Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole home not working on some receivers


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   scubajbc

scubajbc

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2007

Posted 01 May 2012 - 09:34 AM

I have 2x HR20-700, an Hr22-100 and an HR23-xxx. Whole home was working fine but last week the 2 HR20s got a software update (0x5c8) (the 2 other HRs did not) and now the 2 HR20s can see all of the other receivers, but the HR22 and HR23 can only see each other and not the HR20s. Is there something in the update that is causing the HR22 and HR23 not to see them?
Current as of 5/1/2012
Slimline > RG6(x4) > SWM-16 > RG6(x2) > Wiring Cabinet >
4x Splitter
> RG6 > DECA > HR20-700 > 1080i/p > HDMI > 40" LCD
> RG6 > DECA > HR22-100 > HDMI > 40" LCD
> RG6 > DECA > H21-100 > Component > 15" LCD
2x Splitter
> RG6 > PI > HR24-200 > 1080i > Component & Optical > Mitsubishi 70 Rear Projection & Yamaha 5.1 Receiver [Harmony One]
> RG6 > DECA > HR20-700 > 720p > Component > 32" LCD

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 May 2012 - 10:05 AM

That's a good question, but I don't have an answer.
There has been some changes in the firmware that has affected MRV.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 May 2012 - 12:41 PM

Just to eliminate the fluke, reboot your router and then re-run the network setup on each receiver. Won't hurt and stranger things have happened to get things working again.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#4 OFFLINE   scubajbc

scubajbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2007

Posted 01 May 2012 - 12:53 PM

Just to eliminate the fluke, reboot your router and then re-run the network setup on each receiver. Won't hurt and stranger things have happened to get things working again.

- Merg


I have Whole Home with Deca but I do not have a CCK (yet) so nothing is connected to my router. My wife called me at work and said the HR23 received the software update early this morning and now she sees the list from the HR20s. I have not checked the HR22 yet to see if that got updated.
Current as of 5/1/2012
Slimline > RG6(x4) > SWM-16 > RG6(x2) > Wiring Cabinet >
4x Splitter
> RG6 > DECA > HR20-700 > 1080i/p > HDMI > 40" LCD
> RG6 > DECA > HR22-100 > HDMI > 40" LCD
> RG6 > DECA > H21-100 > Component > 15" LCD
2x Splitter
> RG6 > PI > HR24-200 > 1080i > Component & Optical > Mitsubishi 70 Rear Projection & Yamaha 5.1 Receiver [Harmony One]
> RG6 > DECA > HR20-700 > 720p > Component > 32" LCD

#5 OFFLINE   bossfan50

bossfan50

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2007

Posted 01 May 2012 - 04:35 PM

I am also having a strange problem with my Whole Home so perhaps others can check their set ups to see if there is an issue with a recent software update. I went through most trouble shooting things that I could think of (reset router, receivers, internet connections) and I also called D* without a resolution.

My HR20-100 received version 0x5c8 today, my Hr22-100 has not yet received the update. It looks to me that both receivers are seeing each others playlist. However the HR22-100 does not properly sort the combined playlist in the right order whether it is alphabetical or date order. If I turn off playlist sharing or I filter the HR22-100 playlist to only show the local playlist then it sorts correctly. So it is not sorting the combined playlist correctly. The D* tech that I talked to was helpful but after much trouble shooting the problem is not resolved.

I have Whole Home with Deca but I do not have a CCK (yet) so nothing is connected to my router. My wife called me at work and said the HR23 received the software update early this morning and now she sees the list from the HR20s. I have not checked the HR22 yet to see if that got updated.


Looks like the OP received a sofware update on one of his problem receivers so maybe my sorting problem will be resolved when my HR22 receives version 0x5c8?

Edited by bossfan50, 01 May 2012 - 04:42 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   MrLatte

MrLatte

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:45 PM

I also have the same problem as the scubajbc. My HR20-700 got an update on 4/25 and it can see all my other HR22s (they have older software from 2/8) but my HR22s can't see the playlist of my HR20.

It must be the software because obviously it's not a networking problem. Hopefully my HR22 receivers will get an update to resolve this problem.

#7 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 02 May 2012 - 01:29 AM

try rebooting the affected HR
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#8 OFFLINE   MrLatte

MrLatte

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 02 May 2012 - 06:36 AM

I tried rebooting and that didn't help. Rerunning network setup (or whatever it's called) on my HR22 did work and I was then able to see my HR20. I haven't tried another HR22 yet to check.

#9 OFFLINE   bossfan50

bossfan50

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2007

Posted 02 May 2012 - 07:37 AM

I tried rebooting and that didn't help. Rerunning network setup (or whatever it's called) on my HR22 did work and I was then able to see my HR20. I haven't tried another HR22 yet to check.


Can you try an alphabetical sort on your HR22 and post here if it works. My HR22 sees my HR20 playlist but the alphabetical sort does not work on the combined playlist.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...