Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Recommendations for Slimline Satellite Finer/Meter


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 26 April 2012 - 06:17 PM

Can anyone recommend a good satellite finder/meter for help with mounting a DTV Slimline5 (non-SWM) dish?

thanks

Edited by gregftlaud, 27 April 2012 - 12:12 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,484 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:29 AM

Unless you're going to be doing this a LOT, you can simply use the Receiver's built-in meter. Stand-alone meters suitable for Slimline and SWM installations will cost a few hundred dollars.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   awblackmon

awblackmon

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 183 posts
Joined: May 20, 2009

Posted 27 April 2012 - 08:22 AM

agreed. Just use the signal screen to find where to point the dish by entering your zip code. Then use the signal meter built into the receiver to get the dish aligned. Saves a ton of cash that way.

#4 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 11:54 AM

Well that is a bit difficult for me b/c i live in a 2 story apartment complex. I have no way of seeing the signal meter on the dvr from the 2nd floor on top of the roof. Everytime i pointed the dish i'd have to run down the ladder....thru the courtyard.....up the stairs and into my apartment to look at the meter. And no sadly i dont have anyone that wuld help me with this by standing inside (via cell phone) telling me what the meter reads.

I found this one on solid signal's website but want to make sure this is a suitable one before i order. It's like 99 bucks.

http://www.solidsign...ter-(ACUTRACPRO)

Edited by gregftlaud, 27 April 2012 - 11:59 AM.


#5 OFFLINE   BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2010

Posted 27 April 2012 - 11:59 AM

Are we talking SWM or non-SWM dish here because the makes a difference in the setup you need. (I agree, using the receiver meter would be a lot of exercise. And even if you could get the audio feature to work that would be a bit hard on the neighbor's ears.) I use an Accurtrac 22 Pro for my SWM setup in the RV. But, again you probably don't even need something like this if you are standard Slimline. And are we discussing a 3 head LNB or the 5 head?

#6 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:00 PM

Non SWM

#7 OFFLINE   fluffybear

fluffybear

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,112 posts
  • LocationPeachtree City, GA.
Joined: Jun 19, 2004

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:05 PM

Anyway you can turn the volume up extra high, leave a window open and align it based on tone? I realize this might annoy the neighbors (then again it might just get one of them to come and help you) I have had to use this method myself on more than one occasion and while it's not the best method, it does work..

Can I ask why are you not having DirecTV do the install for you? They have all the necessary equipment to get you the best signal possible

Proud DirecTV customer since July, 1994

My Q3 2014 Set-Up


#8 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:08 PM

B/c i want to do it myself. I'm a big do it yourself guy.

And no I cant leave the window open and be able to hear the dvr's singal meter. The dish is on the back of the building on the side of the eve on the 2nd floor. My TV is in the living room....and i have quite a big aparment.

I'm actually a bit surprised with all the really good tech guys on these boards i didnt think it was going to be so tuff getting an answer or recommendations.

Edited by gregftlaud, 27 April 2012 - 12:15 PM.


#9 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:22 PM

I found this one on solid signal's website but want to make sure this is a suitable one before i order. It's like 99 bucks.

http://www.solidsign...ter-(ACUTRACPRO)


I have this meter and really like it, its fast and easy to use as a peaking meter. Go here to buy it to save a few bucks: https://www.perfect-...il.aspx?ID=1056

#10 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,484 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:28 PM

If you're having to constantly realign your dish, then something is wrong with the way it's mounted.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#11 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:39 PM

Biggle isnt this the same as this one?

http://www.solidsign...ter-(ACUTRACPRO)

I think that meter u suggested is the same and i think it's for SWM dishes only.

As for your comment Litz-----i'm not re-aligning my dish i just moved into a new apartment and i want to the do install on my own.

Please just post suggestions on meters only.

#12 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,940 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 27 April 2012 - 01:08 PM

Biggle isnt this the same as this one?

http://www.solidsign...ter-(ACUTRACPRO)

I think that meter u suggested is the same and i think it's for SWM dishes only.

As for your comment Litz-----i'm not re-aligning my dish i just moved into a new apartment and i want to the do install on my own.

Please just post suggestions on meters only.


Will that actually show signal strength for the Ka satellites?

#13 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 01:27 PM

Well I just decided to go ahead and call solidsignal and they told me the correct one is the one Bigglebowski recommended and the one i orginally posted.

http://www.solidsign...ter-(ACUTRACPRO)

#14 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 27 April 2012 - 03:02 PM

Well I just decided to go ahead and call solidsignal and they told me the correct one is the one Bigglebowski recommended and the one i orginally posted.

http://www.solidsign...ter-(ACUTRACPRO)


Yea they are the same, I saw the MK2 or MKII same thing. Just thought it made sense to order it from the place that was $30 cheaper.

#15 OFFLINE   MrShowtime

MrShowtime

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 244 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 27 April 2012 - 04:38 PM

If your budget is unlimited you can always use what we (the techs) use:

http://www.solidsign...ite-Dishes-(AIM)

but in all seriousness, the one you linked will work fine for what you are doing
My posts represent my opinions and do not represent the opinions of directv, any hsp, or anyone else (including the cookie monster)

#16 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 05:25 PM

Yah baby that's the ticket! Nice

#17 OFFLINE   funnyfarm299

funnyfarm299

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2012

Posted 27 April 2012 - 06:18 PM

If your budget is unlimited you can always use what we (the techs) use:

http://www.solidsign...ite-Dishes-(AIM)

but in all seriousness, the one you linked will work fine for what you are doing


That's a beauty. The installer I work for uses a 7 year old birdog.
LR: 50" Samsung plasma, Samsung bluray, HR24, H25, Roku, Denon AVR-1912, URC MX-450 with RF.

BR1: 32" Sony LCD, H25, SnapAV HDMI balun.

BR2: 32" Acer LCD, H25, Xbox 360.

Bonus: 73" mitsubishi 73742, HR24, SnapAV HDMI balun

#18 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,418 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 28 April 2012 - 08:25 AM

I want this one:D

http://www.appliedin...I_Turbo_S2.html

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.





spam firewall