Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper/Native Resolution


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   akw4572

akw4572

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 08:33 AM

I'm thinking of switching to E*, and can't seem to find this anywhere on specs for the Hopper, does it do Native Resolution? If not, I suppose you just set it at one resolution, and it sticks with that? Does that effect PQ at all?
HR 22-100 Vizio 42" 1080P
HR 22-100 Vizio 26" 720P

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 584 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 27 April 2012 - 08:42 AM

You set the TV type to 1080i/720p/480i. In theory, if the upscaler on your TV is better than the Hoppers, 720 programming would look better if you switched the TV type for 720 channels to 720. I suspect it would be a very subtle improvement. I don't see a native mode.

#3 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,240 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 27 April 2012 - 08:52 AM

No Dish receivers have a native option like D*. Just set it and forget it and enjoy the speed. It upscales everything to 1080 just fine. When I had D* I found the slowness of channel surfing negated any benefit of having my tv scale instead of the receiver anyway.

If you are concerned about aspect ratio, Dish has every setting you can imagine and can be different for each channel.

There seem to be a lot of native mode diehards out there. But I wonder if they've really done a comparison to see if their other devices ate better at scaling than their sat box. I have done such a comparison and found that my sat box did a much better job than my TV.

In any case, the MPEG4 decoders in the Hopper are noticeably better than those on older receivers, making all content look very good.

#4 OFFLINE   akw4572

akw4572

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 09:11 AM

I'm not too concerned, I just wondered how it would work, and from your guys' description it seems fine. So you set it to to 1080i and go?
HR 22-100 Vizio 42" 1080P
HR 22-100 Vizio 26" 720P

#5 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 584 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 27 April 2012 - 09:32 AM

Mine is set to 1080i, which is not quite native (I have a 1080p set) but as close as I can get. I see no reason to set it down to 720p or whatever.




spam firewall