Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA sub-channel issue


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Steeloc15

Steeloc15

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2009

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:45 AM

I am having a strange issue with an OTA-subchannel on my 722k (with the OTA module of course.)

When I try to watch this subchannel on my 722k I hear the audio for a few seconds and then it goes silent. The picture is black the whole time. The signal on this channel isn't too low, it is normally around 85ish, and the main channel seems to come across fine for the most part.

When I unhook my antenna from the 722k and hook it directly into the TV the channel comes in perfectly fine. (And used to on the 722k until recently.)

Anyone have any idea what is going on with this? I'd really like to have access to this channel on my 722k.

Thanks,
SteeloC15

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jscudder

jscudder

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2006

Posted 30 April 2012 - 04:50 AM

Yes, the OTA tuner in your Dish receiver is not as good as the tuner built into your TV. I have a similar problem receiving 2 out of the 20 OTA stations in my area with my 211 & 211k receivers. My solution is to split the OTA signal to go to both TV and OTA module and watch through the TV tuner on those 2 stations.

#3 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 30 April 2012 - 03:10 PM

I am having a strange issue with an OTA-subchannel on my 722k (with the OTA module of course.)

When I try to watch this subchannel on my 722k I hear the audio for a few seconds and then it goes silent. The picture is black the whole time. The signal on this channel isn't too low, it is normally around 85ish, and the main channel seems to come across fine for the most part.

When I unhook my antenna from the 722k and hook it directly into the TV the channel comes in perfectly fine. (And used to on the 722k until recently.)

Anyone have any idea what is going on with this? I'd really like to have access to this channel on my 722k.

Thanks,
SteeloC15

If this just started happening pull the AC plug for 10 sec and reset the receiver. No guarantee but it works to cure a lot of problems.

#4 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,938 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 21 May 2012 - 03:05 PM

I am having a strange issue with an OTA-subchannel on my 722k (with the OTA module of course.)

When I try to watch this subchannel on my 722k I hear the audio for a few seconds and then it goes silent. The picture is black the whole time. The signal on this channel isn't too low, it is normally around 85ish, and the main channel seems to come across fine for the most part.

When I unhook my antenna from the 722k and hook it directly into the TV the channel comes in perfectly fine. (And used to on the 722k until recently.)

Anyone have any idea what is going on with this? I'd really like to have access to this channel on my 722k.

Thanks,
SteeloC15


There is a subchannel on one of my PBS stations that is audio only. I get a black picture and audio only some times. That is what is being broadcast on that channel - it's an audio service for the blind run by volunteers. They read the newspaper and book chapters. Being volunteer staffed it's not on 24/7. You never know when there will be something on.

Perhaps the channel you are tuning to is similar to this one. (BTW: The channel I'm describing is from WVIZ in Cleveland).

I just reread your post, since it comes in fine on other tuners it's a problem with how it's encoded at the station. It's not being decoded properly by the 722 module. Delete and reenter the channel, it may help. If not than you may have to contact the station and describe your problem. DTV signal encoding can get tricky, some tuners are more forgiving than others. I had one station with no audio on my 622 for months, while my CECB boxes picked it up fine.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...