Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Using DirecTV HR24 and 3rd Gen AppleTV with HDMI (auto) Switch


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pesh

pesh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2009

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:28 PM

Is anyone using a DirecTV HR24 and the newest 3rd Generation (Black) AppleTV with an HDMI Switch that can switch between various HDMI ports automatically based on sensing power. I am trying to devise a system that can autoswitch between a DirecTV HR24 receiver and the newest AppleTV. Both my HR24 and AppleTV are in a closet with a single HDMI cable coming out to my TV in another room. It would be awesome if i could turn the DirecTV box on and it have priority, but if it was off, then have the AppleTV be the HDMI source.

What i do not know is if both HR24 and AppleTV actively drive their HDMI outputs even when "off" or "sleeping"?

Any tips on how to solve this would be greatly apprecaited.

Regards,
Pesh

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,339 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:36 AM

First off, the HRs and ATV kill the hdmi output when off or sleeping.

I don't have my HR24 on a switch but I do have a 3 way HDMI switch on AppleTV (2nd) and 2 DVD players. Each switches correctly on power on/off. I'm sure the HR24 would work the same.

I'm actually surprised the $11 switch (free shipping) works as well as it did. It even included 3-6' HDMI cables! I should have bought 2!

Edited by dennisj00, 23 April 2012 - 12:06 PM.


Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#3 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,467 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:04 AM

I have a 4 Way HDMI Switch (that I bought from Monoprice.com) that works like a Charm switching between my 2 HR24-500s, my BluRay Player and a Music Server and I Change HDMI Inputs using a Harmony 1000.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#4 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:47 PM

My Apple TV 3 and HR24 don't appear to be actively driving HDMI when turned off/sleeping they both report No Signal. Usually devices that still drive HDMI when sleeping say Check Signal Cable or just show a black screen. So I'd assume a switch would work fine and turning off the HR24 and turning on your Apple TV from what I would assume is the Remote app on an iPhone, iPad would cause it to switch inputs.

#5 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,532 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:53 PM

Wouldn't you have to switch the ATV off somehow? Or would the HDMI just sleep when there was no file being streamed to it?
It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#6 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,339 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 24 April 2012 - 03:56 PM

For the switch I have, the last on wins. Example, if I'm on Apple TV, turning on the DVD switches to it. Doing something with the ATV switches back to it.

But that could just be this switch. It was advertised as needing a power brick for auto switch but it works fine without power. Bonus!

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!





spam firewall