Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Moving receiver/DVR and protection plan


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gphvid

gphvid

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 498 posts
  • LocationThousand Oaks, Ca
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 22 April 2012 - 03:09 AM

I have the protection plan and my wife and I are planning to reconfigure our dining and living rooms this summer. Right now, the dining room is actually the TV room where the DVR is hooked to my TV center. This summer, we want to move the TV center to another side fo the room into the adjoining living room and I wonder if the protection plan covers a visit by a tech to move the cable drop from the wall it is on now to the new wall in the other room?

I have a spool of RG6 cable and I could also do it myself by running the lines along the edge of the room to the new location but I am curious if this move is covered before I go and buy cable trays and covers.

The living room and dining room are open to each other so they actually make one large room really. This is a condo duplex unit and this is how these rooms are. So the move is literally simple across the room.

Ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,272 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:36 AM

The Protection Plan will not cover that. That is an expense that you will have to eat if you want a tech to come out and do the move for you. The PP is to get service fixed if you lose service and for replacement of detective equipment. Neither of which is your issue in this case.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   gphvid

gphvid

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 498 posts
  • LocationThousand Oaks, Ca
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 22 April 2012 - 11:58 PM

The Protection Plan will not cover that. That is an expense that you will have to eat if you want a tech to come out and do the move for you. The PP is to get service fixed if you lose service and for replacement of detective equipment. Neither of which is your issue in this case.

- Merg


I thought as such, but had to ask.

#4 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,636 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:55 AM

Since you have time to plan ahead & the material- I suggest you try the following.

1. Shop for low voltage contractors in your area
2. Ask friends for reference's of same
3.Ask your neighbors if they have had any work done and inspect work and get a reference.

Any Electrical Contractor will install rg6 (request Solid copper core in your bid) also suggest you check your electric service in the new location - getting a Electrical Contractor you could install a 20 amp dedicated circuit as well instead of just plugging into a (possible) over loaded 15 amp circuit (other stuff usin the same circuit in your home).
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#5 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 941 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:41 PM

You can also call DirecTV and find out how much they would charge for a receiver location. It could be as little as $49, which is quite reasonable.
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#6 OFFLINE   ds2992

ds2992

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2012

Posted 24 April 2012 - 06:23 PM

A receiver relocate is always $50.00.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...