think one should get it done, will buy a Harmony.
Regards,
Mike
Mike in Tucson




Protected By... spam firewall...And...