Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Is Comcast the answer?


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   madcratebuilder

madcratebuilder

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2010

Posted 22 April 2012 - 09:46 AM

I have been reading the slow receiver issues here and on other forums for several months. I've had the same hr21-200 for about two years, works fine most of the time. I had slow issues at certain times of the day, but over all I could live with it.

Five days ago with zero changes to anything A/V related the hr21 would lock up and not respond to any remote commands. I do the standard push the restart and find it now takes about 25 min to reboot. 30 min after reboot it locks up. This time I unplug at the outlet and again it's a 25 min reboot.

Runs Ok for a hour, locks up. So I start checking on here and while I'm online the hr21 reboots itself. Runs 30-60 min and reboots itself. It does this four or five times and then on it's own, no input from me, it runs a scan disk. Finds and repairs 181 errors. Restarts and runs 2 hours and locks and reboots. This reboot goes on for two days.

I've cleared nvram, followed all the tips on native mode and so on and so worth. I finally unplugged the unit and let it rest 12hrs. Yesterday AM I plugged it back in and it did the normal cold boot, maybe only 15 min this time. It appears to be working better. It is very slow on accepting commands from the remote and then slow completing these commands. It has reset itself one time in the past 24 hrs, instead of ever hour like it was.
My non HD receiver runs great.

Is it time to go with Comcast? Well D ever get the software ironed out?:confused:

I've been a satisfied customer for years, but I'm getting tried of the resets and the lack of intelligent CS.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,983 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 22 April 2012 - 09:54 AM

Comcasts DVRs here in the SE are clumsy. Poor UI. And the monthly is higher than Directv.

From your current description, it reads like the HD is failing. Considering the HR21 was introduced in 2007 (I think) your scan errors and lock up etc indicates a HD in early stages of failure.

If you had an HR24, you'd be very pleased with the speed. H25's are even better but are non-DVRs.

There isn't any CSR that can promise you and HR24! While they can promise but can't deliver. No matter what. Don't let them tell you otherwise. You can order a HR34 but while fast still some s/w nuances since its new. That's an HMC on the order form.

If you want to stick with Directv and want a faster DVR, the HR24 from a retailer is your best bet and if you want 5 tuners and don't mind a s/w glitch or two, then the HR34 from Directv or online/retail are your choices.

#3 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 22 April 2012 - 09:55 AM

I would call and have them replace your DVR. If they say no raise hell until someone does replace it. Sounds like more trouble than the 'normal' bad-software troubles.

The Comcast DVRs that I have used are pretty darn slow but they at least respond to the remote control consistently. They have small hard drives and are generally a pain to use... I guess I'd have to say Comcast is probably not the answer - at least when I had it. Maybe worth some comments from people in your area on how the DVRs are working today.

DirecTV will no doubt improve the software from its current state of crapness but will they ever get it ironed out? Probably not... Since the release of the HR2X series they go in circles - I doubt that will change unless there is some kind of management shake-up at DirecTV.

#4 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,028 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 22 April 2012 - 09:59 AM

I would call and have them replace your DVR. If they say no raise hell until someone does replace it. Sounds like more trouble than the 'normal' bad-software troubles.


I second that recommendation. If you end up with a CSR that won't order a replacement I'd hang up, call back and say CANCEL when asked what you want. This gets you to customer renention, which can do more then the regular CSR's. Just give them the facts on what's been happening with your receiver, tell them that the regular CSR wouldn't replace it and while you would like to keep DIRECTV if this isn't resolved you might need to switch to Comcast.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#5 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,999 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 22 April 2012 - 10:19 AM

If Comcast is the answer, you're asking the wrong question! :sure:

#6 OFFLINE   Xsabresx

Xsabresx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 981 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 22 April 2012 - 10:59 AM

Certainly isnt the answer here. We dont have them as an option.
since 2001

HR20-700 -- LG 55LH55 LCD
HR23-700 -- Sony KDL-60EX500 LCD
HR21-100 --Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
H24-100 -- Hitachi 51F59 Rear Projection
H24-100 -- Some tube that wont die

#7 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 22 April 2012 - 11:33 AM

Is it time to go with Comcast? Well D ever get the software ironed out?:confused:

I've been a satisfied customer for years, but I'm getting tried of the resets and the lack of intelligent CS.


If you go to Comcast, get a Tivo Premier or Elite as your DVR. If the speed of the premier is to slow for you in HD mode, you can toggle it back to SD GUI, and its fast.

Another option would be to upgrade to a HR24 or HR34, if you dont mind another 2 yr commit. You can get them from Solid Signal and others.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#8 OFFLINE   dcowboy7

dcowboy7

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,649 posts
  • LocationPequannock, NJ
Joined: May 22, 2008

Posted 22 April 2012 - 11:53 AM

If comcast is the answer i have no idea what the question is.

#9 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,471 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 April 2012 - 12:14 PM

If comcast is the answer i have no idea what the question is.


I don't think Comcrap is The Answer to Any Question you might have!!! :lol:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#10 OFFLINE   nickff

nickff

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2007

Posted 22 April 2012 - 03:26 PM

I would go without television of any kind before going back to ComCrap.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

Pioneer 141FD, Sony 52XBR3, LG 50" something-or-other
Denon 4311, Denon 2112
HR44, HR24, C41
SWM


#11 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:20 PM

You've got a dvr HDD most likely going bad, if you want to associate that with other issues thats fine, but all you need to do is call and get it replaced.

#12 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,852 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 22 April 2012 - 07:10 PM

I have been reading the slow receiver issues here and on other forums for several months. I've had the same hr21-200 for about two years, works fine most of the time. I had slow issues at certain times of the day, but over all I could live with it.

Five days ago with zero changes to anything A/V related the hr21 would lock up and not respond to any remote commands. I do the standard push the restart and find it now takes about 25 min to reboot. 30 min after reboot it locks up. This time I unplug at the outlet and again it's a 25 min reboot.

Runs Ok for a hour, locks up. So I start checking on here and while I'm online the hr21 reboots itself. Runs 30-60 min and reboots itself. It does this four or five times and then on it's own, no input from me, it runs a scan disk. Finds and repairs 181 errors. Restarts and runs 2 hours and locks and reboots. This reboot goes on for two days.

I've cleared nvram, followed all the tips on native mode and so on and so worth. I finally unplugged the unit and let it rest 12hrs. Yesterday AM I plugged it back in and it did the normal cold boot, maybe only 15 min this time. It appears to be working better. It is very slow on accepting commands from the remote and then slow completing these commands. It has reset itself one time in the past 24 hrs, instead of ever hour like it was.
My non HD receiver runs great.

Is it time to go with Comcast? Well D ever get the software ironed out?:confused:

I've been a satisfied customer for years, but I'm getting tried of the resets and the lack of intelligent CS
.

I had very similar issues with one of my HR22's and it just kept getting worse. My other HR22 worked fine. I ran all the diagnostics test and then a "technical" csr had me run some of them again. It never showed anything wrong with the hard drive, but I'm rather certain that's what it was.

CSR wouldn't swap it for a new one, but wanted to send a tech out for $60. Wasn't interested in that, so I went to retention and used it as an opportunity to get the HR34. Had an offer on line for a free HD DVR, so asked him about getting an HR34. He gave me the HR34 for free in exchange for turning in my HR22 and agreeing to another 2 yr commitment. I gladly did that and love the HR34.
HR34-700, HR22-100

#13 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,471 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:39 AM

Yes, call Retention Dept. as you probably have a Bad Hard Drive as your DVR is getting on in years and they can do things for you that the Regular CSR can't or won't do.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#14 OFFLINE   fleckrj

fleckrj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,124 posts
  • LocationCary, NC
Joined: Sep 04, 2009

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:22 AM

If comcast is the answer i have no idea what the question is.


If the question is why is CSNPhilly not on DirecTV, the answer is Comcast.

If the question is why was Versus pulled from DirecTV from August 2009 until March 2010, the answer is Comcast.

There are probably a few other questions where the answer is Comcast, but they all show the dark side of Comcast.

#15 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,179 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:24 AM

Why not buy an HR24?

And as a former Comcast sub I can safely state that they are not the answer. Stay away. Far away.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#16 OFFLINE   Stewpidity

Stewpidity

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:51 AM

Just out of curiosity I called Comcast wow its expensive, i have internet/phone I wanted to see what it would cost to add 2 HD/DVR's(16.95 per box) and asked about HBO/Showtime, they have some one year $10 per month deal but after that they go to 15.99 each(all premiums are 15.99). After being at a house that has Comcast this past weekend the only plus with Comcast in there On demand, it is nice to just play something w/o having to download it

#17 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,853 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:41 AM

The Comcast DVR is garbage. What you get is going to be Russian roulette. You could end up with anything from 120GB to 320GB DVR. If you get "Anyroom DVR" you might get a 500GB DVR. Keep in mind cable delivers signals as MPEG2. So it takes twice as much space to save a program vs DirecTV's MPEG4 (in HD).

If you have a Motorola based headend, the only feature you get over DirecTV is the ability to manage your series links, to do lists and priorities from the web. You can program DirecTV to record from the web (or app) but not manage the recordings - yet...

You may get a few more basic HD channels with Comcast - even a CSN Sportsnet that DirecTV is not allowed to carry (if your in that region). However say goodbye to the extra HD screens of premiums (HBO, Max, Sho, Starz). Also the channel numbering is crazy. HD channels all over the place in strange numbered locations. Don't expect to type in a simple channel number (like 3) and see it in HD. You have to go WAY up in the dial to get it in HD. If you use their equipment you can get a convoluted "watch in HD" prompt... but guaranteed the wife and kids aren't going to hit the OK button to switch to the 3 or 4 HD digit channel number.

The DVR software is horrible. Looks like a 4th grader designed it... and it's looked that way since 2001. Its terribly antiquated. Get a third party DVR setup if you must get Comcast. Windows Media Center with a cable card tuner or Tivo Premier XL4 (4 tuner). Tivo extenders are coming this summer to retail. Comcast is releasing an update so the Premier can tap into it's On Demand offerings.

The price is expensive. May be reasonable the first year with promo deals, but watch the fine print. They also increase rates every year (like every other provider), but they seem to increase the largest percentage. If you have a lot of TV's to power, the set top boxes are expensive. If you can spend the initial investment costs for a third party DVR, the cable card fee is much cheaper than a full Comcast box. Keep in mind the Tivo fees though too (if you go that route).

DirecTV knows about the sluggishness of these receivers. They are working to address that. The next software update will see a little bit of improvement. I think the software release after that will be a little faster as well. Maybe as it goes it will get quicker as the programmers get accustomed to the new HD UI code.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#18 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:52 AM

Keep in mind cable delivers signals as MPEG2. So it takes twice as much space to save a program vs DirecTV's MPEG4 (in HD).


You may get a few more basic HD channels with Comcast - even a CSN Sportsnet that DirecTV is not allowed to carry (if your in that region).


Also the channel numbering is crazy. HD channels all over the place in strange numbered locations.


Good post. Certainly agree with you to get your own Tivo if using Comcast. I get a $2.50 credit each month for having my own.

Mpeg2 recording doesnt take up twice the space. A two hour recording in Mpeg4 at a bitrate of 13 takes about 7 GB on my system, and a Comcast mpeg2 recording takes about 10 GB.

Here we get a LOT more basic HD channels, and for that matter, a LOT more channels in SD that DirecTv doesnt carry at all. The Encores, and channels from the HD Extra Pack are included in my basic subscription package.

Our HD channels are set up exactly like DirecTv... 1000-1100 Locals, 1100-1200 News, 1200-1400 General Interest, etc. Makes it pretty easy. SD channels are still all below 1000.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#19 OFFLINE   gfrang

gfrang

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,335 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2007

Posted 23 April 2012 - 08:03 AM

Comcast is a bunch of thieving crooks,i have them for internet,when i switched to high speed internet 20 down,3 up they told me one thing and i am paying another and it keeps going up every month.

I am getting ready to call the Mayor's office an find out why we can't get something else.

Every time i call and complain they say i can get a better deal whit the triple play if i dump the dish,i just tell it is not going to happen.

#20 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,853 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 23 April 2012 - 08:05 AM

Good post. Certainly agree with you to get your own Tivo if using Comcast. I get a $2.50 credit each month for having my own.

Mpeg2 recording doesnt take up twice the space. A two hour recording in Mpeg4 at a bitrate of 13 takes about 7 GB on my system, and a Comcast mpeg2 recording takes about 10 GB.


Yeah I guess I did exaggerate much. Thanks! Still MPEG2 takes up a little more space. That can be a big difference if you store a lot of recordings on the hard drive.

Our HD channels are set up exactly like DirecTv... 1000-1100 Locals, 1100-1200 News, 1200-1400 General Interest, etc. Makes it pretty easy. SD channels are still all below 1000.


Thats nice... more organized than around here. Though I'd prefer it be the other way around 2-100 Locals in HD, 100-200 News in HD, 200-400 General Interest in HD... etc... then 1000+ the SD versions. After years of habit, its just more common to start at channel 2 and then channel surf from that point. If the HD's are in the 1000's, you'll never see them. I see a lot of woman, children and older folks get this wrong. I feel bad for them because they pay extra for HD equipment and they purchased a nice HDTV, but they are on the "wrong channel". At least with DirecTV you can hide SD Duplicates and there's no "dual line up" to remember. I don't think I would ever go back to cable unless this one fundamental flaw in the channel numbering scheme is corrected. I don't care how many more HD channels my cable provider offers. The wife won't ever put the right channel number on (or set the right channel to record for that matter). I'll take DirecTV's simplicity any day.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...