Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Creating folders


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Snydley

Snydley

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 28 April 2012 - 10:33 PM

Can you create folders and move any recordings into them? Before I got the Hopper/Joey system I had a 722k and a 622 and created folders on them and moved my music recordings into a music folder. Also a his and a her folder so that if I watched a show that we both liked I could move it into her folder for later. It was great to organize things that way. I can't find any way to do that with this new system. Am I missing something?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 38,665 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 April 2012 - 10:44 PM

Can you create folders and move any recordings into them? Before I got the Hopper/Joey system I had a 722k and a 622 and created folders on them and moved my music recordings into a music folder. Also a his and a her folder so that if I watched a show that we both liked I could move it into her folder for later. It was great to organize things that way. I can't find any way to do that with this new system. Am I missing something?

You should be able to ---
Press the DVR button to show "My Recordings"
Press the green button and choose "My Folders"
Find the shows you want to move (most likely in the "No Folder" folder)
Press the blue button to "Edit All"
Select the progams you want to move to a folder - a checkmark will appear on the selected programs
Press the green button for Edit Actions
Choose "Move to Folder"
If your folder does not exist yet, choose "Create New Folder", select and type a name.

You can also set your timers up to place programming in a folder as it records. This includes Primetime Any Time programming.

#3 OFFLINE   jgcecg

jgcecg

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2011

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:08 PM

I noticed when looking at the Hopper daily schedule I noticed that some of my shows are crossed out in timers are and it says that it is a prime time event. So my question is does that mean that when the 8 day prime time maximum limit to keep a show is up that my timer show will be deleted even though I have it set up in timers?

Do I need to disable Prime Time to keep shows more than 8 days?

Where are the shows that are both in prime time AND in timers kept?
In my 1 TB partition or in the Dish 1 TB partition?

#4 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:18 PM

Until their 8 days are up, the show is kept on the Primetime side; if you don't delete it before then it gets moved to the other side.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#5 OFFLINE   Snydley

Snydley

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 30 April 2012 - 05:50 PM

Thanks James, it worked like a charm!!

#6 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 555 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:31 PM

I don't have a Hopper yet, but will. Does this (folders) work for EHD programs too?

You should be able to ---
Press the DVR button to show "My Recordings"
Press the green button and choose "My Folders"
Find the shows you want to move (most likely in the "No Folder" folder)
Press the blue button to "Edit All"
Select the progams you want to move to a folder - a checkmark will appear on the selected programs
Press the green button for Edit Actions
Choose "Move to Folder"
If your folder does not exist yet, choose "Create New Folder", select and type a name.

You can also set your timers up to place programming in a folder as it records. This includes Primetime Any Time programming.



#7 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 38,665 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:57 PM

I don't have EHD ... hopefully someone with one will test for you.




spam firewall