Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What does the Hopper remote look like?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kcolg30

kcolg30

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 255 posts
Joined: May 11, 2010

Posted 28 April 2012 - 03:49 PM

What does the Hopper remote look like?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,793 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 28 April 2012 - 04:06 PM

Posted Image.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   kcolg30

kcolg30

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 255 posts
Joined: May 11, 2010

Posted 28 April 2012 - 05:02 PM

Thanks - Kinda looks like my 922, but a little different.

#4 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,694 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 28 April 2012 - 05:11 PM

Hey D*, take a look at theirs, it has color and PIP buttons. ;)

#5 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,240 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 29 April 2012 - 07:41 AM

Thanks - Kinda looks like my 922, but a little different.


Different colors. 922 remote also works with hopper, so keep it as a spare.

#6 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 468 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:11 PM

The 722K remotes are almost identical except they're silver.

I still use my 722K remote on my Hopper.

#7 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 30 April 2012 - 02:22 PM

Posted Image.



The way the buttons look in that photo it almost looks like it should be a backlit remote,but I know it's not,right?.:(

Edited by Jhon69, 30 April 2012 - 02:27 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 30 April 2012 - 02:24 PM

The 722K remotes are almost identical except they're silver.

I still use my 722K remote on my Hopper.



I use my 21.1 remote for the 722k on my 922(set address to"1").;)

#9 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,240 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 30 April 2012 - 03:18 PM

No, the 40.0 isn't backlit.

Just about any Dish remote will work on Hopper/Joey in IR mode on address 1. But I can't think of any reason to do that. The 32.0 will work on Hopper/Joey in RF mode, which is quite useful since used ones are quite a bit cheaper than 40.0's.

Only the 40.0 is 100% compatible since it's the only one that works with backup/restore. The 32.0 does everything except that. The 21.1 and lower only in IR mode and don't backup/restore or locate. The 6.3 and similar also work in IR mode but are missing the 4 colored buttons.

Just about any universal remote will work in IR mode using the standard Dish address 1 codes that have been around for years. But they can't learn from a 40.0 or 32.0 because those can't send Dish IR commands. So a 21.1 or below may be useful for teaching purposes in case you have an old universal that has no Dish codes or may be missing the colored button codes. The pronto hex and JP1 codes have been posted a few times and should be easy to find.

#10 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:40 PM

No, the 40.0 isn't backlit.

Just about any Dish remote will work on Hopper/Joey in IR mode on address 1. But I can't think of any reason to do that. The 32.0 will work on Hopper/Joey in RF mode, which is quite useful since used ones are quite a bit cheaper than 40.0's.

Only the 40.0 is 100% compatible since it's the only one that works with backup/restore. The 32.0 does everything except that. The 21.1 and lower only in IR mode and don't backup/restore or locate. The 6.3 and similar also work in IR mode but are missing the 4 colored buttons.

Just about any universal remote will work in IR mode using the standard Dish address 1 codes that have been around for years. But they can't learn from a 40.0 or 32.0 because those can't send Dish IR commands. So a 21.1 or below may be useful for teaching purposes in case you have an old universal that has no Dish codes or may be missing the colored button codes. The pronto hex and JP1 codes have been posted a few times and should be easy to find.



The reason I set up my 21.1 remote for my 922 was my 32.0 when I paged through my guide it would take off on it's own and it would do it so much it bugged me.

But now I was thinking my signals may be too much so I bent my antenna on the back of my 922 a little backwards(with the 922's antenna you can position it straight up or backwards at a 90 degree angle) to try to restrict the signal a bit and so far it seems like it helped but I will run the antenna on back at that position for awhile to make sure.;)

#11 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 468 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 30 April 2012 - 08:19 PM

I'm using my 722K remote because I can just save the Hopper remote for if the 722K remote dies, plus I don't have to re-teach the new remote as I taught my 722K remote a lot of commands for various devices. I have no need for the radio function as my Hopper is right in front of me.




spam firewall