Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

mst 774?????


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   175ranger

175ranger

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2012

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:07 PM

I have a one recvr install in a 20 story building. getting cable from the 5th floor to the first is not an issue. The issue is the mst 774 and 2 swm 8 modules. Do I need to put my own swm 8 module in or can I use a port directly off of the mst 774. I have no way of knowing if there are 8 tuners running off of each of the existing swm 8's, which would make putting a 2 way swm splitter on there a bad idea. Can I plug one line for an h24 directly into the mst 774 or do I have to use a swm 8 module?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,767 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:17 PM

Seems like the mst 774 is a tap, so one line won't have all the SATs.
You'd need four of the taps to feed a switch or SWiM
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:39 PM

Seems like the mst 774 is a tap, so one line won't have all the SATs.
You'd need four of the taps to feed a switch or SWiM


Exactly the MST ports only feed other SWMs or devices that hold SWMs like FMC6 or the expanders.

#4 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 23 April 2012 - 08:05 PM

I have to ask, are you the MDU system service tech for this buliding, or are you just an average installer from company X doing the install?

If you are an average installer from the local company X, then you need to walk away from this install and get in touch with the MDU service tech.

He is the only one that knows EXECTLY how the building is wired.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...