Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Can't Decide...Convince Me To Switch To Dish and The Hopper!


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sacflies

sacflies

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2012

Posted 29 April 2012 - 08:43 PM

I know, I know, this has been asked many times before. But maybe not so much since Dish got the Hopper. I am trying to decide whether I should hop on over to Dish from Directv. Been with D* for over 2 years now and am now out of contract. My HD receivers (2 HR23's) with D* have been slow and sluggish ever since I signed up with D*. And now with the HDGUI they are even more slow and sluggish. I currently have 2 HD DVR's, and 3 standard def boxes. In one of the rooms nobody ever watches TV so I can drop that room for now. So a Hopper and 3 Joey setup should be OK (only 2 people live in the house). I like sports but really the only advantage D* has over Dish is the paid services (NFL, MLB) and I don't get those anyway because I don't want to dish out the $$$. The HD channel lineups are not significantly different to me and doesn't affect my decision either way. I am hearing PQ is about the same for both. And I now have HDTV's in 2 additional rooms and I am wanting to get HD receivers for those rooms...and Whole Home DVR.

So, I have been trying to decide if I should make the jump. I have called Dish and I can switch to a Hopper/3 Joey setup at no cost to me for install or equipment. I would save about $20-$25 a month the 1st year. After that it will cost about the same.

So, those that have made the switch to Dish from Directv...convince me!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,600 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:08 PM

Honestly... given the research it is apparent that you've already done... and the known differences you have weighed and judged them a virtual wash... I'm not sure how/what to convince you.

It sounds like you genuinely don't care about the major differentiators that most people point out... so aside from getting newer equipment than you have right now with DirecTV and the temporary savings, it's hard to make a strong case.

Incidentally... I'd be saying the same if you were considering switching from Dish to DirecTV.

If you don't care about the sports subscription packages (Sunday Ticket, Extra Innings)... then it is a virtual wash I think.

I don't know, though... about the Raleigh locals... Dish only has PBS, CBS, ABC, NBC, and FOX in HD. For some reason I was thinking that I had read DirecTV also carried CW22 and maybe even MyNetwork. Or maybe I imagined that?

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#3 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:09 PM

I disagree about the lineups. Dish has a lot more basic HD (at least 20 more channels), which was the major reason I dropped DirecTV a few years ago. Plus SD on Dish is good enough to actually watch. Hopper is very fast, has 1TB user space, none of which is used by PTAT. Sling gives you live tv or recordings anywhere. You can use IR and RF remotes at he same time, and remote can learn and has a locate function. HD extra pack also includes unlimited DVD, Blu-ray and games by mail with in-store exchanges. Full DVR management via web (not just scheduling). Although you can't pause in one room and resume in the next on D*, like their commercial, you actually can do that with Dish. Those are just the first few things that come to mind.

#4 OFFLINE   sacflies

sacflies

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2012

Posted 29 April 2012 - 10:01 PM

Honestly... given the research it is apparent that you've already done... and the known differences you have weighed and judged them a virtual wash... I'm not sure how/what to convince you.

It sounds like you genuinely don't care about the major differentiators that most people point out... so aside from getting newer equipment than you have right now with DirecTV and the temporary savings, it's hard to make a strong case.

Incidentally... I'd be saying the same if you were considering switching from Dish to DirecTV.

If you don't care about the sports subscription packages (Sunday Ticket, Extra Innings)... then it is a virtual wash I think.

I don't know, though... about the Raleigh locals... Dish only has PBS, CBS, ABC, NBC, and FOX in HD. For some reason I was thinking that I had read DirecTV also carried CW22 and maybe even MyNetwork. Or maybe I imagined that?


Yes, D* has my local CW channel, plus MyNetwork, local Univision, and the local ION TV channel. So looks like D* is a bit better with locals. I wasn't aware of that. Good to know, although I don't really watch those channels very much.

Edit: Only CW is HD. MyNetwork, Univision, and ION are SD. Are you saying that Dish doesn't carry these local channels at all in Raleigh area? Or just not in HD?

Edited by sacflies, 29 April 2012 - 10:20 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,241 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 29 April 2012 - 10:46 PM

Edit: Only CW is HD. MyNetwork, Univision, and ION are SD. Are you saying that Dish doesn't carry these local channels at all in Raleigh area? Or just not in HD?

They carry the following locals:
Raleigh, NC - ABC (WTVD) HD 11
Raleigh, NC - CBS (WRAL) HD 5
Raleigh, NC - CW (WLFL) 22
Raleigh, NC - FOX (WRAZ) HD 50
Raleigh, NC - IND (WRAY) 30
Raleigh, NC - ION (WRPX) 47
Raleigh, NC - MNT (WRDC) 28
Raleigh, NC - NBC (WNCN) HD 17
Raleigh, NC - PBS (UNCEX) 36
Raleigh, NC - PBS (UNCTV) HD 4
Raleigh, NC - UNVSN (WUVC) 40

#6 OFFLINE   sacflies

sacflies

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2012

Posted 29 April 2012 - 10:53 PM

I disagree about the lineups. Dish has a lot more basic HD (at least 20 more channels), which was the major reason I dropped DirecTV a few years ago. Plus SD on Dish is good enough to actually watch. Hopper is very fast, has 1TB user space, none of which is used by PTAT. Sling gives you live tv or recordings anywhere. You can use IR and RF remotes at he same time, and remote can learn and has a locate function. HD extra pack also includes unlimited DVD, Blu-ray and games by mail with in-store exchanges. Full DVR management via web (not just scheduling). Although you can't pause in one room and resume in the next on D*, like their commercial, you actually can do that with Dish. Those are just the first few things that come to mind.


Thx for the reply. Some nice features there. I already have Blockbuster 1 disc out deal...how is the Blockbuster streaming? I hear it is very weak compared to Netflix.

#7 OFFLINE   sacflies

sacflies

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2012

Posted 29 April 2012 - 10:56 PM

They carry the following locals:
Raleigh, NC - ABC (WTVD) HD 11
Raleigh, NC - CBS (WRAL) HD 5
Raleigh, NC - CW (WLFL) 22
Raleigh, NC - FOX (WRAZ) HD 50
Raleigh, NC - IND (WRAY) 30
Raleigh, NC - ION (WRPX) 47
Raleigh, NC - MNT (WRDC) 28
Raleigh, NC - NBC (WNCN) HD 17
Raleigh, NC - PBS (UNCEX) 36
Raleigh, NC - PBS (UNCTV) HD 4
Raleigh, NC - UNVSN (WUVC) 40


Thank you very much for that info. Pretty much what D* has in the area, but Dish adds IND 30. Then again CW is not in HD on Dish, but I never watch that channel anyway...and probably wouldn't watch IND 30 either. So it's a wash..once again!

#8 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,600 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:39 AM

Thank you very much for that info. Pretty much what D* has in the area, but Dish adds IND 30. Then again CW is not in HD on Dish, but I never watch that channel anyway...and probably wouldn't watch IND 30 either. So it's a wash..once again!


He beat me to the reply... Yes, Dish has pretty much everything (except a couple of the sub-channels like This, Me-TV, PBS-KD and those music/video sub-channels) in SD... but only those 5 in HD.

The reason this might matter... is if you get a Hopper/Joey setup, there is no OTA support right now from Dish for those models. It is supposed to be coming this "summer" but no real official word... so that might factor in to your decision if you watch anything (like I watch Supernatural and Ringer on CW) on CW22 then you wouldn't be able to watch it in HD on the Hopper setup until whenever they get OTA support.

I'm happy with my Dish setup... but then I have other receivers that do support OTA, so I watch CW22 and MyNetwork OTA in HD.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#9 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 592 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 30 April 2012 - 04:18 AM

I am trying to decide whether I should hop on over to Dish from Directv. Been with D* for over 2 years now and am now out of contract. My HD receivers (2 HR23's) with D* have been slow and sluggish ever since I signed up with D*. And now with the HDGUI they are even more slow and sluggish...

So, those that have made the switch to Dish from Directv...convince me!


If you haven't watched my demo video, do so:

I just switched a week ago, and couldn't be much happier. I miss the OTA tuner, but after watching the NASCAR race from the satellite tuners, I can say the HD locals are "good enough" for now. And the Primetime Anytime feature is more useful than I thought - sometimes I sit down with no particular idea what to watch, and I have a whole week's lineup of shows to pick from without having to set them up in advance.

It sounds like people with DirecTV receivers either have good or bad performance, with no rhyme or reason known for the problems. You're probably having the same issues I had with my HR22-100. If so, the Hopper would be a breath of fresh air. In the long run, I'm not saving much of anything by switching, but the promo period savings are nice. Especially since trying to get a better DVR from DirecTV would probably cost me $200 out-of-pocket.

Then again, DirecTV called yesterday and offered to send me a new, high-speed DVR and give me 50% off my programming if I'd switch back. Hmmm. Two years of misery with DirecTV, followed by a week of high satisfaction with Dish... Sure, sure, I'll switch back to save $10 on the gamble that they've fixed their problems and suddenly gotten better. :nono2:

#10 OFFLINE   aliciab_dish

aliciab_dish

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2011

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:20 AM

I know, I know, this has been asked many times before. But maybe not so much since Dish got the Hopper. I am trying to decide whether I should hop on over to Dish from Directv. Been with D* for over 2 years now and am now out of contract. My HD receivers (2 HR23's) with D* have been slow and sluggish ever since I signed up with D*. And now with the HDGUI they are even more slow and sluggish. I currently have 2 HD DVR's, and 3 standard def boxes. In one of the rooms nobody ever watches TV so I can drop that room for now. So a Hopper and 3 Joey setup should be OK (only 2 people live in the house). I like sports but really the only advantage D* has over Dish is the paid services (NFL, MLB) and I don't get those anyway because I don't want to dish out the $$$. The HD channel lineups are not significantly different to me and doesn't affect my decision either way. I am hearing PQ is about the same for both. And I now have HDTV's in 2 additional rooms and I am wanting to get HD receivers for those rooms...and Whole Home DVR.



So, I have been trying to decide if I should make the jump. I have called Dish and I can switch to a Hopper/3 Joey setup at no cost to me for install or equipment. I would save about $20-$25 a month the 1st year. After that it will cost about the same.

So, those that have made the switch to Dish from Directv...convince me!


Hi there, my name is Alicia with DISH. I would be more then happy to answer any questions you have. We continue to offer the lowest everyday price in the pay-TV industry, saving our customers money every month as compared to our competitors as well as the least expensive equipment in the industry. We understand that some of our customers are impacted by the economy so we strive to provide several packages at reasonable prices starting at just $24.99 per month. No other provider can say that! Our price for our packages and, the package the programming is placed in depends on what we must pay each network for their programming. We do not require a customer retain the same package throughout their contract period. You can always email me directly.

Alicia.Brink@DISH.com

#11 OFFLINE   SatelliteSolutionsNetwork

SatelliteSolutionsNetwork

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2012

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:45 AM

Just an additional note: One of the advantages of the Hopper and Joey over DirecTV whole-home DVR is that you have independent DVR capabilities in every room.

This isn't currently possible with DirecTV; only one room can access the DVR at a time with their setup.

If DVR functionality is important to you, DISH has the advantage over DirecTV.

#12 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 30 April 2012 - 08:05 AM

I was with D* for 4+years and now with E* for 6 months. I was an early convertee to MRV with D* and switched to the Hopper/Joey system 3 days after it was introduced.

My opinions:

D* advantages
1. More sports and premium channels in HD
2. NFLST
3. A guide that is more accurate timewise. I rarely missed the last minute(s) of shows that ended at odd times like those on ABC, FX, etc.
4. Lighted remotes.

E* advantages
1. Faster, more reliable receivers.
2. A guide that shows 2.5 hrs of programming.
3. More basic HD channels
4. The PTAT feature of the Hopper. It's a couch potato's dream.
5. EHD usability and flexibllity.

2H/1J


#13 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 30 April 2012 - 08:14 AM

Thx for the reply. Some nice features there. I already have Blockbuster 1 disc out deal...how is the Blockbuster streaming? I hear it is very weak compared to Netflix.


Yes the streaming is very weak. But the difference is the disc deal will only cost you $10 and you get the HD Platinum package included for free.

#14 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,120 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 30 April 2012 - 10:52 AM

Yes, D* has my local CW channel, plus MyNetwork, local Univision, and the local ION TV channel. So looks like D* is a bit better with locals. I wasn't aware of that. Good to know, although I don't really watch those channels very much.

Edit: Only CW is HD. MyNetwork, Univision, and ION are SD. Are you saying that Dish doesn't carry these local channels at all in Raleigh area? Or just not in HD?


There isn't a MyNetwork now, at least in my DMA.

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#15 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,455 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 30 April 2012 - 11:43 AM

I know, I know, this has been asked many times before. But maybe not so much since Dish got the Hopper. I am trying to decide whether I should hop on over to Dish from Directv. Been with D* for over 2 years now and am now out of contract. My HD receivers (2 HR23's) with D* have been slow and sluggish ever since I signed up with D*. And now with the HDGUI they are even more slow and sluggish. I currently have 2 HD DVR's, and 3 standard def boxes. In one of the rooms nobody ever watches TV so I can drop that room for now. So a Hopper and 3 Joey setup should be OK (only 2 people live in the house). I like sports but really the only advantage D* has over Dish is the paid services (NFL, MLB) and I don't get those anyway because I don't want to dish out the $$$. The HD channel lineups are not significantly different to me and doesn't affect my decision either way. I am hearing PQ is about the same for both. And I now have HDTV's in 2 additional rooms and I am wanting to get HD receivers for those rooms...and Whole Home DVR.

So, I have been trying to decide if I should make the jump. I have called Dish and I can switch to a Hopper/3 Joey setup at no cost to me for install or equipment. I would save about $20-$25 a month the 1st year. After that it will cost about the same.

So, those that have made the switch to Dish from Directv...convince me!


Sounds like you need more than the 3 Tuners that the Hopper has to share with all the Joeys.

#16 ONLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 30 April 2012 - 11:56 AM

Just an additional note: One of the advantages of the Hopper and Joey over DirecTV whole-home DVR is that you have independent DVR capabilities in every room.

This isn't currently possible with DirecTV; only one room can access the DVR at a time with their setup.

If DVR functionality is important to you, DISH has the advantage over DirecTV.


While what you say is true for the HRs up through the HR24, it is not true of the HR34. The 34 has 5 tuners and allows for 3 remote viewers at a time I believe.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#17 OFFLINE   sacflies

sacflies

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2012

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:34 PM

Sounds like you need more than the 3 Tuners that the Hopper has to share with all the Joeys.


I am a little concerned about that, although there are only 2 people living in the house. If I were to have PTAT running in the evening plus one person watching another show on the Hopper, and myself watching another program in another room...all the tuners would be in use and it wouldn't be possible to record another show at that point...if I understand it right. That scenario could easily come up often. But I am not even sure I will use the PTAT feature as I don't currently watch a lot of PT network shows. So that would free up another tuner to be used. Doing the 2 Hopper/2 Joey setup would be an additional $200, $50 of which could be offset by signing up as a referral (which I believe gets me $50 off the first months charge?). But I am hearing that 2 Hopper setups are giving some people problems. All this is playing a part in making my decision to switch more difficult and is leading to me being hesitant. I guess I am making this decision too difficult. But then again whichever way I go I will be pretty much stuck with the decision for the next 2 years...like it or not. So I am trying to tread carefully here!

Thanks everyone for the replies. It has been helpful.

#18 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:48 PM

I have a two Hopper one Joey system. No issues and I Sling off one of the Hoppers. When the integration happens ( Hopper linking to Hoppers, coming soon) The not enough tuners questions will be passé.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#19 OFFLINE   DoyleS

DoyleS

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,002 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:01 PM

The 3 tuner limitation only becomes a problem when recording or watching live shows. In my case, 90% of what I watch is from the DVR so I can watch shows while the DVR is recording other shows. Once the OTA option is available for the Hopper, it will be a hard system to beat.
Receivers= 722K, 722, 211K,
Dishes=Dish1000.2
Sling Adapter

#20 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:38 PM

I am a little concerned about that, although there are only 2 people living in the house. If I were to have PTAT running in the evening plus one person watching another show on the Hopper, and myself watching another program in another room...all the tuners would be in use and it wouldn't be possible to record another show at that point...if I understand it right. That scenario could easily come up often. But I am not even sure I will use the PTAT feature as I don't currently watch a lot of PT network shows. So that would free up another tuner to be used. Doing the 2 Hopper/2 Joey setup would be an additional $200, $50 of which could be offset by signing up as a referral (which I believe gets me $50 off the first months charge?). But I am hearing that 2 Hopper setups are giving some people problems. All this is playing a part in making my decision to switch more difficult and is leading to me being hesitant. I guess I am making this decision too difficult. But then again whichever way I go I will be pretty much stuck with the decision for the next 2 years...like it or not. So I am trying to tread carefully here!

Thanks everyone for the replies. It has been helpful.


Always willing to help someone who is honestly trying to do their homework before signing up.
There are no problems with the two hopper set-ups, unless you can specifically point me to multiple posts about that, which I have not seen. The one issue is the hoppers can not see each other at this time, but they will shortly. Every joey can see either Hopper however, and can be changed at anytime by the push of a button. As mentioned above, if you can use the Over the Air USB when it comes out, that will add yet another tuner.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...