Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 Monthly Fees?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 243 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 26 April 2012 - 09:21 AM

For those with an HR34, what does your monthly fees look like on your bill for it?

I just received my bill, and I have TWO separate charges of $6 for it.
  • Home Media Center Monthly for 1 Client = $6
  • Additional TV = $6

I have no idea what this means, I just have an HR34 attached to one TV, and DVRs attached to my other 2 TVs in the house. Yet I am getting charged $6 for this "Home Media Center Monthly for 1 Client" + an additional $6 for this HR34 + $6 each for my other 2 DVRs.

I called to confirm and they had to do some asking around and research and got back to me and said the HR34 acts like 2 DVRs, so that is why I will be getting TWO $6 monthly charges for it as well as $6 charges for my other DVRs.

So let me get this straight... DirecTV wants us to pay $400 for this box + $12 every month for it and this is only to LEASE the box? we pay all this money to rent it? What???

Please tell me this is a mistake, otherwise I am returning mine.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,913 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 26 April 2012 - 09:26 AM

Do you have a $6.00 credit, too?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,985 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 09:27 AM

The monthly charge for a HR34 with no RVU clients is the same as any other set top box, $6/month, with the first receiver on the account credited back $6.00. So if you have only a HR34 and two other receivers then your receiver charge would be $12.

But when you look at your bill they do charge you for all receivers as fee's and then in the adjustments and credits section they should have a line item that says "Primary TV Free -6.00", do you see that?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#4 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:27 AM

So texas, you have 3 total receivers/dvrs correct? Then those charges are correct. xtc, do you have an rvu capable tv that you are using?

#5 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 675 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:31 AM

So texas, you have 3 total receivers/dvrs correct? Then those charges are correct.


I wasn't disputing the charges.
HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#6 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 243 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:44 AM

I got it straightened out with a more educated rep. She caught the mistake. For some reason I was in their system as having an RVU tv which led to the additional $6 charge. Got it removed from this and future bills. The previous rep, I was on the phone with for almost an hour trying to get it figured out, this one just a few minutes. Unbelievable!

#7 OFFLINE   dsexton

dsexton

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 28 April 2012 - 09:01 AM

I got an HR34 plus two H25s installed last weekend. The installation included a new dish with SWM8. This setup serves the two downstairs TVs plus the HR34 in the media room. The media room also has an HR20 and an HR22 connected to a 5LNB dish on the other side of the house. I can't get wiring from the new dish to the old receivers; I need to keep the old dish for the HR20 and HR22. I have Whole Home and everything seems to work fine with the HR20 and HR22 connected to my home network via ethernet. The HR34 has the cinema connection kit and accesses the internet via coax.

Is there any reason for me to convert the 5LNB to SWM8? Currently the HR20 and 22 only have one tuner active, but that hasn't been an issue so far. I still have my recordings set on the old DVRs and at times they are set to record two programs at once, so I know I will lose that. The biggest reason I am using them is because I have heard about some issues with the HR34 missing recordings so I am duplicating recordings of everything until those issues get worked out.

If I change the setup for the old HRs, besides the SWM8 on the dish, what will I need? Will I need a second CCK for the 2nd dish? If so, will 2 CCKs on the same network work properly? I would have to put the CCK upstairs in the media room near the old dish because I have no remaining coax from the media room to my router location downstairs. I do have ethernet cabling throughout the house, so can I put the CCK upstairs and connect it to my router through the ethernet cabling I have? What splitter will I need to be able to have both tuners functional in the HR20 and HR22? Will I need BBFs? The HR34 has a green label SWM splitter with 5 cables connected to it. One line goes to an OKU and another to a DECABB. Is that how I will have to connect the HR20 and HR22 to the SWM8? Is all the hardware available through Amazon or somewhere else?

Thanks in advance for the help.

#8 OFFLINE   Phil17108

Phil17108

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationOrange County California
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 28 April 2012 - 09:22 AM

Try e-bay, I am not sure of the question but if you only have 2 lines to 2 dvr's a switch to a single wire multiswitch is the problem solver. also repost your question on the set up and installation thread and there is where you will get answer's. If you like the doing it your self it's fun to figure out what you need and doing the install, but if not directv can do it and it may not cost much. one tip if you are going DECA, first check and see if the coax is solid copper, if so then it's just screw it together if it's copper clad you need new.

Edited by Phil17108, 28 April 2012 - 09:43 AM.


#9 OFFLINE   lgb0250

lgb0250

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 219 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2010

Posted 29 April 2012 - 04:34 AM

I got it straightened out with a more educated rep. She caught the mistake. For some reason I was in their system as having an RVU tv which led to the additional $6 charge. Got it removed from this and future bills. The previous rep, I was on the phone with for almost an hour trying to get it figured out, this one just a few minutes. Unbelievable!


I had the exact same problem and had to go all the way to retention to get it resolved. It has something to do with how they initially set up the HR34 by showing it on the billing as "Home Media Center 1 Client". I remember reading here earlier that the CSR's were telling some people that they could only get the HR34's if they had Samsung TV's! Sure would be nice to see them get the proper training before rolling out new products but I'm smart enough to know that's just never gonna happen.

#10 OFFLINE   vanduse1

vanduse1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jul 02, 2007

Posted 17 August 2012 - 06:33 PM

I am having the same issue right now. I have been transfered to several people who can't seem to get the extra HMC "Client" charge removed.

#11 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 17 August 2012 - 07:08 PM

I am having the same issue right now. I have been transfered to several people who can't seem to get the extra HMC "Client" charge removed.


Try explaining to the CSR that you do not have an RVU client and you need the client charge removed from your account. If that doesn't work, you can try e-mailing Ellen Filipiak, the VP for customer service <ellen.filipiak@directv.com>. Her office is very responsive and should take care of things for you.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#12 OFFLINE   Justin23

Justin23

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,212 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 August 2012 - 08:12 PM

I am having the same issue right now. I have been transfered to several people who can't seem to get the extra HMC "Client" charge removed.


Did you select "Add Client" on the HR-34 menu?

#13 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 17 August 2012 - 09:12 PM

Did you select "Add Client" on the HR-34 menu?


This has nothing to do with billing. Going to that menu will not add a service to your account. The order was just placed wrong.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




spam firewall