Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

inactivity timer?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Steve H

Steve H

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 625 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 20 April 2012 - 08:07 AM

How do you change the inactivity setting for the Hopper? I did a search and can't find any info and also can't find any info in the online guide.
Samsung 55" LED
Yamaha RX-V565
Bose Acoustimass 6
Hopper & 1 Joey

Location - Mt. WhereinthehellamI? So. Utah

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Steve H

Steve H

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 625 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 20 April 2012 - 09:23 AM

found it listed under the "updates" menu
Samsung 55" LED
Yamaha RX-V565
Bose Acoustimass 6
Hopper & 1 Joey

Location - Mt. WhereinthehellamI? So. Utah

#3 OFFLINE   Ijon_Tichy

Ijon_Tichy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2007

Posted 21 April 2012 - 10:03 AM

Forgive my ignorance, what does this function do and what is the optimal setting for inactivity?

#4 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 21 April 2012 - 10:22 AM

If you do not change anything, including activating guide, menu's, browsing or changing channels, the receiver will go into standby. You can turn it off.

#5 OFFLINE   Steve H

Steve H

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 625 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 24 April 2012 - 08:07 AM

Factory default is 2 hours. If you are watching anything for more that that the sleep mode kick in. I changed it to 6 hours.
Samsung 55" LED
Yamaha RX-V565
Bose Acoustimass 6
Hopper & 1 Joey

Location - Mt. WhereinthehellamI? So. Utah

#6 OFFLINE   csjulian

csjulian

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2013

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:37 AM

Where is the Updates menu? I don't see it.
NOTE: I just noticed the date on the original question.
I too, am looking to make the inactivity time out longer than 2hrs.

Edited by csjulian, 06 April 2013 - 04:45 AM.
Update with more info


#7 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 06 April 2013 - 06:44 AM

It is located in under Updates. Access varies by receiver type. Please let me know if you need furhter assistance. Thanks.

Where is the Updates menu? I don't see it.
NOTE: I just noticed the date on the original question.
I too, am looking to make the inactivity time out longer than 2hrs.



#8 OFFLINE   GravelChan

GravelChan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2005

Posted 06 April 2013 - 08:22 AM

Menu
Settings
Diagnostics
Updates

#9 OFFLINE   lonerwulf

lonerwulf

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2012

Posted 06 April 2013 - 02:31 PM

As a rule I always deactivate standby for every customer




Protected By... spam firewall...And...