Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Removing unavailable channels from channel listings


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jbautista83

jbautista83

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2012

Posted 29 April 2012 - 01:28 PM

When i go to "menu" and try to list all of the available movies, the tv setup will include movies that we don't have access. I want to know if there is a way to remove movies that we don't have access to, so the only movies or channels that show up in my search are channels that we actually have access to.

I am trying to explain basic menu navigation to an elderly family member, and it is confusing when they click on a movie/channel that appears to be available and then a screen comes up telling them that it's not available after all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

J

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 29 April 2012 - 03:32 PM

Under "Locks" you should find "Channel Locks", you can select any number of channels you do not subscribe to or want to view. When done you can lock the system making sure you "Hide Locked Channels". These channels are now gone from all guides, browse and all searches.

#3 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 29 April 2012 - 05:45 PM

When i go to "menu" and try to list all of the available movies, the tv setup will include movies that we don't have access. I want to know if there is a way to remove movies that we don't have access to, so the only movies or channels that show up in my search are channels that we actually have access to.

I am trying to explain basic menu navigation to an elderly family member, and it is confusing when they click on a movie/channel that appears to be available and then a screen comes up telling them that it's not available after all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

J


What model receiver? And are you just doing a search, or are you going into the "All Movies" section under Dish on Demand?
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#4 OFFLINE   jbautista83

jbautista83

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2012

Posted 29 April 2012 - 07:35 PM

Under "Locks" you should find "Channel Locks", you can select any number of channels you do not subscribe to or want to view. When done you can lock the system making sure you "Hide Locked Channels". These channels are now gone from all guides, browse and all searches.


Okay, I'm prepared to do this, but just to be sure, is there any way to just select something like "all channels not subscribed to" and block them as a group? I feel like we are subscribed to 100-150 channels but there are 1000 showing, the balance of which we don't have access to.

Thanks again.

#5 OFFLINE   jbautista83

jbautista83

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2012

Posted 29 April 2012 - 07:36 PM

What model receiver? And are you just doing a search, or are you going into the "All Movies" section under Dish on Demand?


I think the receiver is DISH VIP222K-HD?

I'm just hitting menu, themes and support, then selecting the "movies" theme.

(Is there a better way to go about doing this?)

#6 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 29 April 2012 - 08:39 PM

Unfortunately, no. It's either this or put up will all channels in your future searches, but it does work. I have done this on several receivers and it is worth it in the long run, you can hide the ppv listings, adult and everything else you do not want in any future searches.

#7 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,154 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:03 PM

Since the 222 is a DUO receiver you will need to lock and hide the channels on BOTH TV1 & TV2.
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#8 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,509 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:29 PM

And a note ... while there is no filter on the locks screen for "unsubscribed" channels, they do show up in red ... so as you page through the channel list look for red channels and lock them out.

#9 OFFLINE   jbautista83

jbautista83

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2012

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:57 AM

A couple of things: I just noticed that there are dish phone apps that allow us to do certain things remotely from the tv. Is it possible that we might be able to block these channels using a computer rather than going one-by-one on the computer?

Also, for n0qcu - I'd probably have to do this for HDMI1 and HDMI2 also, right?

#10 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:21 AM

I'm pretty sure that "Locks" can only be done through the receiver.

#11 OFFLINE   tymekeeper

tymekeeper

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 158 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:14 PM

Not sure on a 222 but on the VIP722 you can hit menu 2x and then sellect up to 6 preferences to put channels in and then only those channels will show when you select the group as an example "OUR"

#12 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,805 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:25 PM

That won't help his question about searches.

#13 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,805 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:28 PM

Unfortunately, no. It's either this or put up will all channels in your future searches, but it does work. I have done this on several receivers and it is worth it in the long run, you can hide the ppv listings, adult and everything else you do not want in any future searches.



All true, just remember you also generally will not see free previews of movie channels or other channels if you have them locked out. If you know there is freeview you can always unlock them.

#14 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 717 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 30 April 2012 - 04:24 PM

lock out what you don't want, create a favorites list with just movie listings.

works on my 222k.

unavailable channels are listed in red when you make a favorites list.

yes, both tv1 and tv2 will have to be edited separately

Edited by satcrazy, 30 April 2012 - 04:35 PM.


#15 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,805 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 30 April 2012 - 06:52 PM

lock out what you don't want, create a favorites list with just movie listings.

works on my 222k.

unavailable channels are listed in red when you make a favorites list.

yes, both tv1 and tv2 will have to be edited separately


Again though that does not fully address his quest to searches and only get results of channels he gets. He knows red channels are not received, but it reads like he does not want them in the searches. Locking out will achieve this, favorite lists and the other suggestions won't.

"so the only movies or channels that show up in my search are channels that we actually have access to"

I can see it both ways, Dish wants you to know when you do a search of a movie or program that it is available even though you don't currently get it. The user may just want to know only results of programming they can get.

#16 OFFLINE   jbautista83

jbautista83

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2012

Posted 30 April 2012 - 09:31 PM

Again though that does not fully address his quest to searches and only get results of channels he gets. He knows red channels are not received, but it reads like he does not want them in the searches. Locking out will achieve this, favorite lists and the other suggestions won't.

"so the only movies or channels that show up in my search are channels that we actually have access to"

I can see it both ways, Dish wants you to know when you do a search of a movie or program that it is available even though you don't currently get it. The user may just want to know only results of programming they can get.


Yeah, that's what I'm looking for. I can see why Dish would want users to "see" PPV channels so that they know they have the option to buy, but that doesn't help elderly people who are completely confused by fancy channel listings.




spam firewall